Thread Tools
Old Aug 25, 2012, 09:57 PM
dcoslet is offline
Find More Posts by dcoslet
Registered User
Hi All...

Anyone can advice how to calculate the "The Value" magnetic decline, examples
Latitude: 6 21 '21.1 "S
Longitude: 106 54 '5.5 "E
Magnetic declination: 0 46 'EAST
Declination is POSITIVE
Inclination: -31 8 '
Magnetic field strength: 44690.6 nT

Thx
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 25, 2012, 11:38 PM
Psionic001 is offline
Find More Posts by Psionic001
Psionic001's Avatar
This seems up to date,
http://magnetic-declination.com/
there are links to the formulas if you google them too.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dcoslet View Post
Hi All...

Anyone can advice how to calculate the "The Value" magnetic decline, examples
Latitude: 6 21 '21.1 "S
Longitude: 106 54 '5.5 "E
Magnetic declination: 0 46 'EAST
Declination is POSITIVE
Inclination: -31 8 '
Magnetic field strength: 44690.6 nT

Thx
RCG Plus Member
Old Aug 26, 2012, 07:28 AM
rojocinco is offline
Find More Posts by rojocinco
Registered User
Could the steady system to run in other frames like Hexa, Octo, from 3rd parts?
Old Aug 26, 2012, 05:46 PM
ovnilab is offline
Find More Posts by ovnilab
Registered User

Anyone get iphone/ipad GCS working?


Hi,

I just purchased everything a few days ago and now want to get the iphone and my ipad working. Anyone have success? If so can you post a step by step or even better a video?

Thanks!
Ern
Old Aug 27, 2012, 02:59 AM
Ramnes is offline
Find More Posts by Ramnes
Still flying
Ramnes's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcoslet View Post
Hi All...

Anyone can advice how to calculate the "The Value" magnetic decline, examples
Latitude: 6 21 '21.1 "S
Longitude: 106 54 '5.5 "E
Magnetic declination: 0 46 'EAST
Declination is POSITIVE
Inclination: -31 8 '
Magnetic field strength: 44690.6 nT

Thx
dcoslet
Can you please tell me if this is information which is good to have when buying the YS-X6.
I beleive it has something to do with the accuracy of a GPS position. Am i wrong?

Jorn
Old Aug 27, 2012, 03:21 AM
KariY is offline
Find More Posts by KariY
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnilab View Post
Hi,

I just purchased everything a few days ago and now want to get the iphone and my ipad working. Anyone have success? If so can you post a step by step or even better a video?

Thanks!
Ern
Have you checked manual? There is quite detailed instructions.
Old Aug 27, 2012, 01:24 PM
ovnilab is offline
Find More Posts by ovnilab
Registered User

Will pay $25.00 per hr for Skype help w/ X6


Hello,

Wow this router set up to communication with X6 is driving me crazy, I cant get it working!

I can pay you $25.00 USD per hour VIA Skype for help getting my router working and my communications to X6 working.

It's my last step to testing and flight but I am stuck after 6 wasted hours trying to get new router working etc.

Thanks,
Lo
Old Aug 27, 2012, 01:47 PM
w2hef is offline
Find More Posts by w2hef
All who wander are not lost
w2hef's Avatar
Will a simple USB to SERIAL MALE converter work to the PC? for firmware and setup?

And must it be powered? or can it get power from the USB or COM port?
Last edited by w2hef; Aug 27, 2012 at 01:59 PM.
Old Aug 27, 2012, 02:49 PM
robone is offline
Find More Posts by robone
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnilab View Post
Hello,

Wow this router set up to communication with X6 is driving me crazy, I cant get it working!

I can pay you $25.00 USD per hour VIA Skype for help getting my router working and my communications to X6 working.

It's my last step to testing and flight but I am stuck after 6 wasted hours trying to get new router working etc.

Thanks,
Lo
I am willing to try and help you, but I don't want your money. You say you are at your last step to getting everything working, and that is to set up the router. That is normally the first step. To get the communication going between your Tablet - Router - YS-X6.

So, why don't you start and tell us what you have done so far. By the way, where did you buy your system, as the dealer should be giving you some input.

Anyway, tell us what you have done. Take pics. Take pics of your router.

Have a look at my website http://multirotor.co.za/?page_id=964 and there is a detailed set up procedure. Read the manual. It is quite good.

