DJI Phantom Quadcopter - Page 117 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Jan 20, 2013, 12:07 PM
Registered User
Here's a question from a noob flyer (got mine a couple of days ago and love it).

Regarding balancing, I see that some people use tape on their props rather than sanding down, my question is, will any clear tape be fine? I'm assuming that the thinner the tape, the better so that you can make finer adjustments?

Sorry if this info is available elsewhere.

Cheers!
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jan 20, 2013, 12:08 PM
DJI Support - 107 Certified
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
Thanks, Tony!
Jan 20, 2013, 12:15 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by T J Gilbert
Flew Phantom for the first time yesterday.
Went through 3 batteries.
Constant 7 mph wind with 10 to 12 mph gusts.
Phantom out of the box with no tweaking flew as well as my F450 that has been tweaked several times.
GPS locked in and made Phantom "hang in the sky like the moon".
This thing is a great intro platform.
BTW, the white DJI props included with the RTF needed considerable balancing.
~33mm of cellophane tape on one blade of all four props.
I'd recommend balancing your props to enhance your flying experience.
Phantom is designed just for that; for beginner to gain more stick time with nothing to adjust. Until they get comfortable in flying all orientations, gain the experience before they go into mounting GoPro, FPV and toying around with all the settings.

I have no problem with stock props; until I mount the GoPro and balance the props slightly. We are complicating something meant to be simple at the beginning.

I remember setting fail-safe alone takes more than 100 posts ... and using radio/receiver gears that are not fail-safe ready.

I have four radios (8FG, XG8, DSX11 and Hitec Optic), F330, F450, F550, S-800 still I enjoy the Phantom RTF.
Jan 20, 2013, 12:15 PM
Registered User
SeniorSpan's Avatar
T.J,

As the Phantom appears to be similar in size to the F450, curiosity is demanding I ask, can you determine what the "out of the box into the air" gain values are are set at, or did you have to do some tweaking?

Thanks

Bob
Jan 20, 2013, 12:32 PM
Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar

Prop Balancer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed
Nice report TJ. Do you have a link for those that don't know how to balance props?
I have the fancy magnetic balancer, but actually prefer one like below.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXBFRT&P=7
On a DJI prop, you use one cone side and one flat side on the knurled nuts.
The technique is the same as Z06 Tony posted (Thanks, Tony).
The fingertip balancer in the link is very accurate when rested on two water glasses...
Last edited by T J Gilbert; Jan 20, 2013 at 12:54 PM. Reason: Explained DJI prop mount on balancer
Jan 20, 2013, 12:45 PM
Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar

@sidneyw, SeniorSpan, & epicdream


Sidney:
I just always balance props.
The Phantom will probably fly with nothing done to the props.
I should have tried the props as is to get a comparison, but felt they were pretty unbalanced for my liking.
Sorry to be confusing novices.

Senior Span:
I've not opened the Phantom Assistant yet because I wanted to try the RTF right out of the box. (And balancing the props violated that goal)
Before I start tweaking, I'll probably get screen shots of all the settings.
And probably won't tweak much...

epicdream:
I use Scotch tape wrapped around the leading edge so that it stays down.
FWIW, on props that are just slightly out, dragging a hobby knife across the trailing edge to remove molding flash sometimes does the trick. DO NOT remove very much as you will alter the aerodynamics of the prop...
This would not have worked on any of the DJIs that I balanced.
Last edited by T J Gilbert; Jan 20, 2013 at 12:51 PM.
Jan 20, 2013, 12:50 PM
Registered User
Hi TJ, don't get me wrong; I always balance the props and blades on my helis.
Jan 20, 2013, 01:04 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeniorSpan
T.J,

As the Phantom appears to be similar in size to the F450, curiosity is demanding I ask, can you determine what the "out of the box into the air" gain values are are set at, or did you have to do some tweaking?

