Nov 22, 2003, 11:58 AM
Thread OP

A Pete Rake 400 size SE5a

Another favourite gets the Pete Rake treatment, drawn up into a easy to follow plan without complications yet retaining that air of scale like outline.
Please remember I'm fairly new to this lark with each build being that next step forward for me.

Righty-ho, lets get down to it.

Plan; the usual Pete job, no nasty surprises easy to follow, eyes down look in.

I went with tradition and started off with the wings first.

Images following
to remove ads between posts
Nov 22, 2003, 12:22 PM
Thread OP

image1

Setting up for wing assembly
Nov 22, 2003, 12:24 PM
Thread OP

ribs a plenty

ribs all cut
Last edited by sparkinwheels; Nov 22, 2003 at 12:38 PM.
Nov 22, 2003, 12:34 PM
Thread OP

root ribs lower wing

I built the lower wings as one complete wing then side cut the root ribs on the inside over the back spar. this allowed for bending the rear outwards for root te shape, as seen in the image attached.

The wings were just joined by the over long spars so once all was dry lift off the plan and saw the spars at the centre. Its then down to trimming,sanding and planing but above all else I have two mirrored wing panels.
Nov 22, 2003, 12:37 PM
Thread OP

Fuselage

Formers cutting
Nov 22, 2003, 12:44 PM
Thread OP

while at the formers

Cutting an extra former I set to with a mind to get some sort of cockpit detail, probably off size but it were fun and I only had to take 2 days at it, ( loss of feeling in my fingers!).
Nov 22, 2003, 12:48 PM
Thread OP

tail seat

More bits before starting on the fuselage. This time the tail seat, I like to do it like this cause it makes for an easier matching seating slot.
Nov 22, 2003, 01:25 PM
Gambler-AG DLG Designer
So far looks great! Keep the photos coming!
Nov 22, 2003, 02:25 PM
Thread OP

fuselage

Now on the rear of fuselage, I prefer to build one then fold over the plastic so that I can build number 2 directly over No.1. If you catch waht I means.