Anyway to revive NiCads that have sat around too long? - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Nov 18, 2003, 04:22 PM
Registered User
Question

Anyway to revive NiCads that have sat around too long?


I have a 32-cell NiCad pack that I haven't used in about 8 months. When I plug it into my Orbit charger, the charger doesn't even recognize it is there--it says "waiting for Nicads" or something of that sort. Is this pack beyond help or is there some way of restoring a charge?

Thanks!
- Don
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 18, 2003, 05:06 PM
Registered User
Xnaron's Avatar
Try using a "dumb" charger that doesn't require seeing a voltage to calculate the charge rate/voltage.

Brendin
Nov 18, 2003, 08:20 PM
Our Daddy and Heli Junkie
Fred Bronk's Avatar
Waiting for nicads (or any cell) means there is an open circut. There should be some power even after sitting for some time.

Do an "easycharge" at the lowest setting to bring the cells up to a voltage the charger can read.

Then cycle it a few times.


Moving to Batteries and Chargers.

FB
Nov 19, 2003, 06:32 AM
Registered User
Thanks guys, that did the trick!
Nov 19, 2003, 10:13 AM
Registered User
Xnaron's Avatar
What worked?
Nov 19, 2003, 04:15 PM
Registered User
I pumped a little juice into them for about 5 minutes with a dumb charger like you suggested. Then I used "Easy charge" to charge them all the way up. I am also cycling them right now and everything seems to be OK so far.
Nov 19, 2003, 04:18 PM
Registered User
Xnaron's Avatar
I have had success with this method as well. I have an Orbit charger too and it seems to look for a certain amount of voltage from the cell. If the voltage is very very low the orbit won't see it.

Brendin
Nov 19, 2003, 05:15 PM
Registered User
Andy W's Avatar
.. the reason I keep my old 335 around!
..a
Nov 20, 2003, 04:33 AM
Registered User
Frank B's Avatar
I know this is a little off topic, but what plane do you fly with a 32-cell pack? That's big.
Nov 20, 2003, 08:18 AM
Registered User
The 32-cell pack is for my Joker, it's a helicopter.
Nov 20, 2003, 06:26 PM
Registered User
rscamp's Avatar
Reflex mode is less fussy about the health of the pack. Formatting is even less fussy, but if your pack doesn't have enough voltage the charger won't recognize it is connected to a battery and won't start.

If you are sure you don't have an open circuit, you can force the Orbit to charge by pressing all three buttons simultaneously. You can connect the Orbit to a brick (well, okay maybe a power resistor) and it will try to charge it.

Rob
Nov 21, 2003, 12:36 PM
Registered User
Thanks, Rob, that's good to know!