Thread Tools
Old Aug 18, 2013, 01:33 PM
David Parry is offline
Find More Posts by David Parry
It only cost Ģ50 honest!
David Parry's Avatar
For those using a Neo 6M gps did you have to change the GPS's config at all?
Need to order one and not sure if it uses a mixture of NMEA and binary or just NMEA.
If not What one should I get? Flytron out of stock.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 23, 2013, 02:51 PM
absolute-zero is offline
Find More Posts by absolute-zero
Registered User
absolute-zero's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by infall View Post
Thanks
I am interested in the OSD, want to test it. I only have minimOSD. Can you tell me, how to upload the firmware and how to use it?
I have just installed DFOSD on a minimOSD, and it works perfect.
Use Arduino 1.0.5 and ISP-Programmer

1. Open Arduino
2. Burn bootloader using programmer
3. Open and upload: Character_Uploader_MinimOSD.ino
4. Reboot OSD
5. Open and upload: MAX7456_OSD_MinimOSD.ino (reconfig config.h if needed)
6. Reboot OSD

= Working DFOSD on minimOSD
Last edited by absolute-zero; Aug 23, 2013 at 02:59 PM.
Old Aug 28, 2013, 03:38 AM
msev is offline
Find More Posts by msev
Registered User
Has anyone tried Minimosd code on this hardware?
Old Aug 28, 2013, 03:12 PM
Dennis Frie is online now
Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Deleted - misunderstood the question

Nope, don't think anyone have tried the MinimOSD software on this hardware. You can be the first
Old Aug 28, 2013, 04:49 PM
mateuszganko is offline
Find More Posts by mateuszganko
Registered User
I try you have to change analog input pins and void MAX7456Configure() and working very well

void MAX7456Configure() {
// todo - automatically recognising card.
if(Settings[S_BOARDTYPE] == 0) { // Rush
MAX7456SELECT = 10; // ss
MAX7456RESET = 6; // RESET
}

if(Settings[S_BOARDTYPE] == 1) { // MinimOSD
MAX7456SELECT = 10; // ss
MAX7456RESET = 6; // RESET
}
}
Old Aug 29, 2013, 07:45 AM
msev is offline
Find More Posts by msev
Registered User
Does auto-baud detection also work for Neo-6m ublox gps?

Mateuszganko do you use this code on Mavlink version (for Arducopter) or MSP version ( for Multiwii)....Do you maybe use "Minim-osd extra" code project?
Last edited by msev; Aug 29, 2013 at 08:04 AM.
Old Aug 29, 2013, 05:09 PM
Dennis Frie is online now
Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Does auto-baud detection also work for Neo-6m ublox gps?

Mateuszganko do you use this code on Mavlink version (for Arducopter) or MSP version ( for Multiwii)....Do you maybe use "Minim-osd extra" code project?
It should auto detect baud-rate on all GPS-modules with a UART-output, as long as the signal-strength is within the normal range. A normal 3.3 V device is acceptable as a 3.3V signal will trigger the logic "high" on Atmega328, but if the signal is a lot lower than that, chances are logic levels will not be detected.
Old Aug 30, 2013, 06:35 PM
mateuszganko is offline
Find More Posts by mateuszganko
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Does auto-baud detection also work for Neo-6m ublox gps?

Mateuszganko do you use this code on Mavlink version (for Arducopter) or MSP version ( for Multiwii)....Do you maybe use "Minim-osd extra" code project?
Software I use R345 KV TEAM
you need to change analog voltage pin to 0 and change the voltage divider, for example, replace the 10k resistor to 47k because MWS has analog 1V internal reference. Change ISP to FTDI by the way much faster you upload the software


Old Sep 02, 2013, 05:42 AM
infall is offline
Find More Posts by infall
David(bg2vcj)
Quote:
Originally Posted by absolute-zero View Post
I have just installed DFOSD on a minimOSD, and it works perfect.
Use Arduino 1.0.5 and ISP-Programmer

1. Open Arduino
2. Burn bootloader using programmer
3. Open and upload: Character_Uploader_MinimOSD.ino
4. Reboot OSD
5. Open and upload: MAX7456_OSD_MinimOSD.ino (reconfig config.h if needed)
6. Reboot OSD

= Working DFOSD on minimOSD
Please Tell me:
1.Arduino 1.0.5 ----tools---Borad---Type
2. MAX7456_OSD_MinimOSD.ino (reconfig config.h if needed)
Modify those items , there are examples of it ?

Thanks.
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 02, 2013, 08:43 PM
absolute-zero is offline
Find More Posts by absolute-zero
Registered User
absolute-zero's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by infall View Post
Please Tell me:
1.Arduino 1.0.5 ----tools---Borad---Type
2. MAX7456_OSD_MinimOSD.ino (reconfig config.h if needed)
Modify those items , there are examples of it ?

Thanks.
1. I use AVRISP mkII
2. Reconfig = Select the data you want the OSD to show, and where you want them to be shown. Standard setting is fine.
Old Sep 04, 2013, 02:31 AM
mbanzi is offline
Find More Posts by mbanzi
Registered User

Fried my OSD :(


In my rush to complete a 2nd OSD, I hooked up a 3S LiPo directly to Vcc on the board, instead of using the 5V wire (which is the same color).

The MEGA328 is definitely fried. What other components will likely have gotten damaged?
Old Sep 04, 2013, 03:23 AM
Legot is offline
Find More Posts by Legot
Build to Fly? FLY to BUILD!
Legot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbanzi View Post
In my rush to complete a 2nd OSD, I hooked up a 3S LiPo directly to Vcc on the board, instead of using the 5V wire (which is the same color).

The MEGA328 is definitely fried. What other components will likely have gotten damaged?
The 7456 may or may not be ok. IIRC some were spec'd for above 12v operating voltage, and some were spec'd for the normal 5.5v. If a GPS was connected it's probably toast too.

Other than that, everything else is passive and should have avoided damage.
Old Sep 06, 2013, 03:00 AM
mbanzi is offline
Find More Posts by mbanzi
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legot View Post
The 7456 may or may not be ok. IIRC some were spec'd for above 12v operating voltage, and some were spec'd for the normal 5.5v. If a GPS was connected it's probably toast too.

Other than that, everything else is passive and should have avoided damage.
Thanks! Turned out only the Atmega328 was fried. GPS thankfully survived too. OSD is up & running again.
Old Sep 06, 2013, 04:11 AM
martinic is offline
Find More Posts by martinic
FPV Enthusiast
martinic's Avatar
I'm using the firmware with a minimosd and the characters seem translucent. They're still readable, but they can be difficult to see at times.

Is there a setting to make the fonts more opaque? I've looked through the code, but nothing stands out.
Old Sep 06, 2013, 11:38 AM
Dennis Frie is online now
Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by martinic View Post
I'm using the firmware with a minimosd and the characters seem translucent. They're still readable, but they can be difficult to see at times.

Is there a setting to make the fonts more opaque? I've looked through the code, but nothing stands out.
The white-level of the characters can be configured on MAX7456. As the default value should work well, it haven't been added as an option in config.h though.

I canīt remember if the levels are being configured in the initialization, you probably have to look a bit on the code, if you want to change it.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! OSD version UNKNOWN and fail to update (error) dROb Eagle Tree Systems 9 May 16, 2012 06:12 PM
Sold EASY OSD (Version 1.2) Brand New . $75 shipped. LHTPlane FPV Equipment (FS/W) 7 Mar 20, 2012 11:45 PM
For Sale MAX7456 OSD Break out board. ziomatrixacs FPV Equipment (FS/W) 4 Jun 18, 2011 04:50 PM