Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Nov 03, 2012, 12:16 AM
Daemon is online now
Find More Posts by Daemon
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Was stated 3-4 frames of latency above. That's about the same as the HD and H2.

ian
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 03, 2012, 05:02 AM
Kilrah is offline
Find More Posts by Kilrah
Happy FPV flyer
Kilrah's Avatar
I haven't measured them scientifically, but I've flown both and the HD2 definitely has more latency than the HD1, a bit too much to my liking for fast stuff. It would be nice to know which one the HD3 is closer to
Old Nov 03, 2012, 08:52 AM
bakchos is offline
Find More Posts by bakchos
WannaBeLikeJoshTheSlowJet
bakchos's Avatar
o damn.... FutureShop just pushed the shipping date from 3-11-2012 to 29-11-2012.... i bet i wont see it before xmas !
Old Nov 03, 2012, 09:03 AM
gundamnitpete is offline
Find More Posts by gundamnitpete
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sg1anubis View Post
I can also confirm that the composite video output is working. I see no noticeable lag in the video feed. As you may observe, the audio and control beeps from the gopro sync up with the video and OSD, so there shouldn't be any latency.

http://youtu.be/Pm-0G0E6s3c

After analyzing the video frames, the latency is about 3-4 frames or 110ms.
110ms is about four times what the GP2 had. What video setting are you on? The GP2 always had much more lag in 1080, than in 720.

Can you test 720 120fps?
Old Nov 03, 2012, 09:14 AM
healthyfatboy is offline
Find More Posts by healthyfatboy
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakchos View Post
o damn.... FutureShop just pushed the shipping date from 3-11-2012 to 29-11-2012.... i bet i wont see it before xmas !
Yeah, it's because GoPro also pushed the date back until then. I wouldn't be too surprised if they pushed it back even further as well given their prior track record with the WiFi, the firmware, and mobile apps.
Old Nov 03, 2012, 09:16 AM
LoopForEver is offline
Find More Posts by LoopForEver
Registered User
Yep Video out works fine with original composite cable.

I think the voltage it a big higher on the GP3 composite out, i get a brighter image.
Anyone else having some "off" colors on the recordings, like WB is set wrong and shiny objects is over exposed - maybe it just settings ?

Also got the "red light stuck in a long charge problem", and had to remove battery..will see if the new update helps.

HD3.03.01.09",
"wifi version":"3.2.3.12",
"wifi bootloader version":"0.2.2

It did first update GP3 version, restarted update Wifi inside GP3 - took a look time, and turned on after some mins - all ok.

Will see if its helps with stuck charger.

btw. The camera have NOT crashed anytime yet when recording with Samsung card.
Old Nov 03, 2012, 10:48 AM
sickwitit is offline
Find More Posts by sickwitit
Registered User
sickwitit's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gundamnitpete View Post
110ms is about four times what the GP2 had. What video setting are you on? The GP2 always had much more lag in 1080, than in 720.

Can you test 720 120fps?
You guys use the GP2 for your FPV camera and reported having no lag issues when I asked you previously. But now you say there's lag on 1080 (and 720), and I noticed your videos are 1080. So you guys learned to fly and adjust to the lag?
Old Nov 03, 2012, 10:51 AM
gundamnitpete is offline
Find More Posts by gundamnitpete
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sickwitit View Post
You guys use the GP2 for your FPV camera and reported having no lag issues when I asked you previously. But now you say there's lag on 1080, and I noticed your videos are 1080. So you guys learned to fly and adjust to the lag?
There's no noticeable lag on 720 (the only mode i use).

dave uses 1080, and there is a little lag, but unless you are an experienced pilot you won't feel it. Even if you do, it's such a small amount it's easy to compensate.

We render out to 1080, even when using the 720@60FPS mode
Old Nov 03, 2012, 12:08 PM
rjpmodel is offline
Find More Posts by rjpmodel
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjpmodel View Post
Can I connect a hero3 to an iPad via iPad camera adapter and play the videos an pics?. If yes which of the video modes will I be able to play? I am looking into purchasing an iPad mini or retna model.
Will someone please let me know which video modes and pics can be viewed by iPad using the camera input adapter. I am trying to decide whether to buy an iPad or not. Thank you.
Old Nov 03, 2012, 12:24 PM
Underthetire is offline
Find More Posts by Underthetire
Registered User
Underthetire's Avatar
Typing on an iPad right now, even if it does work, don't waste your money! Get a droid tablet. This this is locked down tighter than a frogs rear. Really a pia even browsing web sights since it doesn't have flash. I do however love my iPod so I'm not a total apple hater.
Old Nov 03, 2012, 12:45 PM
sickwitit is offline
Find More Posts by sickwitit
Registered User
sickwitit's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gundamnitpete View Post
There's no noticeable lag on 720 (the only mode i use).

dave uses 1080, and there is a little lag, but unless you are an experienced pilot you won't feel it. Even if you do, it's such a small amount it's easy to compensate.

We render out to 1080, even when using the 720@60FPS mode
Ok. Thank you for this explanation. When will you guys be testing the GP3 on your quads?
Old Nov 03, 2012, 01:08 PM
gundamnitpete is offline
Find More Posts by gundamnitpete
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sickwitit View Post
Ok. Thank you for this explanation. When will you guys be testing the GP3 on your quads?
Yep, as soon as we get some
Old Nov 03, 2012, 01:19 PM
LoopForEver is offline
Find More Posts by LoopForEver
Registered User
Already tested it 10times on my hexa, working perfect - jello is nealy gone in 1080/60fps, much better that GP2 !
Old Nov 03, 2012, 01:26 PM
rjpmodel is offline
Find More Posts by rjpmodel
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Underthetire View Post
Typing on an iPad right now, even if it does work, don't waste your money! Get a droid tablet. This this is locked down tighter than a frogs rear. Really a pia even browsing web sights since it doesn't have flash. I do however love my iPod so I'm not a total apple hater.
How does this answer my question???? Would you please read
my question and answer it. Thank you.
Old Nov 03, 2012, 02:29 PM
sg1anubis is offline
Find More Posts by sg1anubis
Registered User
sg1anubis's Avatar
I went through the common modes to get a rough estimate of the latency. Keep in mind that my video transmitter and monitor can also be sources of delay, so your results may be a bit different.

ProTune Enabled:

4k/15T
130ms +/- 15ms

2.7k/30T
100ms +/- 15ms

1080/60T
100ms +/- 15ms

720/120T
80ms +/- 15ms

ProTune Disabled:

2.7k/30p
115ms +/- 15ms

1080/60P
100ms +/- 15ms

720/120P
70ms +/- 15ms

I'll probably be flying a lot next weekend, so I'll post some video soon after. I did some brief tests earlier on my quad, and the vibrations seemed to be a little less prominent, even at 2.7k/30T. I didn't have the GoPro properly isolated from vibrations, so I won't really be able to compare the jello until I have it mounted the same as I had previously mounted my Hero 2.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold *SOLD* NIB GoPro HD Hero 2 Motorsports Edition plus NIB GoPro Wifi Combo Kit. jbj620 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Jun 11, 2012 12:54 PM
Discussion FPV using GOPRO HD Hero 2 + bacpac WIFI Link69 Multirotor Talk 4 Feb 26, 2012 08:24 PM
Build Log HD FunJet v2 (mini) build log with GoPro HERO HD jbpilot FPV Talk 14 Oct 31, 2010 10:36 AM
Cool GoPro HD Hero Wide - 6.3 oz HD video camera nemo_uk Aerial Photography 5 Sep 27, 2009 10:40 AM