Thread Tools
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:40 AM
AndyKunz is online now
Find More Posts by AndyKunz
AndyKunz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daytonarc View Post
What is an SPM file? The throttle servo is plugged in to the throttle chanel (first one next to bind/data on AR6210) the throttle works the throttle servo so it is obviuosly the right chanel. I am binding with a DX5e tx so there is no mixing even possible. The second tx I used to verify the exact same results was a DX4e, also no mixing available.
Sorry, I missed that earlier. I didn't realize you were using a 5e, so you don't have a file capability.

What happens in normal operation when you pull the trainer switch? You said it changes the position of the throttle servo when you're binding.

Also, try releasing the switch shortly after tx powering up, not waiting until the end.

Andy
Site Sponsor
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:52 AM
Reflex1 is offline
Find More Posts by Reflex1
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daytonarc View Post
Done this numerous times to the point of redundancy and the rx goes to WOT when tx is turned off. This is not my first or only DSMX rx.
Perhaps you have found a problem
with the new DSMX/DSM2 Rx's and the older DSM2 Tx ?

Try an older DSM2 only, Rx
and see if Failsafe works correctly.
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:57 AM
AndyKunz is online now
Find More Posts by AndyKunz
AndyKunz's Avatar
I really think the problem is related to what he reported at Step 8. The throttle changes position from high-throttle to stick position when he releases the trainer switch.

Andy
Site Sponsor
Old Nov 14, 2012, 12:11 PM
Daedalus66 is offline
Find More Posts by Daedalus66
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
Also, try releasing the switch shortly after tx powering up, not waiting until the end.

Andy
Andy:

Could you elaborate a bit on when to release the bind button/switch, please.

My understanding was that you only need to hold for a short time and that holding it for the whole process can interfere with binding.

I know the first part is correct, as I always release as soon as the receiver shows a response and stops flashing. Not sure about the second part, but I notice that you pick it up as a possible issue in this case.
Old Nov 14, 2012, 12:16 PM
Reflex1 is offline
Find More Posts by Reflex1
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daytonarc View Post
1) Repeated all steps with a different tx with exact same results.
Confusing indeed. a different Tx would indicate nothing wrong with your original Tx
Have you an older Rx to try ?

Otherwise as said by Andy
We are all missing something here
Old Nov 14, 2012, 12:18 PM
Daytonarc is offline
Find More Posts by Daytonarc
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
Sorry, I missed that earlier. I didn't realize you were using a 5e, so you don't have a file capability.

What happens in normal operation when you pull the trainer switch? You said it changes the position of the throttle servo when you're binding.

Also, try releasing the switch shortly after tx powering up, not waiting until the end.

Andy

WHEN ALL ELSE FAILS READ THE MANUAL.
Page 10 of the DX5e manual states "Continuing to hold the trainer switch during
the binding process will prevent the preset smartsafe
position from being learned by the receiver"

page 11 of DX4e manual states CAUTION: "Continuing to hold the trainer button during the binding
process prevents preset failsafe positions from being learned by the receiver."

Since this particular plane requires the throttle servo to be reversed due to layout of servos and linkages, the reciever appears to be reverting to default failsafe (ie throttle servo not reversed)

I am not with the plane right now but will check this evening. I am sure that this is the problem, not releasing trainer switch in time. This was driving me crazy I was specifically using DX5e and verifying with DX4e transmitters because they are pretty simple with no chances of erroneous programming settings. Thanks for all of your time and effort to straighten this out Andy even though it appears that this was probably pilot error. After I verify that the rx is working properly I will post a final confirmation.

Spektrum/Horizon Hobby customer support is second to none!
Old Nov 14, 2012, 12:23 PM
Reflex1 is offline
Find More Posts by Reflex1
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
lol. glad you seem to be sorted
Old Nov 14, 2012, 12:26 PM
Daytonarc is offline
Find More Posts by Daytonarc
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflex1 View Post
Perhaps you have found a problem
with the new DSMX/DSM2 Rx's and the older DSM2 Tx ?

Try an older DSM2 only, Rx
and see if Failsafe works correctly.
No problem with equipment, all DSMX. Appears to be the problem of "who needs instructions".
Old Nov 14, 2012, 12:27 PM
Daytonarc is offline
Find More Posts by Daytonarc
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflex1 View Post
Confusing indeed. a different Tx would indicate nothing wrong with your original Tx
Have you an older Rx to try ?

Otherwise as said by Andy
We are all missing something here
Or same pilot error with multiple pieces of properly working equipment.
Old Nov 14, 2012, 12:28 PM
Daytonarc is offline
Find More Posts by Daytonarc
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflex1 View Post
lol. glad you seem to be sorted
Thanks
Old Nov 15, 2012, 08:46 AM
Daytonarc is offline
Find More Posts by Daytonarc
Registered User
Re-bound, letting go of bind switch as soon as tx lights flashed. All is working good.

NOTE TO SELF let go of bind switch after power up.

NOTE TO SPEKTRUM Since this lack of failsafe, only if throttle servo is reversed, is not evident as every other function works and rx indicates bind was successful you may want to consider when updating software including a setting that will not allow the bind to happen if switch is held up.
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:05 AM
AndyKunz is online now
Find More Posts by AndyKunz
AndyKunz's Avatar
The switch is used at the start to enter bind mode, not the end.

Andy
Site Sponsor
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:15 AM
richard hanson is offline
Find More Posts by richard hanson
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
The switch is used at the start to enter bind mode, not the end.

Andy
My own procedure - is to enter bind -holding switch/button etc., till i see a reading on the screen (on screen equipped radios) noting the bind is complete.
On non screen models of tx - I just watch the rx till the flash stops then let go the switch.
which or what other visual aid do you think is best?
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:18 AM
AndyKunz is online now
Find More Posts by AndyKunz
AndyKunz's Avatar
You can let go as soon as the tx enters bind mode. The first beeping or the bind screen showing.

Andy
Site Sponsor
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:37 AM
richard hanson is offline
Find More Posts by richard hanson
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by andykunz View Post
you can let go as soon as the tx enters bind mode. The first beeping or the bind screen showing.

Andy
datsun?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Problems with Orange RX DSM2 and Failsafe jtprouty Radios 7 Nov 17, 2015 04:40 AM
Discussion Graupner MX-20 Failsafe problem zaguruinzasky Radios 5 Apr 11, 2015 04:43 AM
Discussion DJI F450 failsafe problem hartrockets Multirotor Talk 2 Sep 29, 2012 05:54 AM
Sold Spektrum AR6210 Receiver NIB, $70.00 shipped fltekdiver Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 3 Apr 11, 2011 05:42 PM