Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Dec 26, 2012, 12:57 AM
rcguy59 is offline
Find More Posts by rcguy59
Registered User
Just made up a set of male-male leads so I could check my V2 that arrived yesterday. The ailerons are STILL not as they should be, identical in fact to the V1. The aux. channel feature works, and this, along with elevon support was what I was most interested in. Looks like we'll have to keep those y-cords handy. The V2 is also a fair amount smaller than the V1.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 26, 2012, 01:22 AM
hendrnk is offline
Find More Posts by hendrnk
An Aussie in Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by signflyer View Post
Can someone with a v2 unit attest to the aileron issue? With the v1 units, you must use a splitter to use dual aileron servos. Is this still the case?
Yes you do. There is 2 ports for Ailerons L & R, but they move the same way so you need to use a splitter cable.
Old Dec 26, 2012, 08:37 AM
signflyer is offline
Find More Posts by signflyer
2^p - 1
signflyer's Avatar
Thanks Hendrnk. I really wish they had fixed this, it would be nice to use flaperons.
Old Dec 26, 2012, 10:48 AM
SkyCadet is offline
Find More Posts by SkyCadet
Segelfliegen bedeutet Freiheit
SkyCadet's Avatar
Why DO these two not run differentially? Is not that the intent?

It does not affect my immediate application, but seems illogical.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: New plane - Evader!!!
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:52 AM
signflyer is offline
Find More Posts by signflyer
2^p - 1
signflyer's Avatar
Nobody know the answer to that. Seems like an easy fix, maybe something noobee can fix with firmware??
Old Dec 26, 2012, 12:36 PM
chewytm is offline
Find More Posts by chewytm
Registered User
Unless you have two input for the ailerons, then having 2 output for the ailerons is useless. It still will NOT give you flapperons/spoilerons

chewy
Old Dec 26, 2012, 03:12 PM
Minimog is offline
Find More Posts by Minimog
Registered User
I'd like to see 2 aileron inputs on V3 and it would be awesome to get remote gain control even though it would require 3 separate channels to do so.
Old Dec 26, 2012, 03:24 PM
ckleanth is offline
Find More Posts by ckleanth
If it has wings it will fly...
ckleanth's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by chewytm View Post
Unless you have two input for the ailerons, then having 2 output for the ailerons is useless. It still will NOT give you flapperons/spoilerons

chewy
Have a read
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=955
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:13 PM
signflyer is offline
Find More Posts by signflyer
2^p - 1
signflyer's Avatar
Yes, but this is not what we are discussing. The problem is that the stabilizer 'corrects' both ailerons in the same direction. Many of us have tried all sorts of reversing in the TX and on the unit, but there is no way to utilize both aileron outputs (even with two input).

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewytm View Post
Unless you have two input for the ailerons, then having 2 output for the ailerons is useless. It still will NOT give you flapperons/spoilerons

chewy
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:32 PM
ckleanth is offline
Find More Posts by ckleanth
If it has wings it will fly...
ckleanth's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by signflyer View Post
Yes, but this is not what we are discussing. The problem is that the stabilizer 'corrects' both ailerons in the same direction. Many of us have tried all sorts of reversing in the TX and on the unit, but there is no way to utilize both aileron outputs (even with two input).
this is probably due to the original (can I say lame) programming. if we utilise the dip switches to define what mode we are in, then for the flaperons mode we treat L AIL and R AIL signal independendly and then what comes out is the L AIL -gain pulse change and R AIL respectevly + gain pulse change. you need to do your mixing on the tx for flaperons, but it can be done
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:32 PM
Minimog is offline
Find More Posts by Minimog
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by signflyer View Post
Yes, but this is not what we are discussing. The problem is that the stabilizer 'corrects' both ailerons in the same direction. Many of us have tried all sorts of reversing in the TX and on the unit, but there is no way to utilize both aileron outputs (even with two input).
If you had 2 inputs it would be no issue to simply reverse in your transmitter, no reversing will work right now with the single aileron input. Only way of doing it would be using a servo reverser or with a programmable servo (reversing the rotation direction like on hyperion servos)
Old Dec 26, 2012, 08:05 PM
signflyer is offline
Find More Posts by signflyer
2^p - 1
signflyer's Avatar
I see what you are saying now. Chewytm was also correct.
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:47 PM
omnivorr is offline
Find More Posts by omnivorr
Registered User
I'm not following this aileron prob.. if the two outputs are identical, then no prob, same as y-cable...... so are you telling me that L and R aileron outputs are one the reverse of the other ??
Old Dec 27, 2012, 02:14 AM
hendrnk is offline
Find More Posts by hendrnk
An Aussie in Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by omnivorr View Post
I'm not following this aileron prob.. if the two outputs are identical, then no prob, same as y-cable...... so are you telling me that L and R aileron outputs are one the reverse of the other ??
Yes they are.

I will try the Delta dip switch in the morning and see if that makes a difference.
Last edited by hendrnk; Dec 27, 2012 at 02:20 AM.
Old Dec 27, 2012, 03:56 AM
chewytm is offline
Find More Posts by chewytm
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckleanth View Post
Yes, adding more hardware (cabling etc) will work, but that involves a hardware hack. A lot of people are up to it, but it is not possible without an additional aileron input.

chewy


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 3 axis stabilizer by HK Early Electric Plane Talk 17 Nov 18, 2012 03:11 PM
New Product OrangeRX 3-Axis Flight Stabilizer 14g (advertised) nemoskull Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 7 Sep 21, 2012 10:50 PM
Discussion Eagle A3 Aeroplane Fixed-wing Micro Flight Controller Board W/ MEMS 3-axis gyro eyeinsky1 Aerial Photography 3 Jun 06, 2012 04:38 PM
Sold CPD-4 Co-Pilot 2 axis flight stabilization system ecampos FPV Equipment (FS/W) 6 Oct 26, 2011 02:34 PM
Discussion ******* 3 axis gyro stabilized video gimbal powerblimp Aerial Photography 10 Feb 23, 2006 07:00 AM