Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Dec 08, 2012, 02:52 PM
Gravity impaired
jrjr's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Greene
I keep on hearing on several threads that the DX7 has different programming...I wonder why Spektrum would come up with such an oddball radio vs the rest of the line???

I noticed out of the box that my 1SQ was a little noisy in flight---The prop tips seemed to be making the noise...I eyeballed the props and all of them were straight...Then, I ran my fingers around the edges of the props and could feel rough molding flashing all around the tips...Using an Exacto blade placed at a 90* angle to the prop I scraped off the flashing, making the props smooth to the touch...DO THIS GENTLY!!!...The purpose is to just remove the flashing and not to disturb the airfoil or upset the balance...

Now, the 1SQ is much quieter than is was out of the box...The molding flashing on the prop tips was causing the air to be ripped at the tips rather than slicing through...Although not measurable, this no doubt has made the props a tiny bit more efficient as well...

Kevin
The DX7 came out years ago.... it was the first along with the parkflier version of the DX6. The DX7s and 6i are the latest radios. The old 7 was actually made by JR and is a solid radio but has qwerky programming. Not bad once you are used to it...

Hey, just noticed, this is my 1000th post!!
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 08, 2012, 04:24 PM
Registered User
Have been using the 1SQ with the RTF package transformer for a couple of weeks with no trouble. Just got a DX6i and tried to bind it this afternoon. Couldn't get it to bind after pressing the bind button and now I'm not getting the 2nd LED (that ordinarily blinks fast when the TX is on) at all. Just the one solid led when I plug in the battery. Can't get it to communicate with the stock TX or the DX6i now. Has anyone encountered this problem or have any suggestions? Many thanks for any help.
Dec 08, 2012, 04:27 PM
Registered User
smitty919's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seasiderht
Have been using the 1SQ with the RTF package transformer for a couple of weeks with no trouble. Just got a DX6i and tried to bind it this afternoon. Couldn't get it to bind after pressing the bind button and now I'm not getting the 2nd LED (that ordinarily blinks fast when the TX is on) at all. Just the one solid led when I plug in the battery. Can't get it to communicate with the stock TX or the DX6i now. Has anyone encountered this problem or have any suggestions? Many thanks for any help.
Do you have a "AnyLink" hooked up to your dx6i?
Dec 08, 2012, 04:33 PM
Registered User
Yeah, have it hooked up, mapped right from what I can tell (getting 2 beeps). It's strange, I've never seen that 2nd LED (i guess it's an indicator for the reciever) not light up at all. Don't know if it needs to be "un-bound" or reset in some way? Or something has gotten screwed up on the board when I was pressing the bind button perhaps?
Dec 08, 2012, 04:39 PM
Registered User
smitty919's Avatar
you should have on solid and one rapid flashing light on the quad the power turned off to your dx6i and plugged in your anylink..your battery is full charged on the 1sq also right
Dec 08, 2012, 04:46 PM
Registered User
Yeah, full charge on the 1SQ. I can't get the rapidly flashing light to come on. Only the solid LED lights up. It's the same whether whether I try to use the dx6i/Anylink or the TX that came with it.
Dec 08, 2012, 06:57 PM
Jake From Planet Mascoutah, IL
Jake8131's Avatar
Did you push the little black button on the left back on the circuit board? Hold for 5 secs and then let go..binds to the tx then.
Dec 08, 2012, 07:16 PM
Flying is Freedom
Sky_Captain's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mejmea
Went to the LHS to pick one up (1st saw some there about a week ago, then started following this thread). Out of stock until January........arrrgghh.
My heart goes out to you bro. When I finally decided to get one, I called my LHS and they had one left. I asked them to hold it for me and I picked it up the very next day.
You will be happy when you get it.
Dec 08, 2012, 07:20 PM
Flying is Freedom
Sky_Captain's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Rdnek
Good job on the power supply and outlet box.
I got lucky and bought a Bulldog 30 and a Pyramid 12 power supplies, along with the Duratrax ICE and Triton chargers, all at the same time from a guy that was leaving RC car racing, on E Bay about 4 years ago. Got a really smokin deal on them, and they all work perfectly.
