Aug 13, 2012, 04:59 AM
Mr Happy
Build Log

Springer RC Boat Rescue Tug

At the first Nirvana National Regatta in May, I used my purpose built Springer Rescue boat to set and retrieve race bouys and as an unneeded but standby rescue assistant. I was asked for a build log by some of the attending clubs and I promised one in a month or so. Two months late, here it is.
I am new to RC and scratch building, so I started by building a couple of plywood footy sailboats and then tackled the Springer, first reading the entire Dock Talk Springer thread and collecting relevant PDFs and ideas. I urge anyone doing a first Springer build to do the same.
Many thanks to the postings of Umi, Arrow5, Toesup, WoodyBob, Aerominded, Bill Harris and many others that have posted since May '06, and especially Ken Riley and the NWRCSM for starting the Springer. This boat is a true Springer, but not a scale boat, since it was intended for boat rescue and to be a 'legal' polo boat.
The format I am using is captioned photos of major and slightly unique steps, with emphasis on some things not detailed in the main thread which left me head scratching as a modeling newby.
The wood used was 5mm and 1/4" luan and oak ply and 3/4" oak flooring lay abouts from previous home projects. Epoxy, 30 min, and medium CA were the glues and coatings. Various rattle can paints, all same brand, for primer and finish coats and workshop cans and bigbox hardware store skinny drawers for the hardware. Please ask any question on the Springer Thread https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=522762 to get the benefit of answers from many experienced builders. The pictures will be in groups over the next week. Pictures in the build log are not all in chronological build order, but grouped by build subject. Please read through the whole log and then start your building project.
Last edited by jppom; Aug 17, 2012 at 01:51 AM. Reason: Recommend reading whole log before starting.
to remove ads between posts