GoPro HD HERO 3 - Page 18 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Nov 03, 2012, 12:16 AM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Was stated 3-4 frames of latency above. That's about the same as the HD and H2.

ian
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 03, 2012, 05:02 AM
Happy FPV flyer
Kilrah's Avatar
I haven't measured them scientifically, but I've flown both and the HD2 definitely has more latency than the HD1, a bit too much to my liking for fast stuff. It would be nice to know which one the HD3 is closer to
Nov 03, 2012, 08:52 AM
WannaBeLikeJoshTheSlowJet
bakchos's Avatar
o damn.... FutureShop just pushed the shipping date from 3-11-2012 to 29-11-2012.... i bet i wont see it before xmas !
Nov 03, 2012, 09:03 AM
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sg1anubis
I can also confirm that the composite video output is working. I see no noticeable lag in the video feed. As you may observe, the audio and control beeps from the gopro sync up with the video and OSD, so there shouldn't be any latency.

http://youtu.be/Pm-0G0E6s3c

After analyzing the video frames, the latency is about 3-4 frames or 110ms.
110ms is about four times what the GP2 had. What video setting are you on? The GP2 always had much more lag in 1080, than in 720.

Can you test 720 120fps?
Nov 03, 2012, 09:14 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakchos
o damn.... FutureShop just pushed the shipping date from 3-11-2012 to 29-11-2012.... i bet i wont see it before xmas !
Yeah, it's because GoPro also pushed the date back until then. I wouldn't be too surprised if they pushed it back even further as well given their prior track record with the WiFi, the firmware, and mobile apps.
Nov 03, 2012, 09:16 AM
Registered User
Yep Video out works fine with original composite cable.

I think the voltage it a big higher on the GP3 composite out, i get a brighter image.
Anyone else having some "off" colors on the recordings, like WB is set wrong and shiny objects is over exposed - maybe it just settings ?

Also got the "red light stuck in a long charge problem", and had to remove battery..will see if the new update helps.

HD3.03.01.09",
"wifi version":"3.2.3.12",
"wifi bootloader version":"0.2.2

It did first update GP3 version, restarted update Wifi inside GP3 - took a look time, and turned on after some mins - all ok.

Will see if its helps with stuck charger.

btw. The camera have NOT crashed anytime yet when recording with Samsung card.
Nov 03, 2012, 10:48 AM
Registered User
sickwitit's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gundamnitpete
110ms is about four times what the GP2 had. What video setting are you on? The GP2 always had much more lag in 1080, than in 720.

Can you test 720 120fps?
You guys use the GP2 for your FPV camera and reported having no lag issues when I asked you previously. But now you say there's lag on 1080 (and 720), and I noticed your videos are 1080. So you guys learned to fly and adjust to the lag?
Nov 03, 2012, 10:51 AM
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sickwitit
You guys use the GP2 for your FPV camera and reported having no lag issues when I asked you previously. But now you say there's lag on 1080, and I noticed your videos are 1080. So you guys learned to fly and adjust to the lag?
There's no noticeable lag on 720 (the only mode i use).

dave uses 1080, and there is a little lag, but unless you are an experienced pilot you won't feel it. Even if you do, it's such a small amount it's easy to compensate.

We render out to 1080, even when using the 720@60FPS mode
Nov 03, 2012, 12:08 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjpmodel
Can I connect a hero3 to an iPad via iPad camera adapter and play the videos an pics?. If yes which of the video modes will I be able to play? I am looking into purchasing an iPad mini or retna model.
Will someone please let me know which video modes and pics can be viewed by iPad using the camera input adapter. I am trying to decide whether to buy an iPad or not. Thank you.
Nov 03, 2012, 12:24 PM
Registered User
Underthetire's Avatar
Typing on an iPad right now, even if it does work, don't waste your money! Get a droid tablet. This this is locked down tighter than a frogs rear. Really a pia even browsing web sights since it doesn't have flash. I do however love my iPod so I'm not a total apple hater.
Nov 03, 2012, 12:45 PM
Registered User
sickwitit's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gundamnitpete
There's no noticeable lag on 720 (the only mode i use).

dave uses 1080, and there is a little lag, but unless you are an experienced pilot you won't feel it. Even if you do, it's such a small amount it's easy to compensate.

We render out to 1080, even when using the 720@60FPS mode
Ok. Thank you for this explanation. When will you guys be testing the GP3 on your quads?
Nov 03, 2012, 01:08 PM
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sickwitit
Ok. Thank you for this explanation. When will you guys be testing the GP3 on your quads?
Yep, as soon as we get some
Nov 03, 2012, 01:19 PM
Registered User
Already tested it 10times on my hexa, working perfect - jello is nealy gone in 1080/60fps, much better that GP2 !
Nov 03, 2012, 01:26 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Underthetire
Typing on an iPad right now, even if it does work, don't waste your money! Get a droid tablet. This this is locked down tighter than a frogs rear. Really a pia even browsing web sights since it doesn't have flash. I do however love my iPod so I'm not a total apple hater.
How does this answer my question???? Would you please read
my question and answer it. Thank you.
Nov 03, 2012, 02:29 PM
Registered User
sg1anubis's Avatar
I went through the common modes to get a rough estimate of the latency. Keep in mind that my video transmitter and monitor can also be sources of delay, so your results may be a bit different.

ProTune Enabled:

4k/15T
130ms +/- 15ms

2.7k/30T
100ms +/- 15ms

1080/60T
100ms +/- 15ms

720/120T
80ms +/- 15ms

ProTune Disabled:

2.7k/30p
115ms +/- 15ms

1080/60P
100ms +/- 15ms

720/120P
70ms +/- 15ms

I'll probably be flying a lot next weekend, so I'll post some video soon after. I did some brief tests earlier on my quad, and the vibrations seemed to be a little less prominent, even at 2.7k/30T. I didn't have the GoPro properly isolated from vibrations, so I won't really be able to compare the jello until I have it mounted the same as I had previously mounted my Hero 2.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold *SOLD* NIB GoPro HD Hero 2 Motorsports Edition plus NIB GoPro Wifi Combo Kit. jbj620 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Jun 11, 2012 12:54 PM
Discussion FPV using GOPRO HD Hero 2 + bacpac WIFI Link69 Multirotor Drone Talk 4 Feb 26, 2012 08:24 PM
Build Log HD FunJet v2 (mini) build log with GoPro HERO HD jbpilot FPV Talk 14 Oct 31, 2010 10:36 AM
Cool GoPro HD Hero Wide - 6.3 oz HD video camera nemo_uk Aerial Photography 5 Sep 27, 2009 10:40 AM