Thread Tools
Old Mar 10, 2013, 05:10 PM
CrashMeUp is offline
Find More Posts by CrashMeUp
Crashomatic
CrashMeUp's Avatar
the 772 has a pivoting base. get the 771 unless you care for it. also "diamond 771" are generally nagoyas except cheaper (but if you wanna be certain get the real thing)
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 10, 2013, 05:32 PM
Xnaron is offline
Find More Posts by Xnaron
Registered User
Xnaron's Avatar
I just did a ground test on a country road with the following antenna's

TX : Nagoya NA-772 http://www.ebay.com/itm/160615055412

RX: Sander Style http://www.ebay.com/itm/200895096737

I was able to get 1.2KM + away with the servo moving left and right. I had a friend on the TX moving it. I tried 1.5KM and the signal was gone. I was driving and I would get out of the vehicle and move away and hold the rx up as high as I could. I think this is pretty decent for a ground test. I'm thinking in the air the range should be much better. Next test will be in the skywalker with FY31AP.
Old Mar 10, 2013, 05:57 PM
i3dm is offline
Find More Posts by i3dm
RC pilot by soul
Quote:
Originally Posted by freekhead View Post
My question got lost a few pages back.

Anyone wana try and give a guess?
where did you sodler the RSSI output on the filter ?
Old Mar 10, 2013, 06:23 PM
freekhead is offline
Find More Posts by freekhead
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by i3dm View Post
where did you sodler the RSSI output on the filter ?
Thanks.

I soldered the signal wire from rx rssi to the resistor. On the other end of the resistor I soldered the + lead of the cap and the - lead to ground. Then connected it to the analogue rssi input of the osd

I used a 100k resistor and a 100nF capacitor.
Old Mar 10, 2013, 06:28 PM
i3dm is offline
Find More Posts by i3dm
RC pilot by soul
Quote:
Originally Posted by freekhead View Post
Thanks.

I soldered the signal wire from rx rssi to the resistor. On the other end of the resistor I soldered the + lead of the cap and the - lead to ground. Then connected it to the analogue rssi input of the osd

I used a 100k resistor and a 100nF capacitor.
where did you connect the analog OSD input ?
Old Mar 10, 2013, 07:55 PM
freekhead is offline
Find More Posts by freekhead
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by i3dm View Post
where did you sodler the RSSI output on the filter ?
Thanks.

I soldered the signal wire from rx rssi to the resistor. On the other end of the resistor I soldered the + lead of the cap and the - lead to ground. Then connected it to the analogue rssi input of the osd

I used a 100k resistor and a 100nF capacitor.
Old Mar 11, 2013, 01:26 AM
Maglin is offline
Find More Posts by Maglin
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by i3dm View Post
did anybody successfully integrate a RFM23BP to OrangeRX OpenLRS Tx ?
I have four RFM23BP's and they are physically larger than the RFM22 so it's not a direct drop in. It doesn't look to difficult to just wire it in. For some reason I was thinking it was the same size as the FRM22 and as such would be a direct drop in. I'm going to run with the 100mw system until I reach it's limits before I decide to put the RFM23BP in.
Old Mar 11, 2013, 03:02 AM
i3dm is offline
Find More Posts by i3dm
RC pilot by soul
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maglin View Post
I have four RFM23BP's and they are physically larger than the RFM22 so it's not a direct drop in. It doesn't look to difficult to just wire it in. For some reason I was thinking it was the same size as the FRM22 and as such would be a direct drop in. I'm going to run with the 100mw system until I reach it's limits before I decide to put the RFM23BP in.
can you post some pics for size comparison ?
Old Mar 11, 2013, 04:04 AM
kha is offline
kha
Find More Posts by kha
kha
openLRSng haxor
Quote:
Originally Posted by i3dm View Post
can you post some pics for size comparison ?
The dimensions can be found from the datasheets.
Name: rfm22b.png
Views: 257
Size: 250.0 KB
Description:

Name: rfm23bp.png
Views: 586
Size: 91.0 KB
Description:
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 11, 2013, 11:27 AM
kha is offline
kha
Find More Posts by kha
kha
openLRSng haxor
Quote:
Originally Posted by freekhead View Post
My question got lost a few pages back.

