New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Mar 01, 2013, 09:12 AM
Kambalunga is offline
Find More Posts by Kambalunga
Registered User
Kambalunga's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich in ILM View Post
Only arguing the fact that the box and the module have the CE mark on them, not if it is proper.
But, again, the CE mark is on the box and on the module itself.
But this help in this case nothing.
You need CE! and a number from a notified body on the modul. Additionally required is the declaration of conformity.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 03, 2013, 01:35 PM
Codimasta is offline
Find More Posts by Codimasta
Registered User
Has anyone had any problems using the orange module on DSMX ???

Thank you,
Codimasta
AMA 11269
Old Mar 03, 2013, 01:50 PM
aesmith is offline
Find More Posts by aesmith
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codimasta View Post
Has anyone had any problems using the orange module on DSMX ???
It's working fine for me on DSMX with a Blade Nano chopper.
Old Mar 03, 2013, 01:52 PM
mikefromgermany is offline
Find More Posts by mikefromgermany
Not here to help stupids
mikefromgermany's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codimasta View Post
Has anyone had any problems using the orange
No problems with a MCPX BL and a MQX (new board)
-mike-
Old Mar 03, 2013, 02:19 PM
Kambalunga is offline
Find More Posts by Kambalunga
Registered User
Kambalunga's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codimasta View Post
Has anyone had any problems using the orange module on DSMX ???

Thank you,
Codimasta
AMA 11269
It might be that ...

http://www.rc-heli.de/board/showpost...2&postcount=67

http://translate.google.com/translat...postcount%3D67
Old Mar 09, 2013, 03:01 PM
Su-33 is offline
Find More Posts by Su-33
Su-27's Rule!
Su-33's Avatar
Can anyone tell me if its possible to use this http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...taba-HAN173#t1 to make the futaba a slave and make the channel assignment correct?? Electronic experts pls help!
Old Mar 10, 2013, 12:07 AM
wjs is offline
wjs
Find More Posts by wjs
wjs
William
Quote:
Originally Posted by su33seaflanker View Post
Can anyone tell me if its possible to use this http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...taba-HAN173#t1 to make the futaba a slave and make the channel assignment correct?? Electronic experts pls help!
Having wanting to do this in past, I can only say to get a spektrum training box and use the normal cable. Saves you aggrevation in the end and less cord junk to store and carry. A Dx5e is only $59 and is dual use. One you have trainer box, two a Phonex Sim box, and three a spare TX, or one for the kids. IMHO, get the box and normal trainer cable. If you get a RTF bird with a DX5e included, it probably even cheaper. Might have a look on feeBay also.
Old Mar 10, 2013, 07:50 AM
Daedalus66 is offline
Find More Posts by Daedalus66
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by su33seaflanker View Post
Can anyone tell me if its possible to use this http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...taba-HAN173#t1 to make the futaba a slave and make the channel assignment correct?? Electronic experts pls help!
No direct experience with that unit, but according to the claims it should do the job. To match JR to Futaba for trainer use, three things are needed: (1) connectors that fit each transmitter; (2) electronics to match the different signal levels; (3) electronics to change the channel sequence (JR uses TAER vs Futaba AETR).
Old Mar 10, 2013, 08:08 AM
Su-33 is offline
Find More Posts by Su-33
Su-27's Rule!
Su-33's Avatar
sorry i should have put that can you use it to connect it to the orange module and get the correct channel sequences .
ex: futaba tx --> to trainer link--->orx module
Old Mar 10, 2013, 08:43 AM
Kilrah is offline
Find More Posts by Kilrah
Happy FPV flyer
Kilrah's Avatar
The description on that part is pretty scarce... nothing mentions if it swaps channels or not.
Old Mar 10, 2013, 05:20 PM
Bruce Abbott is offline
Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
We want... Information!
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilrah View Post
The description on that part is pretty scarce... nothing mentions if it swaps channels or not.
"Lets you link with your JR radio with almost any Futaba or JR radio for training purposes".

They wouldn't say that if it didn't, because then you would not be able to use it as intended (and yes, it really does swap the channels). This is one of the differences between properly designed equipment and Chinese clone crap.

The only problem with using it to correct the channel order of the Orange TX module is that the JR trainer port signal is low level (~1.4V) and AC coupled. The ppm input circuit in the Orange module looks like it might be able to recognize the signal that the HAN173 cable puts out, but as this is not its intended use you shouldn't be surprised if it doesn't work!
Old Mar 11, 2013, 10:35 AM
spork is offline
Find More Posts by spork
Registered User
Hey guys - I hope I'm not hijacking this thread. I think my question is directly along the lines of the current discussion. If not - I apologize and will happily start a new thread.

I'm tempted to use the orange TX module on my Futaba TX. My Futaba does not use a removable RF module. I figured I could take the signal from the trainer output and send it to the Orange TX module. Can anyone tell me whether this will work? Is the trainer signal protocol on the Futaba the right protocol? Right voltage levels?

Thanks!
Old Mar 11, 2013, 10:51 AM
Su-33 is offline
Find More Posts by Su-33
Su-27's Rule!
Su-33's Avatar
it would work depending on the tx check this--->http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CfdCuRmx0jc i'm planing to do this too.

btw whats your tx?
Old Mar 11, 2013, 01:33 PM
spork is offline
Find More Posts by spork
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by su33seaflanker View Post
btw whats your tx?
Thanks. I have the Futaba T7CHP. If I understand, using this module will reverse two of the channels - right? And I presume that shouldn't be a problem if I use this receiver:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._Failsafe.html

because I can just swap the servo leads into the respective slots - right?

And one last question - how important is a satellite receiver?

Thanks again.
Old Mar 11, 2013, 01:47 PM
Su-33 is offline
Find More Posts by Su-33
Su-27's Rule!
Su-33's Avatar
Ok i think you can make the module work on the 7c

But as you noted yes the channel sequence would be all wrong so you can't use it on bnfs
Pls note that the channel sequence is futaba=aetr vs jr/spektrum would be taer so changing the servo slots would work and the satelite reciver would not be needed

Ps if you need extra info PM numnutchris here at rcgroups

Sorry..can't speak about how important the satelite is but from what i know you dont need it
Last edited by Su-33; Mar 11, 2013 at 01:53 PM.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion HobbyKing Orange Rx DSM, any problems/complaints? big_poppa4904 Radios 26 Aug 12, 2013 04:08 AM
For Sale Blade sr dsm tx hp6dsm and blade 120 sr tx Garrett1234567 Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Nov 08, 2012 04:46 PM
For Sale Spektrum Telemetry TM1000's, TM1100's,AR6000 DSM2, 4 New Orange DSM 2 Receivers, daign FPV Equipment (FS/W) 8 Jun 02, 2012 03:26 PM
Sold Brand New Orange DSM 2 Satellite Receivers healthyfatboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 9 May 06, 2012 04:17 PM
Sold Mint Spektrum DX6i, DSM 2 with 6ch Orange RX tankbuster Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Apr 06, 2012 08:39 AM