Thread Tools
Dec 03, 2012, 10:54 AM
Registered User
Great I'm very glad good stuff will be coded for this f3discovery platform...Since my planes are big enough to carry it, it will make a nice affordable FC solution...I could afford to put one a piece in all of my planes..

I have already a list of wishes for features if someone wants to listen to me
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 03, 2012, 10:55 AM
Registered User
lilvinz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilvinz
I could imagine a possible reason for that. The F3 port uses the internal flash to store settings. Writing to that flash is pretty slow and inefficient. I think writing halts the whole system (which sucks) and thus could lead to a gap in the pwm signal. Maybe it would help to add some code which disables all PWM outputs while saving a setting to flash (this would also imply not to save at all when armed).
I dont get this one reproduced. Can you send me your settings please?
Dec 03, 2012, 09:10 PM
Registered User
Here you go. Let me know if I can do anything else to help track down the issue.
Dec 05, 2012, 08:56 AM
Registered User
This is good for a laugh, maybe

Yesterday, I was on the Farnell [element14 in Australia] website and the STM32F3- Discovery was showing up in stock.

So I ordered 2.

I also ordered 10 shock isolating rubber grommets, which also showed in stock.

Today by Toll Overnight Priority I received a large satchel with a huge amount of bubble wrap and 9 small rubber grommets.

I x rubber grommet on backOrder, 2 x F3 Discovery on BackOrder.

Lucky it is free shipping.
Dec 05, 2012, 06:19 PM
Registered User
Just ordered a couple of these super cheap boards from Farnell UK as they have168 in stock. Looking forward to seeing what there like. I am building a second quad for fun flying.
Dec 13, 2012, 08:10 AM
Registered User
Received my 2 back ordered F3 Discovery boards from Element 14l, yes these did come to Element 14 in Australia via Farnell UK.
Dec 13, 2012, 01:45 PM
SoCal
VArchT's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabram
Received my 2 back ordered F3 Discovery boards from Element 14l, yes these did come to Element 14 in Australia via Farnell UK.
I got notification that my two F3's shipped from Newark yesterday too, I guess I need to get busy soon.
Dec 14, 2012, 02:37 PM
Registered User
Quadframes's Avatar
Just got mine today and here is it working

Discovery F3 running OpenPilot (0 min 38 sec)
Dec 28, 2012, 09:39 AM
Registered User
b0ba's Avatar
I saw several people were working on PCB for the F3Discovery board. Is it possible to get files for released board ?
Jan 01, 2013, 06:25 AM
Registered User
I have build one with normal dot matrix board and some thin servo wire as per diagram.
Jan 01, 2013, 06:26 AM
Registered User
Is there a way to use this with ppm-sum ? Of do I need to just jump some pins somewhere maybe. Has anyone tested this yet.
Jan 03, 2013, 07:42 AM
Registered User
lilvinz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeysPunk
Is there a way to use this with ppm-sum ? Of do I need to just jump some pins somewhere maybe. Has anyone tested this yet.
You should be able to reconfigure the first PWM input to a PPM input.
You can do this in the GCS at the hardware configuration tab.
Jan 03, 2013, 09:39 AM
Registered User
Great, didn't think of that doh. Cheers will report back with progress
Jan 03, 2013, 04:38 PM
Registered User
Ok I connected it via the rcvr port and selected ppm but get nothing in the stick calibration window. If I use the std PWM setting and 4 servo wires from 4 channels of the receiver I can go through the stick calibration wizard ok ie it asks for throttle input and it senses it them moves on to roll as and so on. Then when I get the stick reverse checking part the on screen sticks don't move at all and on the main screen the bars don't move. Anyone got any ideas what could be wrong please ?
Jan 04, 2013, 12:42 AM
Registered User
It could help if you gave us some more information.

- What receiver are you using?
- is PPM selected in the transmitter and in the Ground Control Station (GCS).
- Do you have the PPM of this receiver working on another machine
- What version of the GCS are you running. You should only use the version posted in the Wiki by Lilvinz.

Check in the UAVObject browser if you can really see that PPM output is active.

Concerning PWM; The bars in the input module of the GCS only move when the manual calibration is active. If they move during the calibration procedure than you should be fine. You could assign one of the channels to the flightmode switch. You should see the flight controller status changing in the flight data window.

A general rule of precaution; Remove the propellors from the motor when you do the initial setup.
Last edited by Menno; Jan 04, 2013 at 03:11 AM.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DIY OpenPilot based FlightControl (F4) lilvinz Multirotor Drone Electronics 271 Jan 04, 2015 05:58 AM
Sold High quality DIY openpilot-compatible controller kanchana Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 43 Oct 21, 2012 10:56 AM
New Product zeroGravity - An STM32 Flightcontroller based on PIPO32 hardware Jessestr Multirotor Drone Talk 40 Jun 25, 2012 08:18 PM
For Sale High quality DIY openpilot-compatible controller kanchana Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 0 May 27, 2012 03:46 AM