How do you connect 2 aileron servos to your receiver? - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Dec 09, 2003, 10:36 PM
Registered User

How do you connect 2 aileron servos to your receiver?


I know this is a newbie question, but I don't really understand how you do it do you just use a y-splitter coming from normal receiver channel or what?

Thanks
Zach
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 09, 2003, 10:46 PM
T:W>1= :>)
rc-eflyer's Avatar

Re: How do you connect 2 aileron servos to your receiver?


Quote:
Originally posted by ZachW
I know this is a newbie question, but I don't really understand how you do it do you just use a y-splitter coming from normal receiver channel or what?

Thanks
Zach
You got it, just make sure the pushrods are on opposite
sides of the control arms so they go opposite directions.
Dec 10, 2003, 12:07 AM
Registered User

AHH


Ahh, thanks, that makes since now, I was trying to figure out how you were suppossed to get the servos going in operations, but obviously you don't actually have to do that.

Thanks,
Zach
Dec 10, 2003, 02:54 AM
Turbines suck ;-)
Depends on your transmitter as well !! Yours transmitter may have a facility for dual aileron servos! Then you will plug each servo into the receiver and set it up on the TX! I believe that there are y leads available that reverse the servo on one side as well!!
Last edited by rorywquin; Dec 10, 2003 at 02:57 AM.
Dec 10, 2003, 08:55 AM
Registered User
Steve_Bennington's Avatar
Some servos, even the same make and model will operate in different directions.. a quick look inside will confirm if the motor/feedback pot connections are reversed... We came accross this one on a dual servo elevator setup...

If you cannot use the other side of the servo arm, then you can get 'intelligent' Y leads with built in reverser, or use your TX like Rory Said. Look for a flaperon mix, with flap trim, but disable any flap mix, unless you want that movement too.....

Regards,

Steve
Dec 10, 2003, 11:45 AM
Registered User
Steve,

It's not normal for two otherwise identical servos to rotate in opposite directions given the same signal. Unless you are buying used servos from a questionable source, or modify them yourself, you are 99.99999999999999999% assured that two identical servos will rotate in the same direction given the same signal.
Dec 10, 2003, 01:16 PM
Registered User
Steve_Bennington's Avatar
Mkirsch1,
Agreed, we didn't believe it possible either, but 3 of us all had a mix of servos, some went one way, some another.. all from different sources too!

Regards,

Steve
Dec 11, 2003, 10:16 AM
Master
ChrisP's Avatar
Quote:
Originally posted by Steve_Bennington
3 of us all had a mix of servos, some went one way, some another......
Me too.

Chris P
Dec 11, 2003, 10:55 AM
**********
jbc455's Avatar

Re: AHH


Quote:
Originally posted by ZachW
Ahh, thanks, that makes since now, I was trying to figure out how you were suppossed to get the servos going in operations, but obviously you don't actually have to do that.

Thanks,
Zach
I just flip one servo over and put the arm on the other side. Easiest way I can describe it!

John
Dec 11, 2003, 11:00 AM
radar jammer
Greebe's Avatar
Also reversing the motor and feedback potentiometer outer leads will do this without the need of a servo reversing Y cable

As above, quality known good servo's help here too

There are a few other tricks that can be done to equalize most all differences in travel
Dec 12, 2003, 01:27 AM
You're a nerd.

?


Wouldn't you need a mixer for this? That's how I overcame this problem.
Dec 12, 2003, 04:29 AM
radar jammer
Greebe's Avatar
nope not neccessary... there are some additional things that can be done to match their rates too