Thread Tools
Nov 06, 2014, 07:00 AM
IceManPro's Avatar
The servos look to be digital so the PWM setting should be fine at 10ms. As a test you can try to change this to 15 to see if it makes any difference. Can you also separate the gyro from the aircraft to check if vibration is a factor? Are you mounting the gyro on some sort of foam anti-vibration mounting?
Latest blog entry: BL-3G Independent review
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 07, 2014, 12:59 AM
Registered User
jacojet's Avatar
I have changed the settings without any improvement, I also isolated the gyro by removing it from the aircraft and just holding it by hand. It is a turbine aircraft, so vibration is minimal. I also noticed that the surfaces would twitch every 20 sec or so even with the gyro off. I am using a powerbox evolution, so the the gyro is between the rx and the inputs of the powerbox. I am using 2 6.6v life batt connected to the powerbox. BTW the gyro is mounted on two sided foam tape about a millimeter thick.
Nov 07, 2014, 11:49 AM
IceManPro's Avatar
ok, so the gyro is getting 6.6v input right? Some amount of twitching is normal. You can also increase the level of averaging if you like - from the prof 2 tab page (centre) but this will slow down the speed at which the gyro can react to changes needed.
Latest blog entry: BL-3G Independent review
Nov 11, 2014, 01:52 PM
Registered User
jacojet's Avatar
Hi, sorry for being absent for a while! The power is regulated at 5.8 volts. I am afraid the amount of twitching is quite a lot and will surely cause the aircraft to move in the most unexpected manner! I will not risk the jet by flying it under these conditions. I have replaced the ice-man with a eagle tree guardian for now, but will be trying the ice-man in a less expensive aircraft first. If I should re-mount the ice-man in this jet and it behaves the same, I will make some video and show you what it looks like. Maybe then you will be more able to make suggestions. Thanks for the advice and support so far!
Nov 12, 2014, 04:15 AM
IceManPro's Avatar
Does the deflection issue occur on all servos? If on all, at the same time? Can you see if the jittering happens at 5v? And do you have the most up to date f/w installed?
Latest blog entry: BL-3G Independent review
Nov 12, 2014, 02:52 PM
Registered User
jacojet's Avatar
Hi Ice-man, the deflection occur on the servos connected to the gyro, and at the same time, the flaps and retract servo does not move. It is very weird that the deflection only occurs when the turbine is running? There is some twitching every 20 or so seconds when the turbine is not running, but with it running the servos goes crazy! The voltage is regulated at 5.8 volts, not sure if I can change it.
Feb 18, 2015, 01:08 PM
Registered User
Go4it's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacojet
Hi Ice-man, the deflection occur on the servos connected to the gyro, and at the same time, the flaps and retract servo does not move. It is very weird that the deflection only occurs when the turbine is running? There is some twitching every 20 or so seconds when the turbine is not running, but with it running the servos goes crazy! The voltage is regulated at 5.8 volts, not sure if I can change it.
So I have following this thread. What happen with the servos problem with the voltage. LAst posted Nov 2014 and now it is Feb 2015. What happen to the problem??
Does the ICEMAN gyro not work and was replaced by another gyro system or is the problem fixed.
Apr 04, 2015, 05:10 AM
IceManPro's Avatar
Ice man gyro has been working in many many applications. It is specifically suited to RC aircraft of any type, and can also control multi-copter. It has been in production a few years now and is regularly updated with new software. We have many happy customers. Many of whom are repeat buyers. If you have any issues that are not answered here please write to us directly for the fastest response via our info ID. Thanks.
Latest blog entry: BL-3G Independent review
May 12, 2015, 09:07 AM
Registered User
Eury's Avatar
I've had one in my 3DHS Bigfoot since last year. No huge complaints with it. It certainly hasn't been "regularly updated with new software", the last update was April of 2014. Anything new going on? How about an update to allow single line input like sBus, EXBus, PPM, or UDI? It'd certainly clean up the wiring.
May 12, 2015, 10:32 AM
Registered User
Go4it's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncrego
I've had one in my 3DHS Bigfoot since last year. No huge complaints with it. It certainly hasn't been "regularly updated with new software", the last update was April of 2014. Anything new going on? How about an update to allow single line input like sBus, EXBus, PPM, or UDI? It'd certainly clean up the wiring.

What firmware is the latest version
May 13, 2015, 07:59 AM
IceManPro's Avatar
The latest version is still 3.4 (but we do have a 3.5 with support additional support for heading hold. ie a release that re-enters HH once the RC sticks are again centralized. (Only for the Yaw). You can download it along with the code word from here

Regarding updates there will be a major change coming likely next year but I'm not in a position to detail anything yet (sorry to be cryptic).
Latest blog entry: BL-3G Independent review
Jun 16, 2015, 03:58 AM
Registered User
I'm new to using the BL-3G gyro, although I have several Eagle Tree Guardians and on PowerBox iGyro SRS. So I thought I would give the BL-3G a go.

I set this up on a low wing 40 size sport model and found the roll rate with the gyro on to be far less than without, so the airplane was very stable but too docile

I've scoured the manual and this thread and watched the BlueLight videos, but I can't find out what sets the angular rate when in rate mode. So in rate mode the manual clearly says that the sticks' movement demands a given rotation rate about the relevant axis, but how is the stick deflection translated to that rate? E.g. for the ailerons/roll axis what roll rate does 100% PWM output try to achieve?

Can anyone help please?

Dave
Last edited by ogg2000; Jun 16, 2015 at 06:40 AM.
Jun 16, 2015, 10:00 AM
IceManPro's Avatar
Hi Dave, the rate is set by changing the sensitivity value on the prof 1 tab page. ie X (pitch) input sensitivity for the pitch (nominally set to 1.3). Reduce the value for lower rate.
Latest blog entry: BL-3G Independent review
Jun 16, 2015, 11:01 AM
Registered User
Thanks for the quick reply. So does the input sensitivity, with or without other values, translate to a rate or is it just a scaling factor? It would be useful to know exactly how sensitive the inputs are going to be. Assuming an aircraft is capable at max throws a value of 1 - 1.5 rotations/sec, at least on the roll axis would seems a good figure.

Dave
Jun 16, 2015, 11:13 AM
IceManPro's Avatar
It is directly related to the rate. There is an internal PID controller (actually PD since normally I is zero). When the actual rate is achieved the PID controller works to maintain it. We don't actually calculate the rate in absolute terms.
Latest blog entry: BL-3G Independent review


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion GPS - - Blue light off after 10 mins part141 Aerial Photography 11 Aug 09, 2012 11:54 PM
Help! Optima 9 RX blue LED won't light edge_pilot Hitec/Multiplex USA 6 Jul 15, 2012 06:34 PM
Gallery Cinestar 8 Gimbal Stability Test and Canon 7D low light test with the Tokina 11-16 HeliVids Aerial Photography 0 Jun 13, 2012 07:45 AM
Discussion GPS not working (blue light only blinks once) DesertDrones FPV Talk 3 Jun 12, 2012 10:37 PM