Thread Tools
Mar 12, 2013, 08:51 AM
Registered User
subscribed!


Hey,spare parts in stock???

I'm thinking in buy one for me.....
Last edited by socrats; Mar 12, 2013 at 08:58 AM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Mar 12, 2013, 08:55 AM
Registered User
jaysbay's Avatar
Tahoe Ed,did you ever get your hover fly board and gps working and if so, is it as stable as the Phantom.
Johnny
Last edited by jaysbay; Mar 12, 2013 at 09:11 AM.
Mar 12, 2013, 08:57 AM
Registered User
$68.90 is a small price if you ever lose your quad.

http://www.amazon.com/Loc8tor-LTD-Lo...8tor+plus+pack
Mar 12, 2013, 09:09 AM
Living and Learning
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandigan
These are on offer at the moment, £10 off. Buy two (with a friend?), get free postage (in the UK anyway) http://www.loc8tor.com/uk/primary-pr...tor-lite.html/

Best investment you'll make.
SMART!! Thanks a lot!
Mar 12, 2013, 09:09 AM
Thanks for the Fish
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysbay
Ed,did you ever get your hover fly board and gps working and if so, is it as stable as the Phantom.
Johnny
Johnny,

If you are asking me, I have never had a HF. I passed on that one based on a friend of mines experience. I just tried a CC3D board it is ok, but I still prefer my Naza boards.
Mar 12, 2013, 09:10 AM
Living and Learning
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandigan
These are on offer at the moment, £10 off. Buy two (with a friend?), get free postage (in the UK anyway) http://www.loc8tor.com/uk/primary-pr...tor-lite.html/

Best investment you'll make.
Also, how and where are you mounting yours? Have you figured out a way to get it to survive water?
Mar 12, 2013, 09:16 AM
Registered User
jaysbay's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed
Johnny,

If you are asking me, I have never had a HF. I passed on that one based on a friend of mines experience. I just tried a CC3D board it is ok, but I still prefer my Naza boards.
SorryTahoe Ed. I thought i remembered you from HF thread,it must of been another thread.
Johnny
Mar 12, 2013, 09:54 AM
Registered User
Zbip57's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by phantompro
I love the phantom but want to check for updates how do i do this?
Updates to software and manuals can be found here:
http://www.dji-innovations.com/produ...tom/downloads/
Mar 12, 2013, 10:21 AM
Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar

New Manuals


Quote:
Originally Posted by Zbip57
Updates to software and manuals can be found here:
http://www.dji-innovations.com/produ...tom/downloads/
Thanks Zbip57!
I guess that you're telling us there was an update today...
Phantom Quick Start Manual v1.4 2013/03/12
Phantom Advanced Manual v1.2 2013/03/12
When someone has the time to read them, let us know what changed...
Mar 12, 2013, 10:37 AM
Registered User / FAA107
Price4Flight's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by skipper1
$68.90 is a small price if you ever lose your quad.

http://www.amazon.com/Loc8tor-LTD-Lo...8tor+plus+pack
What's the range in the loc8tor? I got in on a pre-order for the Blutracker which claims a 2500 ft range and it was the same price as the loca8tor. Even if it only gives me a 1000 foot range I'd be happy.

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/bl...ame=blutracker
Mar 12, 2013, 10:38 AM
AMA 937634
Stone1295's Avatar
They added this to the newest manual:

17. If you use your own equipment(for example: GoPro3), please make sure the WiFi function is disabled, to
avoid the interference on the transmitter, which may cause the PHANTOM to FailSafe, crack and or even to
fly away.

DO NOT use thread locker when mounting the propellers, just tighten the screws is enough.

-Mike
Mar 12, 2013, 10:43 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Northbound
I like this idea, but am wondering what frequency this thing broadcasts on?
I talk to myself, might as well answer myself

This from their faq "Loc8tor works on the 2.45GHz ISM frequency band"

Think I will pick up one of these since experienced members have used them apparently without interference to the RX.

My biggest risk where I fly is having the Phantom go down in trees/vegitation without an exact visual fix on it. This should save some searching in that last couple hundred feet.

Thanks for pointing this gadget out.

and as I post this, another gadget

Quote:
Originally Posted by Price4Flight
I got in on a pre-order for the Blutracker which claims a 2500 ft range and it was the same price as the loca8tor.

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/bl...ame=blutracker
Mar 12, 2013, 10:48 AM
Registered User
R Hudson's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by beamen
A "real drone" for AP work is the S800/SkyJib 8 and the likes, not a Phantom. I have the same setup as you have and it works for what it is, but it's not even in the same league as the big drones.
The only "real" platform for AP work is the one that provides the shot you need. Are the larger multis you mentioned considered to be more professional? Sure. That does not make them more "real". Just bigger, more expensive, and more costly to crash/lose in precarious situations. Platform should always be based on what you need to accomplish, just like choosing a camera. I know of situations where a larger multi just can't go. If you are faced with using a smaller multi to get the shot vs. NOT being able to get the shot at all, I'll take the first scenario any day of the week.
Mar 12, 2013, 10:50 AM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Hudson
The only "real" platform for AP work is the one that provides the shot you need. Are the larger multis you mentioned considered to be more professional? Sure. That does not make them more "real". Just bigger, more expensive, and more costly to crash/lose in precarious situations. Platform should always be based on what you need to accomplish, just like choosing a camera. I know of situations where a larger multi just can't go. If you are faced with using a smaller multi to get the shot vs. NOT being able to get the shot at all, I'll take the first scenario any day of the week.
+1 it is all about using the best tool for the job, might be a Phantom with a hard mounted GoPro or a massive Octo with a DSLR or RED camera.
Mar 12, 2013, 10:52 AM
Registered User / FAA107
Price4Flight's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitelab
The ipad software doesn't control the unit via wifi, it talks to a ground station unit which then talks to the flight controller via a separate radio module. Again so far this is just for WKM, wouldn't hold my breath for this on naza for a while if at all.
Regarding Phantom Click and Go autopilot capability, it seems DJI could offer a hardware module that would interface with the Naza-M. Bluetooth 4.0 perhaps? You would use the iPad to click waypoints on a map, click start, and the Phantom would fly the mission and return and auto land. You couldn't change these waypoints in mid flight because you would quickly lose connection with the Phantom, but certainly this would be a great add-on feature that DJI could sell similar to the GPS upgrade that happened to the Naza.

Just speculating, but the DJI employee in the video makes direct mention of this as a package available for the Phantom "in a few months" so I don't think we should rule this out as Wookong only. Perhaps he misspoke but until DJI says otherwise, I'm really hoping to see this for the Phantom soon.


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion DJI Quadcopter Frame BUILD Thread Quad_Addict Multirotor Drone Talk 78 Mar 17, 2014 10:20 PM
Mini-HowTo POSTING VIDEO: How to Upgrade a Gaui 330x quadcopter with a DJI NAZA Lucidity47 Multirotor Drone Talk 5 Jun 07, 2012 12:31 AM
Video Multiwii Quadcopter Dji F-450 frame Updated Video Anda Inc. Electric Heli Talk 1 May 23, 2012 02:51 PM
Discussion DJI S800 Spreading Wings has landed at Quadcopters UK Headquarters QuadcoptersUk Multirotor Drone Talk 8 May 14, 2012 01:27 PM