Thread Tools
Old Nov 08, 2012, 09:40 PM
bwww is offline
Find More Posts by bwww
Gone Multicoptering
bwww's Avatar
Yes. Data is being sent, but something is wrong and mission planner cannot seem to understand it.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 08, 2012, 11:14 PM
eDoug is offline
Find More Posts by eDoug
Registered User
eDoug's Avatar
Hmm, mine seems to be doing the same thing now. No heartbeat.

The only thing changed was letting the Mission Planner software update on startup. Maybe a bad/buggy update? It was fine a few days ago.
Old Nov 09, 2012, 01:34 AM
pheonix3 is offline
Find More Posts by pheonix3
Registered User
Hiya Guys,
I do not have a RcTimer Arduflyer, but instead a APM1 and APM2. Just a guess here, but judging by the last post from Danger Mouse, I would suggest that you are now running 2 different Mavlink versions. i.e. One on the FC and another on the Mission Planner. I had this problem (for a range of factors) and now have to run two different Mission planner versions for the 2 different boards - one running mavlink 0.9 and one mavlink 1.0.
So, as an experiment, you might want to roll-back your mission planner version, but reloading an older version from the repository. In the version descriptions, look for the matching mavlink version. Altenatively, try re-loading adrucopter to you FC fromt he current Mission planner on your PC. Hopefully that may make the onboard version of mavlink match the PC!
Anyways, just a thought...
-Matt
Old Nov 09, 2012, 01:47 AM
ThePara is offline
Find More Posts by ThePara
Multicopter Nut
ThePara's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by danger_mouse View Post
Hmm, mine seems to be doing the same thing now. No heartbeat.
Please make sure you start "MissionPlanner10.exe" and not just plain MP. There's a change in MavLink protocol from old default 0.9 to 1.0
Old Nov 09, 2012, 02:49 AM
eDoug is offline
Find More Posts by eDoug
Registered User
eDoug's Avatar
Thank you for the suggestions, but I worked it out.... finally.

I had previously changed the 3dr baud rate to 115, and connected at 115200. The mission planner updated and changed the rate of the connect button back to the default 57600. After much stuffing around, set it to 115200 and bingo, works again.

The wind finally stopped, it is calm as outside, but it is now raining.
Old Nov 09, 2012, 05:09 AM
Jumpy07 is offline
Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar

APM 2.5 & Rctimer 2.5 Clone Guide for ArduCopter


This is my first attempt at a guide for new users of the APM 2.5, have tested most features and settings... this is more of a hardware and features guide.

Use at your own risk, I am sure there will be a few errors and typos, would welcome feedback.
V1.0 Initial Release
V1.1 Updated 10th Nov 2012, minor errors fixed, additional CLI/Test Info

Guide can now be obtained from here: http://www.multi-rotor.co.uk/index.php/topic,676.0.html
Last edited by Jumpy07; Nov 11, 2012 at 11:05 AM. Reason: Moved file
Old Nov 09, 2012, 06:35 AM
bwww is offline
Find More Posts by bwww
Gone Multicoptering
bwww's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpy07 View Post
This is my first attempt at a guide for new users of the APM 2.5, have tested most features and settings... this is more of a hardware and features guide.

Use at your own risk, I am sure there will be a few errors and typos, would welcome feedback.
You are a legend! Your guide was invaluable to me when learning the AIOP.
Old Nov 09, 2012, 06:38 AM
RaySuave is offline
Find More Posts by RaySuave
Registered User
Thanks for the guide...

Didnt realize that the HC-SR04 sonar was not compatible, what about the other cheap sonar, DYP-ME007?

Is having a sonar sensor worth spending $50 for the MaxSonar brand?
Old Nov 09, 2012, 07:10 AM
Jumpy07 is offline
Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaySuave View Post
Thanks for the guide...

Didnt realize that the HC-SR04 sonar was not compatible, what about the other cheap sonar, DYP-ME007?

Is having a sonar sensor worth spending $50 for the MaxSonar brand?
The MaxSonar kit is far superior and will work up to 10m.. so answer is yes its worth it..

The MegaPirate team added code to support the HC-SR04 in the code, but don't think it found its way back into ArduCopter..the DYP-ME007 is similar to the HC-SR04. I don't fully understand why its not supported but have read that its to do with the overhead of processing the raw data of the dumber sensors.
Old Nov 09, 2012, 03:00 PM
Mike Freas is online now
Find More Posts by Mike Freas
KK4NOP
Mike Freas's Avatar
Is it possible to program waypoints in the field without internet access?
Old Nov 09, 2012, 03:13 PM
Jumpy07 is offline
Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Freas View Post
Is it possible to program waypoints in the field without internet access?
Havent tried it.. but just disabled my wifi and can still add waypoints using LAT/LONG .. so looks like you can.. but a bit of a pain.... easier to click on map and do it..
Old Nov 09, 2012, 03:16 PM
Mike Freas is online now
Find More Posts by Mike Freas
KK4NOP
Mike Freas's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpy07 View Post
Havent tried it.. but just disabled my wifi and can still add waypoints using LAT/LONG .. so looks like you can.. but a bit of a pain.... easier to click on map and do it..
Hmmm,

So I guess I'd have to program it at home then.
Old Nov 09, 2012, 05:16 PM
eDoug is offline
Find More Posts by eDoug
Registered User
eDoug's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Freas View Post
Is it possible to program waypoints in the field without internet access?
Yes.

While you are at home bring up the map of your field in the Flight Planner screen. Right Click on the map > Map Tool > Prefetch. You can then cache map tiles for either the whole screen or use your mouse pointer to select an area.

The next time you go to the field and get GPS lock your cached map will appear. Program waypoints as you wish.
Old Nov 09, 2012, 05:51 PM
eDoug is offline
Find More Posts by eDoug
Registered User
eDoug's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpy07 View Post
This is my first attempt at a guide for new users of the APM 2.5, have tested most features and settings... this is more of a hardware and features guide.

Use at your own risk, I am sure there will be a few errors and typos, would welcome feedback.
Hey Jumpy, some good work there.

One thing I noticed is your motor connections look different to on the Wiki.

I like how you can use the "motors" command in the terminal window to check correct motor order and direction.

ArduCopter V2.4 - New motors test (easy and intuitive) - X Quad (1 min 6 sec)


The Auto ESC Calibration is also a cool function.
Old Nov 09, 2012, 06:12 PM
Mike Freas is online now
Find More Posts by Mike Freas
KK4NOP
Mike Freas's Avatar
RC Timer site down? Tried all day and get this.


Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Access denied for user 'shopexdb123'@'173.201.196.113' (using password: YES) in /home/content/93/6600593/html/include/mysql_db.php on line 28
Database error,Session halted.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold 3DR APM 2.5 + Ublox Gps Zenonic Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 4 Oct 01, 2012 10:32 AM
Sold 3DR APM 2.5 + Ublox Gps Zenonic Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 28, 2012 11:58 PM
Sold Apm 2.5 and Gps Panzlflyer FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Sep 26, 2012 09:30 AM
Sold APM 2.5 with Ublox Gps Panzlflyer Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 0 Sep 25, 2012 08:03 PM
Discussion APM 2.5 clone - MegaFlight 2.5 ralphwu Multirotor Electronics 1 Sep 24, 2012 02:18 PM