Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Nov 25, 2012, 12:42 AM
fastfwd is offline
Find More Posts by fastfwd
Registered User
video of today's first flight, did some fly by,s and some full power climbs, i believe if i hadn't shut the climb down it would go out of site im uploading the pure stupidity video and will post soon
VTS 01 1 (5 min 41 sec)
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 25, 2012, 01:07 AM
G-LO is offline
Find More Posts by G-LO
Registered User
G-LO's Avatar
That was absolutely enjoyable Fastfwd! I'm puttin that same motor in my plane tomorrow for sure! I don't want a rocket, but I definitely want that.

You sure you want to post that "other" video?
Old Nov 25, 2012, 01:16 AM
fastfwd is offline
Find More Posts by fastfwd
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-LO View Post
That was absolutely enjoyable Fastfwd! I'm puttin that same motor in my plane tomorrow for sure! I don't want a rocket, but I definitely want that.

You sure you want to post that "other" video?
LOL yes im going to post it in the hope others wont do the same stupid thing
Old Nov 25, 2012, 02:02 AM
fastfwd is offline
Find More Posts by fastfwd
Registered User
okay here is dumb and dumber. ALWAYS do a pre flight control check,forgot to switch back to SSS on TX,did not do control check and up elevator was down, nosed right into the dirt, all fixed and ready for another fight err flight ...
VTS 01 0 (1 min 43 sec)
Old Nov 25, 2012, 03:11 AM
G-LO is offline
Find More Posts by G-LO
Registered User
G-LO's Avatar
...... that hurt×#°
Old Nov 25, 2012, 08:48 AM
onewire is offline
Find More Posts by onewire
Registered User
onewire's Avatar
@Little Acorn

You flying today? Thinking about taking a drive up that way to see the SSS in person. Got my Addy and Katana mini loaded in the car. Might as well bring my EZ Rocket and get some video of that area, too.I don't recognize that park from your photos.
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:53 AM
Little-Acorn is offline
Find More Posts by Little-Acorn
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by onewire View Post
@Little Acorn

You flying today? Thinking about taking a drive up that way to see the SSS in person. Got my Addy and Katana mini loaded in the car. Might as well bring my EZ Rocket and get some video of that area, too.I don't recognize that park from your photos.
Have a tentative appointment at noon in Pt. Loma, but may yet get out today, possibly before it. The photos showed Mesa Verde Middle School, which has a soccer field surrounded by a thin track surrounded by skimpy lawns, zero obstructions, and even a leeward approach. It's bigger and less windy than Hilltop Park where I usually fly.

Did you have a certain time you were thinking of coming up? Be great to get together!
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:03 AM
Little-Acorn is offline
Find More Posts by Little-Acorn
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastfwd View Post
okay here is dumb and dumber. ALWAYS do a pre flight control check,forgot to switch back to SSS on TX,did not do control check and up elevator was down, nosed right into the dirt, all fixed and ready for another fight err flight ...
Good to hear it was fixable, and now fixed! When's the re-maiden?

Something to be said for having a separate transmitter for each plane after all. Although I don't, either, of course ...but I set up all my planes the same way so they all use the same transmitter memory, precisely for that reason. Do have a couple of separate TXs, so my 14yr son can fly too, and since the Champs come with their own, and because Champ 4 (ailerons, 2s battery, and of course larger motor ) uses DSM.
Old Nov 25, 2012, 01:31 PM
ariveroll is offline
Find More Posts by ariveroll
Registered User
Can anyone post their flap/elevator mix setups?
Old Nov 25, 2012, 03:18 PM
Gordks is offline
Find More Posts by Gordks
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rclab1 View Post
Wow,
wing loading is 7.86!....thats a floater for sure?

am I correct?
For sure! Landings were real long until I got used to it.

Gord
Old Nov 25, 2012, 03:57 PM
fastfwd is offline
Find More Posts by fastfwd
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Little-Acorn View Post
Good to hear it was fixable, and now fixed! When's the re-maiden?

Something to be said for having a separate transmitter for each plane after all. Although I don't, either, of course ...but I set up all my planes the same way so they all use the same transmitter memory, precisely for that reason. Do have a couple of separate TXs, so my 14yr son can fly too, and since the Champs come with their own, and because Champ 4 (ailerons, 2s battery, and of course larger motor ) uses DSM.
yea i read some where that the dx spectrum tx has an alarm or something to warn you if you have wrong model selected
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:55 AM
onewire is offline
Find More Posts by onewire
Registered User
onewire's Avatar
@fastforward:

The DX6i and up have model memories which the Rxs bind to. If the wrong memory location is selected the Rx won't see it and the ESC won't arm. No alarm, per se (the ESC might beep, but that's a funtion of the ESC). It just won't respond to inputs.

@Little-Acorn:

I got side-tracked and by the time I read your response it was too late, as you had the noon appt and the wind was picking up. I ended up not flying. 4 day weekend and only flew Saturday. I'll PM you and maybe we can set up something for next weekend. I'd really like to see if it'd fit in my car without disassembly and I can't get a handle on how massive it seems on paper. I have my Radian Pro assembled and hangared in my car (Ford Transit Connect) up high cuz it was easier than taking her in and out, but the SSS is much larger. I'm also interested in just how much runway is needed to land. With crow I'd think it could be fairly short. I'd like to make it a gyro-stabilized camera platform.
Last edited by onewire; Nov 26, 2012 at 09:06 AM. Reason: Typos, spelling, grammar. It's early.
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:34 AM
G-LO is offline
Find More Posts by G-LO
Registered User
G-LO's Avatar
Onewire, can you crow on Y connectors and with a DX6i?
Old Nov 26, 2012, 12:01 PM
chanyote66 is offline
Find More Posts by chanyote66
Mobius Cables... I got em'
chanyote66's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-LO View Post
Onewire, can you crow on Y connectors and with a DX6i?
Yes and no...

you could use a y on the flaps but not on the ailerons. you would have to setup a mix...

I use ER9x so its below:

Ch1:AIL1
CH5: AIL2
CH6: Flap

Then I mix:

CH1
--AIL 80%
--FULL 40% SW1
CH5
--AIL 80%
--FULL -40% SW1
CH6
--FULL 40% FLP Switch
--FULL -40% SW1

I am using flaperons+ailerons+crow with stabilization and autopilot so my actual mixes are a nightmare, but those are the basics without all the fancy stuff. (I dont use a Y on either one)

Chris
Old Nov 26, 2012, 12:27 PM
G-LO is offline
Find More Posts by G-LO
Registered User
G-LO's Avatar
Gee, thanks Chanyote!

Ok, being I'm not familiar with that receiver, I can say- of course - that you're using a 9 and not a 6 channel rx? Correct? I might be answering my own question but, it may be best to use a more than 6 channel rx if you want your plane to do more stuff like "crow"?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Banana Hobby BlitzRCWorks Sky Surfer JoshB Electric Plane Talk 12 Feb 15, 2012 12:01 AM
Found Looking for BlitzRCWorks Sky Surfer Airframe Only or Wing Set cutty01 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Aug 16, 2010 04:16 PM
Discussion BlitzRCWorks Sky Surfer Aerobatic Flench Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 4 Feb 13, 2010 04:17 PM
Discussion sky surfer powered parachute $29.95 w/ Free shipping interplanet Hot Online Deals 26 Dec 30, 2008 11:58 PM