Lumenier RB2205C-12 2400KV SKITZO Ceramic Bearing Motor
Thread Tools
Old Nov 07, 2012, 11:31 PM
jabram is offline
Find More Posts by jabram
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by TSC21 View Post
I'm making it for testing... could you please answer the pm I'd send on the last week please?
I thought I had answered all your PM, will check again.

Testing is fine, but why move so far away from Revo hardware to save a few dollars, that is what I don't understand, we are talking $10 or $20 max, are things that bad?

EDIT: I checked, I have answered all your PM.

By the way, my question was NOT aimed directly at you.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 07, 2012, 11:32 PM
VArchT is offline
Find More Posts by VArchT
SoCal
VArchT's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabram View Post
I fail to see why all you guys are so enthusiastic about the F3, just a few measly dollars saved but in the end it will be nothing like the Revo, wrong CPU, wrong sensors etc. The F4Discovery is much closer, the right CPU for Revo and an MPU6050 costs peanuts, I simply fail to understand this over the top F3 enthusiasm, maybe someone can enlighten me.

EDIT: The open pilot documentation does say that CN-06 has been tested with op and works.
Because it's fun? I have a CC, a multiwii, a KK, an F4, soon will have a couple F3's, I am working on hand soldering a stm32 based micro quad.. No real logic to it, well lot's of logic actually but not the type you are looking for.
Old Nov 07, 2012, 11:44 PM
jabram is offline
Find More Posts by jabram
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zr_Flyer View Post
Because it's fun? I have a CC, a multiwii, a KK, an F4, soon will have a couple F3's, I am working on hand soldering a stm32 based micro quad.. No real logic to it, well lot's of logic actually but not the type you are looking for.
Fair enough, I understand fun, which is why I ordered the kick-starer Revo as well as a couple kick-starter CC3D and while the minimum 8 weeks elapses I am ready to fly F4Discovery when the weather plays nice and as the Revo code is released I expect long before I see my Revo board I will be able to start testing some of it, doing the same with F3 to me seems like pushing s**t uphill with a fork. i.e way harder than it needs to be IMHO.
Old Nov 08, 2012, 02:15 PM
robert b is online now
Find More Posts by robert b
Registered User

f3


hi,
amazing - burned the bootloader plus firmware and gcs is running.
takes ... 2 minutes ...

i accidently ordered too many spare f3 boards.
i can sell 2 boards locally here in switzerland.
Old Nov 08, 2012, 02:17 PM
msev is offline
Find More Posts by msev
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert b View Post
hi,
amazing - burned the bootloader plus firmware and gcs is running.
takes ... 2 minutes ...

i accidently ordered too many spare f3 boards.
i can sell 2 boards locally here in switzerland.
Hehe :P..
Old Nov 08, 2012, 04:25 PM
robert b is online now
Find More Posts by robert b
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Hehe :P..
2 additional jtag debuggers for less than 30 swiss francs is not that bad.
Old Nov 09, 2012, 10:13 AM
jihlein is offline
Find More Posts by jihlein
Registered User
How about making the shield the same size as the Discovery board. Place a hole in the middle to bring up cables, and put the appropriate connectors under the board. Might be a tight fit for everything, just made a quick sketch to get the idea across. If it all fits, it does make the overall size a bit more acceptable. I'm going to use Spektrum satellites, so I only need one large header for the ESC/servo connections.
Old Nov 09, 2012, 03:12 PM
robert b is online now
Find More Posts by robert b
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jihlein View Post
How about making the shield the same size as the Discovery board. Place a hole in the middle to bring up cables, and put the appropriate connectors under the board. Might be a tight fit for everything, just made a quick sketch to get the idea across. If it all fits, it does make the overall size a bit more acceptable. I'm going to use Spektrum satellites, so I only need one large header for the ESC/servo connections.
yup, that looks very nice.
try to solder the cables directly to the board for the first version
Old Nov 09, 2012, 08:01 PM
jihlein is offline
Find More Posts by jihlein
Registered User
Has anyone got a Spektrum Satellite working? The board hardware definition file indicates uart1, pin PC5 is the RX input. I set both the main port and flex port to DSMX 10 bit, but don't get any data. I know the Satellite is bound correctly and it's wiring is good as I pulled from an airframe I just finished flying.

