Noobs- What do you want to know? - Page 15 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Oct 18, 2012, 05:23 PM
7AC
7AC
Registered User
7AC's Avatar

Motor links


LG, OK the first is the Hobby King DT 750 I have 3 of these but all have quite a few hours on them, it is here: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ner_750kv.html

The second is the GForce 35/30 I have one of these, it is here: GForce 35/30 http://www.valuehobby.com/power-syst...less-motor.htm

Third is the Hobby King 28/30, I have one of these, it is here:/http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__12921__D2830_11_1000kv_Brushless_Motor.html

Finally I have 3 HK35/36's they are here:http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ner_Motor.html

Thanks for your help!
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 18, 2012, 05:33 PM
7AC
7AC
Registered User
7AC's Avatar

GForce 35/30 motor


Just checked the links in the foregoing, that G Force motor is here:http://www.valuehobby.com/power-syst...30-1100kv.html
Oct 18, 2012, 05:40 PM
http://drone-pilot.blogspot.fr
lovegroove's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7AC
LG, OK the first is the Hobby King DT 750 I have 3 of these but all have quite a few hours on them, it is here: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ner_750kv.html

The second is the GForce 35/30 I have one of these, it is here: GForce 35/30 http://www.valuehobby.com/power-syst...less-motor.htm

Third is the Hobby King 28/30, I have one of these, it is here:/http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__12921__D2830_11_1000kv_Brushless_Motor.html

Finally I have 3 HK35/36's they are here:http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ner_Motor.html

Thanks for your help!
I've had a look at all of the specs and none of them seem very well suited to for use on the 450 frame. Most of the motors would be better spinning an 11" or 12" prop which is too big for the 450 frame and the other is just way too big for 450 copter.

If you're going to buy new motors, then these from rctimer work really nice on the 450 frame spinning 10" props on a 3s lipo. http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...3&productname= I would expect to get 8-10 minutes of flying time using a 3s 2200mAh lipo.
Oct 18, 2012, 09:38 PM
7AC
7AC
Registered User
7AC's Avatar

28/30's


Thanks LG, I will give those a try.:
Oct 19, 2012, 03:38 AM
http://drone-pilot.blogspot.fr
lovegroove's Avatar
They're nice motors and you won't be disappointed. Make sure you buy a couple of spare shafts though, because that's the one bit of them that is slightly fragile and can sometimes break in a heavy crash.


http://drone-pilot.blogspot.fr/
Oct 19, 2012, 09:23 AM
Registered User
I liked your first FPV article, I think it is good.
You may want to add the links to "How to be successful in FPV" and the "Top 10 things I wish I'd paid attention to when getting started in FPV" that is another good read.

Now what is really needed is a shopping list adapted to different needs and budget. The hardware changes a lot, new cams with better blacklight, better antennas, new googles, and things are compatible with each other etc ...

For example I want to add FPV to a DSLR octo with a 2.4 GHz Tx to shoot things in short distance, so I figured out I'd better take a 5.8GHz system with a cloverleaf type antenna and some googles, but I am far from having the full list of all I need with a reasonable budget. This is where shopping lists adapted to different needs and up-to-date with the new/proven products would be very helpful

Alain
Oct 19, 2012, 09:36 AM
Registered User

AP On Stock F550 motors, esc's, etc...?


Quick question...is a DJI F550 with stock parts strong enough to carry a go pro camera?

Will I need to go to 4s from 3s batteries?

Will I have to go to 10" props from 8"?
Last edited by tedpretty; Oct 19, 2012 at 09:47 AM.
Oct 19, 2012, 09:54 AM
http://drone-pilot.blogspot.fr
lovegroove's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedpretty
Quick question...is a DJI F550 with stock parts strong enough to carry a go pro camera?

Will I need to go to 4s from 3s batteries?

Will I have to go to 10" props from 8"?
Yes, it will easily carry a GoPro.

The other 2 questions I can't answer unless I know what ESCs and motors you're using. They may not be able to take a 4s Lipo. Usually when you go up in voltage, you go down in prop size, so moving from 3s to 4s you would probably go down an inch or 2 in prop size.
Oct 19, 2012, 09:56 AM
http://drone-pilot.blogspot.fr
lovegroove's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by alainphoto
I liked your first FPV article, I think it is good.
You may want to add the links to "How to be successful in FPV" and the "Top 10 things I wish I'd paid attention to when getting started in FPV" that is another good read.