My batteries are getting stronger. I have put a couple more fights on each of them, I can now get past the 3 min. mark and still have exceptable power.
By the time they get broke in, they may be worn out......
Rn
Nice deal on the charges and yes, a good charger makes all the difference in the world.
I also had the Duratrax Ice a while back. I bought the back light upgrade from Ebay, it worked for about 2 months and died. then it was actually harder to see the LED after that because the reflective backing has to be removed to put the light in. The moral here is, DON"T BUY THE BACK LIGHT KIT
Dec 08, 2012, 07:25 PM
Bruno, GOOD DOG
A Rdnek's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky_Captain
Nice deal on the charges and yes, a good charger makes all the difference in the world.
I also had the Duratrax Ice a while back. I bought the back light upgrade from Ebay, it worked for about 2 months and died. then it was actually harder to see the LED after that because the reflective backing has to be removed to put the light in. The moral here is, DON"T BUY THE BACK LIGHT KIT
What a horrible coincidence. I did buy that back light, If I remember it was around 30 bucks. I had the same experience, and it is harder to read now. The manufacturer never returned a single e-mail (several) I wrote about it. I finally just gave up, and I ware my best glasses now to read it.
Rn
Dec 09, 2012, 06:31 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake8131
Did you push the little black button on the left back on the circuit board? Hold for 5 secs and then let go..binds to the tx then.
Yup- have been pressing the bind button, still no 2nd LED and won't work with the anylink. And the stock RTF transmitter won't communicate with it now either. Bizarre.
Dec 09, 2012, 06:36 AM
Gravity impaired
jrjr's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seasiderht
Yup- have been pressing the bind button, still no 2nd LED and won't work with the anylink. And the stock RTF transmitter won't communicate with it now either. Bizarre.
I have set up a few of these and none of them would bind on the first try. Took several attempts.
Dec 09, 2012, 06:44 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrjr
I have set up a few of these and none of them would bind on the first try. Took several attempts.
Thanks JRJR- do you recall, is the 2nd LED dark until it binds? Usually if it doesn't see a radio it will blink. The 2nd LED has completely stopped lighting at all. Trying to get a sense of whether it's an issue with binding or I've got a problem with the PCB. Thanks again.
Last edited by Seasiderht; Dec 09, 2012 at 07:44 AM.
Dec 09, 2012, 07:16 AM
Registered User
muck76's Avatar
Any ideas what to put on the board to seal it from snow? I know its an odd question.
Reality is, I fly this bird better outside. I was last night and just happen to have the lipo die right above some snow on the ground. Well the snow caused the board to not work until it dried offm I've used PB Blast garage door spray on my land RC to help repell water. Do you think this would work?
Dec 09, 2012, 07:20 AM
Registered User
MassiveOverkill's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by muck76
Any ideas what to put on the board to seal it from snow? I know its an odd question.
Reality is, I fly this bird better outside. I was last night and just happen to have the lipo die right above some snow on the ground. Well the snow caused the board to not work until it dried offm I've used PB Blast garage door spray on my land RC to help repell water. Do you think this would work?
Corrosion X (douse the whole quad except canopy and blades as it will protect anything electrical including LED circuitry and the motors). I would say followed up with dip of the RX board in Plasti-Dip but I'm afraid of the Plasti-Dip possibly causing the MOSFETS to overheat in summertime.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Heli-Max 480 4300kV High Perf Brushless Heli Motor boots.isa Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Jul 22, 2012 10:02 PM
Discussion New Release Heli-Max Novus FP 200 Heli Gym Flight wnppmy Beginner Training Area (Heli-Electric) 20 May 30, 2012 07:40 PM
Sold Heli-Max Blade Balancer/COG $12 SOLD themadhatter196 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Feb 28, 2012 08:23 PM
Sold Heli-Max Novus CP Clavin01 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 6 Feb 24, 2012 03:55 PM
Sold 4 Heli-Max Helis (2) Heli-Max Novus Huey 1-D Coax & (2) Helix-Max Novus FP 125 Sea Planes Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 3 Oct 17, 2011 06:01 PM