Old Sep 10, 2012, 01:21 PM
Find More Posts by TranquilityEden
Discussion

RC tank electronic advice needed please!

Hello all,

I am a new member to your forum and am also very new to the RC world, infact I have never owned a rc vehicle since my friend managed to lose my (relativly cheap) rc helecopter in a river on its maiden flight

I am a teacher and this year have been asked to run a Design and Technology course for 12 year olds. I have decided to run a course looking at and then eventually designing a space rover. One part of the project uses a piece of software called Flowol 4 which in essence is a very simple graphical programming software. The benifit of this software is that it comes with a control box that is able to have external inputs and run outputs such as motors. I want the pupils to write a program to control a rc tank that I have bourght. I didn't really know what I was buying... which was a silly mistake but was on a deadline from the head of the school. I have bourght a Oversize 1/12 Scale Abrams M1A2 Radio Remote Control RC Battle Tank.

The advice I am hoping for is on how I should get the control box to comunicate with the vehicle. I was thinking of opening the remote control unit and connecting the Flowol control box to the controls so that 1 output would move the tank forward, another to move it backwards, one to turn left and one to turn right. The result I hope should be that the pupils could design a program using delays and turning outputs on and off to navigate the tank around a simple obstical course.

Link to control box info I have the newest model of the box (the one at the top of the page) (Features: • 6 x Volt Digital Outputs • 4 x Additional Reversing 6V Motor Outputs • 6 x Digital Inputs • 4 x Analogue Inputs • USB Connection • Low Voltage 1.2A mains power supply.)