Aug 17, 2012, 12:21 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Question on Landing a Warbird

I have a question regarding landing a warbird on my ‘runway’. To begin, I’m fairly new at this having only started flying a couple months ago. My first plane was an Apprentice which I’ve managed to fly dozens of times without incedent. I also have a Cessna 182 55” wingspan and a FMS Sky Trainer of similar size. I fly right in my own back yard using my neighbors paved driveway as my runway. It’s about 400 feet long with 50 foot trees at one end and a hill of about 50 feet with more 50’trees on the hill at the other end. The end with the hill is where I come in from for landing as the other end goes out to a highway with power lines running across. I’m able to land all three planes pretty well but the driveway is only about 7-8 feet wide and does make it challenging especially if there’s any crosswind. . I have yet to crash any of my planes, thankfully. Have had a couple of nose-overs when going off the runway as there’s rather thick high grass/ rocks on either side. I got the Sky Trainer to practice with flaps and now have on order a FMS P-51D Mustang 1450 mm wingspan and the Durafly T-28 Trojan 1100mm wingspan. My question is whether it’s reasonable for me to expect to be able to land these birds as I’m doing now, especially for the P-51 as it’s a tail dragger and I don’t have much width of runway to play with? Would love to hear your thoughts on this.
to remove ads between posts
Aug 17, 2012, 01:08 PM
DFC~ We Do Flyin' Right
With your background and foundation, I would think you are plenty capable of flying many more birds, including the ones you suggested.