Zero UAV YS-X6 [Owners Thread] *Autopilot system for multirotors* - Page 28 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Sep 02, 2012, 10:45 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by w2hef
There's no one here in Buffalo that knows anything about these quads... just basic RC stores that are amazed when i come in with one.

However, I was able to take my older Futaba PCM1024 T8UAF with channel 58 modules and hook it up. No problem... Instant channel alignment.

now working on vertical and horz and final steps.
That is great news. A least you are now in the starting blocks. It is not nice when you sometimes can't get past go.
Last edited by robone; Sep 02, 2012 at 10:54 AM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 02, 2012, 10:53 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre6553
My quad is very stable but i paying the price in weight 2.8kg with gimbal and gopro.

The results are i only get about 4min flight time on a nanotech 3s 4000mah bat

I want to build a hex or a octo to be able to lift the weight much more savely and i will swich over to 4s batt
Hi Andre...that flight time is not good. Have a look at the Vulcan Frame.

The Vulcan Octo 900 is 1153g and the Vulcan Hexa 900 is 957g. I can run a few calcs on eCalc for you to see your flight time.

Are you going to be looking at the RC Tiger MT2814-11 motors? Going for 4S will make a big difference.

Rob
Sep 02, 2012, 11:09 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre6553
My quad is very stable but i paying the price in weight 2.8kg with gimbal and gopro.

The results are i only get about 4min flight time on a nanotech 3s 4000mah bat

I want to build a hex or a octo to be able to lift the weight much more savely and i will swich over to 4s batt
This would give you the lift you need. It's my ZeroUAV rig, which I haven't flown yet do to various small problems like weather. It has two 6S 8000mAh batteries (1250g each) that together weight almost as much as your entire quad. No gimbal yet, but that is in the works.

I hope everyone will wish me good luck. I'm a little nervous as it probably weighs more than twice my next heaviest craft. And 800mm wheelbase seems sooo much bigger than 600mm.

Russ
Sep 02, 2012, 01:35 PM
All who wander are not lost
w2hef's Avatar
OK... i got the horizontal and vertical alignments done this morning...motors just armed... i'm getting close!
Sep 02, 2012, 04:01 PM
Down under under
rampa202,
That's one beast
Maiden over long grass.
Very long grass


w2hef,
Welcome to the party
Sep 02, 2012, 04:05 PM
All who wander are not lost
w2hef's Avatar
Thanks Mr_westie... i had my doubts... but it all was do to spektrum... i'm lucky i had that older futaba FM PCM radio....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_westie
rampa202,
That's one beast
Maiden over long grass.
Very long grass


w2hef,
Welcome to the party
Sep 02, 2012, 04:22 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rampa202
The Google Nexus 7 doesn't have any kind of built-in 3 or 4G capability, so no phone plan is needed. You can use it right out of the box, just like a laptop computer.

Russ
Thanks Russ,

I actually got the GCS working on my iphone and ipad! Couple a buggy things going on with it, but I wont blame the software just yet. I will spend more time with this before I know for sure.
Sep 02, 2012, 05:37 PM
Vulcan skyhook multirotor
Andre6553's Avatar
in the wind
ZeroUAV YSX6 (3 min 35 sec)
Sep 02, 2012, 06:04 PM
Vulcan skyhook multirotor
Andre6553's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by robone
Hi Andre...that flight time is not good. Have a look at the Vulcan Frame.

The Vulcan Octo 900 is 1153g and the Vulcan Hexa 900 is 957g. I can run a few calcs on eCalc for you to see your flight time.

Are you going to be looking at the RC Tiger MT2814-11 motors? Going for 4S will make a big difference.

Rob
Rob still using the avroto motors only nice thing about the tmotors is the long wires. I must add i left some power left , after my flight i still has 3,8 volts / cell left.
Sep 02, 2012, 07:04 PM
Registered User

YS-X6 & DX8 Preset Failsafe setup problem...


Hello all,

Ok here is my set up issue. I am trying to set up a failsafe so if my YS loses contact with my TX it will initiate the Preset Failsafe configuration.

YS manual recommends the "Back Landing" configuration which is Chan 5, pos 3 "auto hove" and Chan 6 pos 3 will initiate the "Back Landing" Flight mode.

In the DX8 manual pg 12, it says for Preset Failsafe you need to
1. Put bind plug into the bind/data port of the receiver, and see blinking light.
2. Remove the plug before binding to the TX.
3. Move transmitters control sticks and switches to desired position then turn it on in "bind mode".
4. It should bind in 15 seconds.

Here is my problem, when I turn on the DX8 in "bind mode" (which to me means holding down the trainer button when flipping the TX power button) with the sticks and switches configured for the "Back Landing" which is what I explained earlier, PLUS throttle at 45-50% (as recommended by ZEROUAV manual) the DX8 gives me the warnings that the throttle is too high, Flaps are down etc and doesn't bind.

Am I missing something here?

Can anyone offer an assist?

I will NOT test this thing until my failsafe is set up correctly.

Thank you!
Lo
Sep 02, 2012, 11:11 PM
ZeroUAV
ise2012's Avatar

it is a cool video


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre6553
hi , my friend .
it is a cool video , i like it . thank you for share to us .
Sep 03, 2012, 01:52 AM
Registered User
Salocin's Avatar
My little YS-X6 fatty is 5kg's. Twin 4s 5000mah give me just about 10 mins with 1150's.
Sep 03, 2012, 02:22 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre6553
LOL ... the YS-X6 and the motors are fighting you to get back
Sep 03, 2012, 08:39 AM
Registered User
hello,
Is anyone else having problems using the pc ground station? I've recently put my YS together. I had no problems connecting using the wifi link. But now i'm trying to do the compass calibration and the channel align.
The manual always referers to the iphone/android ground station and on the pc ground station the steps don't always line up! there are buttons on the phone apps that aren't in the pc setup.
In mag calibration i can get it to make circles but it's totally by luck, the best i got is to doted circles to lign up. I think it's to do with the sequence you do things! Has anyone else suceeded here?
When i do channel align, i can only ever get one channel to align properly. i'm using a 9x with frsky modules.
Anyhelp would be much appreciated, idont have a tablet or smart phone so the pc ground station is my only hope!
Thanks Tristan
Sep 03, 2012, 09:01 AM
Registered User
Ok i did the channel align- It seems it's about speed. Manuall says you got 5 seconds...i reckon it's less. After pushing "Yes" on channel align, i did all the extremes of my sticks very quickerly . And it's now perfectly aligned. I don't want to risk checking my theroy as it's now done!
now mag calibration....


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Drone Electronics 20305 Nov 18, 2017 12:48 AM
Discussion Zero UAV YS-X6 Owners Thread and Discussion fajar Multirotor Drone Electronics 2428 Mar 23, 2016 03:52 AM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Drone Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 07:50 AM
Discussion Groupbuy for YS-X6 system fajar Australia 14 May 15, 2012 05:35 AM