Oct 29, 2012, 10:23 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Noob question about gimbal use and Y6 design

I am a noob and my only experience is with an AR Drone and MacGyver RC kit.

Please indulge my ignorance and help give me some information if you will.

I am an architectural photographer and my goal is to get a multi to use as a still and video camera platform. For stills I'm leaning towards needing to use a Nex 5R with 16-50 zoom (About 500 grams.) I may also use it for video but mostly will use a GoPro Hero 3 Black for that. I expect to shoot the stills while hovering reasonably stationary.

So my first concern is with servo controlled 2 axis gimbal mounts. I know they automatically adjust for the pitch and roll of the aircraft. But will I be able to manually adjust the tilt angle (vertical aiming) in addition to the automatic compensation for the aircraft's movement. My idea is to use wifi in the camera or an FPV camera to align my still images. (Maybe use the Nex's video out via a transmitter.) I assume high end gimbals for video can do this to allow tracking but I really don't see any mention on the lower end gimbals nor what control on the transmitter that would allow one to move this in gradual amounts.

My second concern is deciding what size and design of multi to use for this application. I was first attracted to the Y6 design after looking at this... from Multiwii: Carbon SCARAB YSiix v2. I like the position of the camera but it is just a single axis gimbal. Any opinions about going this route or what I should choose instead? I think I want the redundancy of 6 motors and like the 120 degree space of this design. I want to be able to shoot directly forward from level hover and be able to tilt down from there using a servo on the camera mount.
to remove ads between posts
Oct 29, 2012, 10:55 AM
I never finish anyth