Thanks

Bob
It is 350 size not 450 so more like the F330
Jan 20, 2013, 01:59 PM
Head of Production, UK. TV co
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z06 Tony
We sell them and have done quite a few AP builds using them as a downlink for a camera operator: http://www.z06tony.com/Other/HexaKon...8467&k=Ktn37Cn

and for FPV use: http://www.z06tony.com/Other/HexaKon...8350&k=5WcPRgT

You cant beat it for the price and you can add many different modules-> http://www.rc-drones.com/fpv-osd.php
Cheers Tony :-)
Will Pick a set up from Midlands Heli in the morning . Any thoughts on were to pick up the required 5 V is there an open supply inside the Phantom or would you go down the route of a small BEC on the Aux power tap (at Lipo Voltage) ?
Jan 20, 2013, 02:27 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo Lorentzen
Did a bit of flying with the latest version of the xGimbal yesterday and cut a few pieces together to see how they would stabilize on YouTube, there is a link in the youtube description to download the unstabilized video.
This was shot 1080p 60fps, so naturally the stabilized version is best in 720p
I really was pretty happy with the unstabilized result, but wanted to see if it would smooth nicely, it did. parts of this would drop nicely and inoffensively into a video project. thats exactly what I had hoped.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VnysMPINqEc

*** There is a link in the youtube description to download the unstabilized video.
Wow! Now THAT is the quality of image I would like to achieve! I'll be looking to order this xGimbal when it's ready for sale! Any idea on price?
Jan 20, 2013, 02:31 PM
Z06 Tony's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveh1012
Cheers Tony :-)
Will Pick a set up from Midlands Heli in the morning . Any thoughts on were to pick up the required 5 V is there an open supply inside the Phantom or would you go down the route of a small BEC on the Aux power tap (at Lipo Voltage) ?
Sorry I went to look and see if it was 5v or 6v you need and got side tracked. Looks like 4.3v-6.2v for the video TX.
I would either plug it into a spare RX chanel if using your own TX/RX for the easiest install or run a 6v BEC off the spare power lead coming from the Phantom if using the stock DJI TX/RX.
Jan 20, 2013, 02:40 PM
Head of Production, UK. TV co
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z06 Tony
Sorry I went to look and see if it was 5v or 6v you need and got side tracked. Looks like 4.3v-6.2v for the video TX.
I would either plug it into a spare RX chanel if using your own TX/RX for the easiest install or run a 6v BEC off the spare power lead coming from the Phantom if using the stock DJI TX/RX.
Great Many thanks for your time looking it up , We have deliberately kept both Phantoms as stock TX/RX and all other bits as they are our trainers for camera OPs so will go the BEC route....... better to let then stuff up a Phantom than a Spreading wings /Zenmuse /Sony NEX7 combo :-)
will post a photo or 2 of the finished rig
Jan 20, 2013, 03:04 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pfreddy
Wow! Now THAT is the quality of image I would like to achieve! I'll be looking to order this xGimbal when it's ready for sale! Any idea on price?
Working on a affordable price of course.

Plus, I think Bo is working on a iphone adapter to.
Jan 20, 2013, 03:08 PM
HGT
HGT
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by camera_man
As Bo says it's a moldable self-setting rubber/plastic.

https://sugru.com/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sugru
The rubber version of JB-Weld... how funny.
Jan 20, 2013, 03:22 PM
Registered User
Just ordered some of the sugru. Looks like fun.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion DJI Quadcopter Frame BUILD Thread Quad_Addict Multirotor Drone Talk 78 Mar 17, 2014 11:20 PM
Mini-HowTo POSTING VIDEO: How to Upgrade a Gaui 330x quadcopter with a DJI NAZA Lucidity47 Multirotor Drone Talk 5 Jun 07, 2012 01:31 AM
Video Multiwii Quadcopter Dji F-450 frame Updated Video Anda Inc. Electric Heli Talk 1 May 23, 2012 03:51 PM
Discussion DJI S800 Spreading Wings has landed at Quadcopters UK Headquarters QuadcoptersUk Multirotor Drone Talk 8 May 14, 2012 02:27 PM