Now what is really needed is a shopping list adapted to different needs and budget. The hardware changes a lot, new cams with better blacklight, better antennas, new googles, and things are compatible with each other etc ...

For example I want to add FPV to a DSLR octo with a 2.4 GHz Tx to shoot things in short distance, so I figured out I'd better take a 5.8GHz system with a cloverleaf type antenna and some googles, but I am far from having the full list of all I need with a reasonable budget. This is where shopping lists adapted to different needs and up-to-date with the new/proven products would be very helpful

Alain
I'm working on that article! The first part is nearly finished and may be published tonight, but I'm moving from France to England tomorrow, so it will probably be the end of next week before I've finished my series of FPV articles.


http://drone-pilot.blogspot.fr/
Oct 19, 2012, 10:56 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovegroove
If you want to add LEDs then you need to check the LED specifications and then do a bit of mathematics. An LED has almost no internal resistance, so if you just hook it direct to a battery then the current will flow almost unimpeded and not only will you drain your battery quickly, but you will burn the LED.

This is why you have to look at the LED specifications for 2 key figures. You need to know the diode forward voltage (this is the voltage required to provide the forward bias to overcome the p-n junction) and the second is the diode forward current.

Once you have these 2 figures, you need to do some maths. A typical forward voltage would be 3.4v and typical forward current would be about 30mA. If you have a supply voltage of 4.2v (1s lipo) we subtract the forward voltage from the supply voltage (4.2-3.4) and then using ohm's law we divide that voltage by the forward current to work out what size resistor is required (0.8v/30mA 0r 0.8/0.030) which gives us the resistance that we need to put in series with the LED. In this case, the resistance = 26.666666, so we round up to a 27ohm resistor.

The power dissapated by the the resistor = I^2*R =24mW and in this case we would choose a 1/8W 27ohm resistor in series with the LED. The colour code for the LED is Red,Purple,Black.

Hope that helps.

LG
Thanks, that makes sense. A few more quick questions...

What if you wanted to power 2 3.4 v (30 mA) LEDs from the same source in series. Would the resistor change in this case, or is it just better to wire them in parallel with each LED getting a resistor?

Also, suppose you have a 3.4 v LED but your power source is 3.3 v... in this case I would guess I would not need a resistor but the LED may not be bright enough or light up at all if the voltage is too low?
Oct 19, 2012, 11:14 AM
http://drone-pilot.blogspot.fr
lovegroove's Avatar
Best to run them in parallel, each with its own resistor like in the picture. You can get LEDs with a lower forward voltage, so it's possible to power them from 3.3v. These ones for example have a forward voltage of 2.5v http://www.maplin.co.uk/multi-colour-led-613168

Unless it's an LED with a built in resistor, you should always use a current limiting resistor to power an LED.

edit Forgot to add this link to a calculator for calculating the require resistance: http://ledcalc.com
Oct 19, 2012, 11:29 AM
Stop me before I build again!
Slowly putting together my thoughts on my next build. Looking a a T6 style build. Any thoughts on the Turnigy 3020-1200 kV motors, ecalc seems to be giving me some very nice numbers and I'm sure I can beat my frame budget. Would be paired with 8x4.5SF props on a ~12-13" MTM distance frame ( triangle ). By the ecalc numbers it should be compact and powerful.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idproduct=9378

http://www.ecalc.ch/xcoptercalc_e.ht...h=4.5&blades=2
Oct 19, 2012, 11:56 AM
Registered User
When you balance graupner blades for the F550, what do you use to balance the blades...do you sand them or use polyurethane spray?
Oct 19, 2012, 01:02 PM
Registered User
Small scrapbooking stickers or pieces of scotch tape work wonders for balancing props.
Oct 19, 2012, 03:31 PM
http://drone-pilot.blogspot.fr
lovegroove's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedpretty
When you balance graupner blades for the F550, what do you use to balance the blades...do you sand them or use polyurethane spray?
I usually sand the underside of the heavy blade, but all of my graupners have been just about perfect straight out of the bag.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Do you know what airplane is this and who made it? mashca Vintage & Old-Timer Designs 11 Sep 14, 2012 12:43 AM
Discussion Do you know what airplane is this and who made it? mashca The Builders Workshop 5 Sep 11, 2012 08:05 PM
Question How do you know what part is bad? j2591 Micro Helis 5 Aug 13, 2012 08:39 PM
Discussion Do you know what this is? jaizon Thermal 3 Jul 22, 2012 03:09 PM
Wanted do you know what plane this is ? streetbikegod4 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 5 Mar 18, 2012 09:41 AM