Any hints?

John
Old Nov 10, 2012, 10:38 AM
TSC21 is offline
Find More Posts by TSC21
Registered User
Can someone please recommend some GPS, barometer and telemetry modules that can be added to the board?
Old Nov 10, 2012, 01:43 PM
ala42 is offline
Find More Posts by ala42
Registered User
ala42's Avatar
I saw some bugs in the code. In pios_l3gd20.h
PIOS_L3GD20_SCALE_2000_DEG = 0x3
must be changed to
PIOS_L3GD20_SCALE_2000_DEG = 0x30
The bad value sets the gyro into 3-wire mode, which could kill the SPI MOSI pin in the worst case. The 500 DEG settings is used in the code, so this causes no direct problem in the open pilot code, yet.

In pios_lsm303.c some constants starting with PIOS_L3GD20 are used, but have to start with PIOS_LSM303. This causes not problem here as the values are the same by coincidence.
Old Nov 10, 2012, 02:41 PM
lilvinz is offline
Find More Posts by lilvinz
Registered User
lilvinz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ala42 View Post
I saw some bugs in the code. In pios_l3gd20.h
PIOS_L3GD20_SCALE_2000_DEG = 0x3
must be changed to
PIOS_L3GD20_SCALE_2000_DEG = 0x30
The bad value sets the gyro into 3-wire mode, which could kill the SPI MOSI pin in the worst case. The 500 DEG settings is used in the code, so this causes no direct problem in the open pilot code, yet.

In pios_lsm303.c some constants starting with PIOS_L3GD20 are used, but have to start with PIOS_LSM303. This causes not problem here as the values are the same by coincidence.
Ok, for the first one, please go to OpenPilot and post it in their forums.
http://forums.openpilot.org/forum/66...s-development/

For the second one, thanks for the info. I will fix it including attribution to you.

Cheers,

Vinz
Old Nov 12, 2012, 06:52 AM
robert b is online now
Find More Posts by robert b
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jihlein View Post
Has anyone got a Spektrum Satellite working? The board hardware definition file indicates uart1, pin PC5 is the RX input. I set both the main port and flex port to DSMX 10 bit, but don't get any data. I know the Satellite is bound correctly and it's wiring is good as I pulled from an airframe I just finished flying.

Any hints?

John
i 'slowly' start to understand.
in op shop you can buy a spektrum adapter.
i assume spektrum works inverted ttl signal... just guessing.
Old Nov 12, 2012, 11:10 AM
lilvinz is offline
Find More Posts by lilvinz
Registered User
lilvinz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert b View Post
i 'slowly' start to understand.
in op shop you can buy a spektrum adapter.
i assume spektrum works inverted ttl signal... just guessing.
No, SBUS is inverted. Spektrum is straight. No additional hardware is needed.
Old Nov 12, 2012, 11:34 AM
Menno is offline
Find More Posts by Menno
Registered User
Are rx and tx in correct order? They are swopped if you compare it with the open pilot manual.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DIY OpenPilot based FlightControl (F4) lilvinz Multirotor Electronics 271 Jan 04, 2015 06:58 AM
Sold High quality DIY openpilot-compatible controller kanchana Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 43 Oct 21, 2012 11:56 AM
New Product zeroGravity - An STM32 Flightcontroller based on PIPO32 hardware Jessestr Multirotor Talk 40 Jun 25, 2012 09:18 PM
For Sale High quality DIY openpilot-compatible controller kanchana Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 0 May 27, 2012 04:46 AM