OrangeRX 3-Axis Flight Stabilizer - Page 60 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Dec 17, 2012, 08:47 AM
Registered User
flypaper 2's Avatar
I used both ail. outputs by flipping one ail servo over so both outputs are facing left. No jittering unless I crank up the sensitivity too far.

Gord.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 18, 2012, 07:23 AM
Registered User

Part 2 or HK 3-Axis Stabilizer Reveiw


Hooking up and testing,

HobbyKing RX3S OrangeRX 3-Axis Flight Stabilizer V2 (V-tail/Delta/AUX) Part 2 (20 min 43 sec)
Dec 18, 2012, 12:11 PM
Registered User
Thank you David for the two videos. Saved me a lot of time!
Dec 18, 2012, 03:29 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by beto9
Thank you David for the two videos. Saved me a lot of time!
Glad I can help!
Dec 18, 2012, 06:01 PM
2^p - 1
signflyer's Avatar
Anyone have a couple they want to sell? I've decided that I really like them V1 or V2 doesn't matter to me. I would also need 2 more of the 10cm male to male adapters.
Dec 18, 2012, 07:00 PM
Registered User
Good video David.merc :-)

I have some inputs though.

Gyros don't like vibrations, so if you want a good result mount them with gyro tape and not Velcro. There's a thing called zeal tape, it's a green gel type tape that's a out a 1/4 to 3/8 thick.

Also reminding everybody to trim their airplanes mechanically before installing this system.

When doing your testing start with a low gain and move up until you get oscillation, then back off a little until it's gone. Run as high a gain as you can for best results.

Gyros like fast servos, so even though it will work with analog servos I believe the best result will be achieved with faster digital ones. To achieve higher gain levels you will have to have both, as little vibes as possible (and gyro tape that will dampen the rest) and fast servos.
Dec 18, 2012, 09:00 PM
Registered User
Weed89's Avatar
Thanks Dave...still waiting for mine to arrive...so now I will know how to use it
Dec 19, 2012, 04:36 AM
Registered User
Terry Rigden's Avatar
could somebody please explain about trimming the model before adding the gyro

If my understanding of the way these things work is correct then they respond to rotation so having the servos off their centre should not affect the gyro operation. Have I missed something ?

I know how to trim an aeroplane and often adjust it to suit conditions ie more down trim on a windy day or adding down trim when landing through a turbulent zone. Adding a few clicks on the rudder to hold a thermal are all things I do routinely

Is it OK to use subtrims when doing the set up?

or having some trim in permanently

Do we have to set each gyro controlled channel at 1.56 ms ? (servo centre)
if so why ?

The servos on my model are not at the centre of their travel at neutral stick input as I have both sub trim and conventional trim dialed in. Is this why the gyro has slowed them down and caused a drop in servo resolution ?.


Thanks terry
Dec 19, 2012, 06:46 AM
Registered User
flypaper 2's Avatar
I use a few clicks of trim and subtrim with no noticeable affect.

Gord.
Dec 19, 2012, 07:51 AM
Registered User
Minimog,

Good point re not mounting the gyro with velcro. What about thick double-sided sticky tape, like the kind used for mounting pictures and servos? Maybe several thicknesses? Where do you get gyro tape or green zeal tape?

Jim R.
Dec 19, 2012, 08:22 AM
Life begins at transition
On helis I use double sided foam tape, about 2mm thick.
I've seen a few installs using foam tape, aluminium plate, foam tape, gyro.

Avoid using too much - it may allow the gyro to twist around indepedantly of the aircraft! (small amounts of course, but it will affect the controls)
Dec 19, 2012, 08:56 AM
Registered User
flypaper 2's Avatar
I velcroed the gyro to the bottom of the fuse, with another velcro strap completely around the gyro. It doesn't move in any direction.

Gord.
Dec 19, 2012, 09:07 AM
Bombs away!!!
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
I built a box out of aircraft ply the same size as the gyro which is mounted to the airframe and velcro the gyro inside. No problems so far. one end is open so I can pull it out.
Dec 19, 2012, 10:07 AM
Bruno, GOOD DOG
A Rdnek's Avatar
I use these pads. I cut them in pieces and use whatever I need.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXMYH2&P=7
They have worked great for me.
Rn
Dec 19, 2012, 10:19 AM
Registered User
Bill0's Avatar
I use scotch indoor, outdoor mounting tape. It can be bought at Lowe's or Home Depot. It is very sticky and has a small amount of cushion to it too. I have the gyro mounted to a slow stick with just the mounting tape to the 10mm stick. No velcro or anything else, plus it's mounted upside down on the bottom of the stick.

It takes some effort to get it back off.

If your wondering why a slow stick, it's my test plane for everything.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 3 axis stabilizer by HK Early Electric Plane Talk 17 Nov 18, 2012 03:11 PM
New Product OrangeRX 3-Axis Flight Stabilizer 14g (advertised) nemoskull Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 7 Sep 21, 2012 10:50 PM
Discussion Eagle A3 Aeroplane Fixed-wing Micro Flight Controller Board W/ MEMS 3-axis gyro eyeinsky1 Aerial Photography 3 Jun 06, 2012 04:38 PM
Sold CPD-4 Co-Pilot 2 axis flight stabilization system ecampos FPV Equipment (FS/W) 6 Oct 26, 2011 02:34 PM
Discussion ******* 3 axis gyro stabilized video gimbal powerblimp Aerial Photography 10 Feb 23, 2006 07:00 AM