Anyone wana try and give a guess?
Hmh... your description sound good. What kind of equipment you have at hand?
Basic DMM? (with Hz?)
An oscilloscope?

You could start by just measuring the signal before and after lowpass with your dmm in both AC and DC settings.
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 11, 2013, 11:14 PM
syzygyQ is offline
Find More Posts by syzygyQ
Registered User
I've got all the gear ordered, and the repo / arduino downloaded.

Now to just wait for the pony express!

Thanks for the support guys -- I'll be tuning back in once the gear arrives!
Old Mar 13, 2013, 07:02 AM
Sp1k3 is offline
Find More Posts by Sp1k3
Registered User
Hi Kha.,
is this the line to modify to increase the RSSI freq.?
Atm I need a 10kOhm and 1uF in order to filter out the dc value, just wanted to step it up to 5Khz

if (RSSI_count > 20) {
RSSI_sum /= RSSI_count;
analogWrite(RSSI_OUT, map(constrain(RSSI_sum, 45, 200), 40, 200, 0, 255));
Old Mar 13, 2013, 07:48 AM
kha is offline
kha
Find More Posts by kha
kha
openLRSng haxor
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sp1k3 View Post
Hi Kha.,
is this the line to modify to increase the RSSI freq.?
Atm I need a 10kOhm and 1uF in order to filter out the dc value, just wanted to step it up to 5Khz

if (RSSI_count > 20) {
RSSI_sum /= RSSI_count;
analogWrite(RSSI_OUT, map(constrain(RSSI_sum, 45, 200), 40, 200, 0, 255));
Actually no, try putting these in the end of setup()

Code:
TCCR2B|=(1<<CS21);
TCCR2B&=~(1<<CS22);
This changes the prescaler of the timer used from 64 to 8 i.e. the PWM frequency should become 8*500Hz == 4kHz.

EDIT: I just tested this briefly and it works as expected.
EDIT2: to make the PWM 32kHz, leave the "TCCR2B|=(1<<CS21);" line out.
EDIT3: ^^is wrong. To get 32kHz use following
Code:
TCCR2B|=(1<<CS20);
TCCR2B&=~(1<<CS22);
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by kha; Mar 13, 2013 at 08:36 AM.
Old Mar 13, 2013, 08:24 AM
Sp1k3 is offline
Find More Posts by Sp1k3
Registered User
Cool!
Thanks That will do 32kHz rocks...

Does it affect anything esle?
Last edited by Sp1k3; Mar 13, 2013 at 08:33 AM.
Old Mar 13, 2013, 08:37 AM
kha is offline
kha
Find More Posts by kha
kha
openLRSng haxor
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sp1k3 View Post
Cool!
Thanks That will do 32kHz rocks...

Does it affect anything esle?
No, it only affects the RSSI output PWM frequency. (Notice thou that I fixed the 32kHz code)
RCG Plus Member


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Anyone got a good 433mhz UHF RX Antenna? wamdue FPV Equipment (FS/W) 4 Nov 18, 2016 04:06 AM
Question 'Sander' 1/4 wave monopole - correct length for 433MHz UHF? Kahnx FPV Equipment 11 Dec 23, 2013 10:19 AM
For Sale Chainlink UHF system + few matching Rx's i3dm FPV Equipment (FS/W) 0 Apr 22, 2012 07:58 AM
Discussion stiff antenna for 433Mhz UHF Rx ? i3dm FPV Talk 14 Feb 17, 2012 02:25 PM
Sold HK "Orange" Satellite for HK "Orange" Rx rikybob Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Jan 29, 2011 04:19 PM