Thread Tools
Feb 03, 2013, 07:41 PM
Plus Pilot
Jumanoc's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watchkeeper
Hey all, been following this thread since the start and having a lot of fun with the Phantom I've had for a few weeks now. Some great helpful info in this thread

Quick question? Been looking to buy some extra batteries and after deciding on the Turnigy Nano-Tech's with a 25-50c discharge rating I spotted two other Nano-Tech's with higher discharge ratings, 45-90c + 35-70c.

Will these work ok with the Phantom? I noticed the DJI specs are stated as 20c.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...arehouse_.html

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...arehouse_.html
I made same question about same battery some post before. I got ABSOLUTE YES to this:
1- This battery apply for using with Phantom? YES, THAT'S GREAT
2- Stock charger can be use for this battery? YES, SAME BALANCER AND IS 3S.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Feb 03, 2013, 07:51 PM
Flying Phantom
so here is my Maiden-Flight
was recorded yesterday and was my first real flight with a multi-copter and any aircraft.
I thought, that it would be fun to let my girlfriend record the flight with my Hero 3 black, rather than sticking the hero onto the Phantom, so she could do both, me a favor and also get to know this "flying thing which only distracts my time from her" while doing something and not just standing around ;-)

so here is the short clip:

DJI Phantom (2 min 25 sec)


Alex
Feb 03, 2013, 08:05 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowek
Thanks tanasit Ill try one more time . My current Gopro mount with case ic 20mm forward then origin place. CG is noticeable OFF. So the best way is to move battery. I want keep buttery inside so swapping back front is a solution-maybe
Anyway there is a option to set distance of CG from GPS but as I remember GPS in Phantom is covered by tape or something. Where is this mark if someone wants to be exact?
I would suggest that you forget about the CG for now and go fly as is and see if there is any ill effects. This may be the easiest way out.
Feb 03, 2013, 08:13 PM
Gotta have toys!
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighGainTuning
Since "Fail Safe" lies between ATTI and Manual mode I can see what resistance value you can use to put it in Fail Safe if you don't use manual mode or you can add a third switch. The outputs are +3.25, 0 and -3.25

That will give you GPS / ATTI / Fail Safe
Great Tip! Has this been tested and proven to work reliably? I, and I'm sure any others, would happily trade manual mode for a return to home switch.
Feb 03, 2013, 09:12 PM
Registered User
GGoodrum's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by daskim
Also something I would be interested in as well Gary.
Yes, we will do this once we get the mount design finalized.

-- Gary
Feb 03, 2013, 09:18 PM
Registered User
GGoodrum's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by beamen
GGoodrum will your isolation plate with the weight of a 2 axis gimbal be ok for the Phantom? That seems to be a perfect combo. When will it be for sale?
Not one of ours, but maybe something like the small direct-drive servo ones like Jakub's.

-- Gary
Feb 03, 2013, 09:25 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGoodrum
Not one of ours, but maybe something like the small direct-drive servo ones like Jakub's.

-- Gary
Sweet. Keep us posted on your mounts and gimbal please. I want to order now
Feb 03, 2013, 09:26 PM
Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar

Thanks, Ed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed
This may be old news to some, but I went out today to test RTH functions in GPS and ATTI. The manual says in ATTI it will hover and in GPS it will RTH. There was a little debate about it and I just did a search and could not see an answer.

In ATTI, when signal is lost the Phantom will RTH the exact same as it does in GPS as long as you have a satellite lock. No difference. I did it twice just to make sure.

I still don't like turning off the Tx to force failsafe. A third switch would be better and only add less than a dollar in cost. IMO.
I appreciate your testing to substantiate one of our "speculations".
I prefer to maneuver in Atti mode and use GPS only for positioning.
It's nice to know that if I'm cruising around in Atti, and lose communication from trans/rec, Phantom will try to come home (satellites willing...).
Feb 03, 2013, 09:29 PM
Team Futaba
CSpaced's Avatar
As long as you have the home position set (by getting more than 6 satellites for at least 8 seconds before take off), the Phantom will return home during a failsafe condition, regardless of which flight mode you are in; GPS Atti, Atti, Man, or IOC.
Feb 03, 2013, 09:36 PM
Registered User
I decided to get some extra batteries for my phantom, and these are the ones I chose.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=26472
I was a little concerned that they would not fit due to the 107mm length for the 105mm battery box, but they actually fit better than the stock battery! Once the cables are tucked away there is still plenty of room for the door to close.

I can charge all 6 in about an hour and half with my charging setup.
Feb 03, 2013, 10:26 PM
FPVpilots do it remotely
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed
In ATTI, when signal is lost the Phantom will RTH the exact same as it does in GPS as long as you have a satellite lock. No difference. I did it twice just to make sure.
Thank you Ed, thats what i thought. thank you for testing this.
Feb 03, 2013, 10:37 PM
Registered User
R Hudson's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kubidou
I decided to get some extra batteries for my phantom, and these are the ones I chose.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=26472
I was a little concerned that they would not fit due to the 107mm length for the 105mm battery box, but they actually fit better than the stock battery! Once the cables are tucked away there is still plenty of room for the door to close.

I can charge all 6 in about an hour and half with my charging setup.
I like your charging setup. Which charging distribution block is that?
Feb 03, 2013, 11:57 PM
FPVpilots do it remotely
Did a test today, flew down in a canyon from the road side, the Phantom works perfectly fine even below its start altitude, I did go down about 50 feet.. never realized how different it would be to buzz the ground when watching from above.

My question the other week is answered positively, it is possible to fly down from a bridge.
Feb 04, 2013, 12:03 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo Lorentzen
Did a test today, flew down in a canyon from the road side, the Phantom works perfectly fine even below its start altitude, I did go down about 50 feet.. never realized how different it would be to buzz the ground when watching from above.

My question the other week is answered positively, it is possible to fly down from a bridge.
Did you test fail safe down there too?
Feb 04, 2013, 12:09 AM
Just got sucked into it all!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kubidou
I decided to get some extra batteries for my phantom, and these are the ones I chose.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=26472
I was a little concerned that they would not fit due to the 107mm length for the 105mm battery box, but they actually fit better than the stock battery! Once the cables are tucked away there is still plenty of room for the door to close.

I can charge all 6 in about an hour and half with my charging setup.
Also very interested in this setup. Can't seem to track down the block though.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion DJI Quadcopter Frame BUILD Thread Quad_Addict Multirotor Drone Talk 78 Mar 17, 2014 10:20 PM
Mini-HowTo POSTING VIDEO: How to Upgrade a Gaui 330x quadcopter with a DJI NAZA Lucidity47 Multirotor Drone Talk 5 Jun 07, 2012 12:31 AM
Video Multiwii Quadcopter Dji F-450 frame Updated Video Anda Inc. Electric Heli Talk 1 May 23, 2012 02:51 PM
Discussion DJI S800 Spreading Wings has landed at Quadcopters UK Headquarters QuadcoptersUk Multirotor Drone Talk 8 May 14, 2012 01:27 PM