Nov 17, 2012, 01:40 PM
Help!

SK3 Motor losses power as soon as it starts

Hello everyone, I'm new to this forum and I wish I could have a better topic for my first thread but I really need help with this.

Well, I have an Aerodrive SK3 2836 1040kv with an 11 x 4.7 GWS type prop (a little bit heavier than a GWS) hooked to a AE 35A ESC and finally to a 3 cell 3000 mAh Turnigy NANO LiPo batt.

The math says that this setup should work correctly and push up to 1.2/1.3 kg. Problem is: The motor losses power and then regains it and this cycle takes up like half a second or even more, and it repeats itself again and again, making it impossible to go up because it losses power, stalling the plane and when the power comes back I'm at the exact same altitude.

I've tested using different props, batteries, ESCs and the problem is still there, that's why I think it's the motor itself. Anyways, as I'm no expert on this EP flight field I'm asking you guys.

I don't know if I explained myself well, please tell me if you need more information.

Edit:
Here's a video so you can understand what I'm trying to explain
SK3 Failure (0 min 5 sec)

The stick is all the way up till the end of the video (so that last power loss is still part of the problem)
Last edited by Cry_Wolf; Nov 17, 2012 at 01:59 PM. Reason: Added video
to remove ads between posts
Nov 17, 2012, 02:04 PM
Dude, I do fly all day long!
I take it you've already tried a smaller prop.

a few things that can cause this:

#1Lipo isn't up to the amp draw (cuts out when drawing high amps)
I doubt this is the issue here. your 3000mah 3s should be fine.

#2 amp draw is too high for ESC and ESC is cutting power so it does not fry itself.
If you've tried a smaller prop then probably not it.

#3 there's a bad solder in one of the motor wires to ESC.
resolder just to be sure...or at least pull on it to make sure it's solid

#4 There's a break in the windings in the motor itself.