Thread Tools
Sep 30, 2012, 02:32 PM
Registered User
Discussion

Ardupilot Mega 2.5 setup for Hobbyking FPVRaptor


Have been flying FPV for some time and have been interested in the Ardupilot for over a year, I really like the new version.
So I have looked into setting up Ardupilot 2.5 in a FPVRaptor from hobbyking.
What I cant find information about (have been looking around the forum) is what do I need all the optional sensors for? ex sonar, airspeed sensor...
What I want to achive with the Ardupilot is
-Fly waypoints,(I'm getting the 433mhz telemetri module)
-Send commands from the laptop.
-AutoTakeoff & landing
Do I need anything other than the Mainboard for this?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 30, 2012, 06:32 PM
Registered User
Locko's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sveinongen View Post
Have been flying FPV for some time and have been interested in the Ardupilot for over a year, I really like the new version.
So I have looked into setting up Ardupilot 2.5 in a FPVRaptor from hobbyking.
What I cant find information about (have been looking around the forum) is what do I need all the optional sensors for? ex sonar, airspeed sensor...
What I want to achive with the Ardupilot is
-Fly waypoints,(I'm getting the 433mhz telemetri module)
-Send commands from the laptop.
-AutoTakeoff & landing
Do I need anything other than the Mainboard for this?
I think you just need a airspeed sensor for take offs and landings , thats what they suggest.
I would go the upgrade GPS ( GPS uBlox LEA-6) because you have the freedom of putting the GPS any where. But if you do get the "Ublox gps" make sure you get a longer cable (EM-406/uBlox/MTK Adapter Cable 20 cm)
because the one you get is only 2-3 inchs long.
Sep 30, 2012, 10:18 PM
Registered User
typicalaimster's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sveinongen View Post
-Fly waypoints,(I'm getting the 433mhz telemetri module)
-Send commands from the laptop.
-AutoTakeoff & landing
Do I need anything other than the Mainboard for this?
I just started with the APM 2.5. Here's what I found so far...

- You can fly waypoints with the board regardless of what you use for control. Even a regular radio control. The telemetry module is a nice addition to have
- As mentioned buy a longer GPS cable. The one that comes with it is very small.

I haven't tried running auto launch or land yet. I have launched and immediately flipped to Auto mode and it flew the route as expected. Probably start working on auto land and launch in the coming weeks.
Sep 30, 2012, 11:47 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by typicalaimster View Post
I just started with the APM 2.5. Here's what I found so far...

- You can fly waypoints with the board regardless of what you use for control. Even a regular radio control. The telemetry module is a nice addition to have
- As mentioned buy a longer GPS cable. The one that comes with it is very small.

I haven't tried running auto launch or land yet. I have launched and immediately flipped to Auto mode and it flew the route as expected. Probably start working on auto land and launch in the coming weeks.
What plane are you using?
Are going to add airspeed sensor for Auto land/launch?
Oct 01, 2012, 12:22 AM
Registered User
typicalaimster's Avatar
I'm using the Skywalker right now. I'll be ordering a airspeed sensor this week. I hope to use auto land eventually.
Oct 01, 2012, 05:23 AM
Registered User
I think I'll be ordering this setup for the FPVRaptor

ArduPilot Mega 2.5 Fully Assembled System
Ardupilot Mega MinimOSD Rev. 1.1
3DR Radio Telemetry Kit - 433 Mhz
3DR GPS uBlox LEA-6
Airspeed Kit with MPXV7002DP.

I'm not sure if the Stock motor will be good for this setup.

Video setup
Going to add a gopro
Immersion 5.8ghz

Rc
Spektrum DX7 transmitter
AR7000 reciver

What do you think?
Oct 01, 2012, 07:25 AM
Registered User
Locko's Avatar
Don't forget the case for the apm2.5. It's out of stock ATM, been out of stock for about 5 days.
Oct 01, 2012, 12:40 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locko View Post
Don't forget the case for the apm2.5. It's out of stock ATM, been out of stock for about 5 days.
Do you have a link to the Case? the Case for APM 2.0 does not fit
Oct 02, 2012, 04:37 AM
Registered User
Locko's Avatar
the case I was looking at is APM 2.0, I think it will fit . I hope I just ordered 2cases
Oct 11, 2012, 11:50 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locko View Post
the case I was looking at is APM 2.0, I think it will fit . I hope I just ordered 2cases
Hello,

It is possible but with some modifications. Look here.

Pedro
Oct 11, 2012, 05:51 PM
Registered User
Locko's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by p_daniel_santos@ View Post
Hello,

It is possible but with some modifications. Look here.

Pedro
Thanks for the information
Apr 20, 2013, 03:12 AM
Registered User
Alpha1actual's Avatar
Greetings. I'm new to APM, but learning quickly. Did you use a profile for a different plane as a baseline when setting up the APM for a Raptor? I could not locate a config file for this plane and would love to hear how other Raptor pilots have setup their APM.
Apr 28, 2013, 10:10 PM
Registered User
Alpha1actual's Avatar
Ghost town in here. No love at all :what:

Anyways.. if anyone stumbles on this thread, APM 2.5 on the Raptor works flawlessly out of the box with no adjustments necessary. No config/param file is necessary. Set it up, plug it in, and fly. Excellent system.
Apr 29, 2013, 12:02 AM
Registered User
bjornthans's Avatar
tried putting a apm in a skywalker earlier this winter. it flies great. just adjusted a little bit on the angels in FBW. i also use a minimosd with the osd extra plane firmware.
FPV Skywalker 1880, ardupilot 2.5 (3 min 57 sec)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha1actual View Post
Ghost town in here. No love at all :what:

Anyways.. if anyone stumbles on this thread, APM 2.5 on the Raptor works flawlessly out of the box with no adjustments necessary. No config/param file is necessary. Set it up, plug it in, and fly. Excellent system.
Apr 29, 2013, 01:09 AM
Registered User
Alpha1actual's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjornthans View Post
tried putting a apm in a skywalker earlier this winter. it flies great. just adjusted a little bit on the angels in FBW. i also use a minimosd with the osd extra plane firmware.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mIvpvq5TcmE
Nice! Looks like it's flying well.
Here's one from this afternoon:
ArduPilot Mega 2.5 FPV Raptor Mode Testing (8 min 21 sec)


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert MultiWiiCopter vs ArduPilot Mega 2.5 captaingeek Multirotor Drone Talk 13 Oct 05, 2012 06:08 PM
Sold Mega 22/20/2 geared 1:5, mega 16/15/5, RF prop 15x13s Amko Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 6 May 22, 2012 09:51 PM
Discussion Ardupilot Mega 2.0 on rcexplorer.se Tricopter V2.5 Manfet Multirotor Drone Talk 0 May 14, 2012 03:00 AM
Wanted Ardupilot Mega 2 Wanted urgently : 300 USD offer hemanthtguru Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 Apr 21, 2012 04:56 PM
Discussion ardupilot mega 2 / 3dr telemetry / ezuhf question stallion explosi FPV Talk 7 Apr 16, 2012 12:51 PM