Thread Tools
Old Nov 24, 2012, 03:00 PM
pizatio is offline
Find More Posts by pizatio
Registered User
Discussion

do u use rudder?


Ever since i started 4 channel planes i pretty much fly with ailerons with no rudder input. I know rudder is used for crosswinds during landings/takeoff and for making bettr turns. Do i run a higher risk of turn stalling or crashing from using only ailerons?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 24, 2012, 03:03 PM
Piece is online now
Find More Posts by Piece
Wake up, feel pulse, be happy!
Piece's Avatar
The only planes I don't use rudder control on are the ones that don't have rudders
Old Nov 24, 2012, 03:17 PM
1320fastback is offline
Find More Posts by 1320fastback
Detroit 2-stroke junkie
1320fastback's Avatar
I use rudder constantly.
If you have it, use it.
It's a 1/3 of your attitude control.
Last edited by 1320fastback; Nov 24, 2012 at 06:06 PM.
Old Nov 24, 2012, 03:21 PM
btown2 is offline
Find More Posts by btown2
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by pizatio View Post
Ever since i started 4 channel planes i pretty much fly with ailerons with no rudder input. I know rudder is used for crosswinds during landings/takeoff and for making bettr turns. Do i run a higher risk of turn stalling or crashing from using only ailerons?
Nothing wrong with bank and yank. But for advanced maneuvers you'll need to learn rudder. Things like coordinated flight, stall turns, side slip landing, forward slip, crabbing all depend on rudder.

Also if you want to do scale flying then you'll need to use more rudder to make the model look like the real thing.
Old Nov 24, 2012, 03:25 PM
pizatio is offline
Find More Posts by pizatio
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by btown2 View Post
Nothing wrong with bank and yank. But for advanced maneuvers you'll need to learn rudder. Things like coordinated flight, stall turns, side slip landing, forward slip, crabbing all depend on rudder.

Also if you want to do scale flying then you'll need to use more rudder to make the model look like the real thing.
my problem with using it now is im not use to having it on my left with the throttle. usually when i go to use it i mess up the throttle level or the other way around.
Old Nov 24, 2012, 03:33 PM
CH3N02 is offline
Find More Posts by CH3N02
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by pizatio View Post
Ever since i started 4 channel planes i pretty much fly with ailerons with no rudder input. I know rudder is used for crosswinds during landings/takeoff and for making bettr turns. Do i run a higher risk of turn stalling or crashing from using only ailerons?
Get yourself a big Piper Cub, ME-109, or P-51 warbird, and try taking off without rudder. Makes for an interesting video. You probably won't get off the ground.

Ever try a Knife Edge?

Must be still in trainers?
Old Nov 24, 2012, 03:54 PM
Butch777 is offline
Find More Posts by Butch777
Registered User
I've had over 300 planes and don't use the rudder much if it's there.
I like screw around parkflying in smaller areas.
So I build my planes as light as possible, but still with around 1 to 1 thrust or more.
I just add some aileron differential and don't bother making the rudder work.
I've had dozens of speed 400 planes and pylon planes, none of them even came with rudders.
Like they say, Yank and bank!
Most of my planes are grass landers.
But if you want more precise flying, perfect landings and or 3D flying, then rudder is a must.
Old Nov 24, 2012, 03:57 PM
AeroMaestro is offline
Find More Posts by AeroMaestro
Smasher of foam
AeroMaestro's Avatar
I have a parkzone polecat with a broken rudder servo. I've been flying it without a rudder for two months. But now I'm working on slightly more advanced flying and I really wish I had a rudder for harriers and landings. The rest of the time I don't care. On that plane, the little rudder was mostly useless anyway.
Old Nov 24, 2012, 04:00 PM
Edmond Y is offline
Find More Posts by Edmond Y
Registered User
There has to be a reason that real plane has rudder.

Edmond
Old Nov 24, 2012, 04:10 PM
rrg is offline
rrg
Find More Posts by rrg
rrg
Registered User
rrg's Avatar
Nope........
Old Nov 24, 2012, 04:15 PM
herk1 is offline
Find More Posts by herk1
Trash Hauler emeritus
herk1's Avatar
Yeah, real planes have rudders because uncoordinated turns will make the occupants of the plane nauseous.

RC planes on the other hand are supposed to be fun. If you don't enjoy obsessing about coordinated turns, then don't bother with the rudder. I sure don't.
Old Nov 24, 2012, 04:23 PM
walter3rd is offline
Find More Posts by walter3rd
I just want to go fly!
walter3rd's Avatar
just starting to play around with it. i also find i move throttle by accident as well. i mostly bank and yank my t28 but would like to educate myself on the proper use for it. i know it would help me with my crosswind landing for sure.
Old Nov 24, 2012, 04:27 PM
JetPlaneFlyer is offline
Find More Posts by JetPlaneFlyer
Grumpy old git.. Who me?
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk1 View Post
RC planes on the other hand are supposed to be fun. If you don't enjoy obsessing about coordinated turns, then don't bother with the rudder. I sure don't.
Rudder is there for a whole lot more than co-ordinated turns Try taking off a tail-dragger without rudder. What about flying knife edge, hammer-heads, four point rolls, slow rolls, not to mention 3D flying. Even pulling nice straight vertical uplines is pretty much impossible without a rudder.

Sure if you are happy hand launching, flying round in circuits and doing a few loops and fast sloppy rolls, then fine, no rudder required.. But that might get boring.
Old Nov 24, 2012, 04:38 PM
herk1 is offline
Find More Posts by herk1
Trash Hauler emeritus
herk1's Avatar
I was answering in the context of the OP's original expressed concerns about "better turns" and "higher risk of turn stalling or crashing"...not blanket-negating the obvious regarding any and all rudder-maneuvers that people (including myself) might want to do. It's a toy. Have fun. That's all.
Old Nov 24, 2012, 05:43 PM
Mr. foambuilder is online now
Find More Posts by Mr. foambuilder
I fly 3-C Crash,Crunch,Crumble
Mr. foambuilder's Avatar
If you have a rudder, use it. If you aren't going to use it, why bother to put it on. I use rudder as much as I do ailerons. Make a turn going down wind, and the ailerons aren't doing the job, just throw some rudder in there and watch what happens. After a while it gets to the point that rudder will be automatic in all of your maneuvers. Make the most of your flying, and learn to use all the controls on your plane. Roy Flying with a rudder since 1959 AMA #8045/CD


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Ok guys which FPV system u think works best and what r u using. cled FPV Talk 4 Oct 23, 2012 09:21 PM
Discussion do u use ur nitro to release anger rc8b Off-road Cars 0 Sep 05, 2012 08:17 AM
Discussion U Can Do 60 Rebuild - or - U Can Deux GeetarJoe Fuel Plane Talk 6 Jul 02, 2012 01:25 AM
Discussion what do you guys think of u can do 3d Evan03 Fuel Plane Talk 15 Apr 30, 2012 12:11 AM
Question When do I use the rudder in the air ? FrostyTheBeerman Fuel Plane Talk 15 Aug 20, 2005 04:38 AM