Anyway, did you sort out the setup on your iphone?

Rob
Old Aug 27, 2012, 02:56 PM
robone is offline
Find More Posts by robone
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by w2hef View Post
Will a simple USB to SERIAL MALE converter work to the PC? for firmware and setup?

And must it be powered? or can it get power from the USB or COM port?
The USB to DB9 Serial cable can be connected to the cable supplied with the YS-X6 and it is used for the FW upgrade by connecting the cable to the COM1 port. To do the setup, you can connect the same cable to COM3 port. It does not need any external power source. The only requirement is that a Battery must be connected to the YS-X6 and the PC must be on.
Old Aug 27, 2012, 03:15 PM
w2hef is offline
Find More Posts by w2hef
All who wander are not lost
w2hef's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by robone View Post
The USB to DB9 Serial cable can be connected to the cable supplied with the YS-X6 and it is used for the FW upgrade by connecting the cable to the COM1 port. To do the setup, you can connect the same cable to COM3 port. It does not need any external power source. The only requirement is that a Battery must be connected to the YS-X6 and the PC must be on.
Ok. thanks... will be getting into the install around 7pm EST... wish me luck.
Old Aug 27, 2012, 03:23 PM
robone is offline
Find More Posts by robone
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by w2hef View Post
Ok. thanks... will be getting into the install around 7pm EST... wish me luck.
Just take your time. I have just been through a few installs with others over the last few days, and it just needs some thought going into it.

The biggest problems most people have is :
1. Setting up the communication. I recommend going the Android - Router - YS-X6 route. It is the easiest way to do it.
2. Channel Alignment. Once you have done it check that the sticks reflecting the right direction. You may have to reverse the channel in the Tx. If you don't get it right you will find that you cannot arm the system and won't be able to do the ESC stroke calibration
3. ESC stroke Calibration. Follow clear instructions in the Guide

Rob
Old Aug 27, 2012, 03:36 PM
w2hef is offline
Find More Posts by w2hef
All who wander are not lost
w2hef's Avatar
Well... we will see... i've had the quads for quite awhile and RC in general... And I am a computer guy... see hopefully all makes sense... The only thing different is I have the iphone4s.... it's jailbroke and the apps already on there along with my ipad 3. also, have a linksys extra 54gwrt router laying around to with bigger antennas sooo .... we will see.!


Quote:
Originally Posted by robone View Post
Just take your time. I have just been through a few installs with others over the last few days, and it just needs some thought going into it.

The biggest problems most people have is :
1. Setting up the communication. I recommend going the Android - Router - YS-X6 route. It is the easiest way to do it.
2. Channel Alignment. Once you have done it check that the sticks reflecting the right direction. You may have to reverse the channel in the Tx. If you don't get it right you will find that you cannot arm the system and won't be able to do the ESC stroke calibration
3. ESC stroke Calibration. Follow clear instructions in the Guide

Rob
Old Aug 27, 2012, 06:32 PM
rampa202 is offline
Find More Posts by rampa202
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by robone View Post
Hi Russ

Have you had a chat with support. They are very helpful.

I must admit, whenever I was doing my vertical calibration, on the Android, you cannot see what is happening elsewhere, so I suppose what you are seeiing only applies to the PC GCS. Maybe that is normal. I wouldn't know.

I sent you a PM.

Cheers
Rob
Well, I finally got it straightened out. It had something to do with how I had zeroed the gyros. Even though everything looked ok, and the attitude and static angles were equal, something was causing the IMU to think it was in a roll during vertical calibration - as seen in the screen cap I posted. It was definitely not normal.

Here's the method I got from gothelirc and ZeroUAV

1) select "zero gyros"
2) don't touch for several minutes (I waited 5 minutes)
3) cycle power

I then tried the calibration and it worked first time. It did not automatically open the control interface, so I hit "save" and then the interface opened, but no circles for a minute or so while it was calculating something. I checked the course data and the compass was working in GPS mode as it should.

Thanks to everyone that helped.

Russ
Old Aug 27, 2012, 09:02 PM
w2hef is offline
Find More Posts by w2hef
All who wander are not lost
w2hef's Avatar
OK... i got the firmware updated... but i can't for the life of me get the WIFI working.... i've tried it hooked to the main controller in com3.. i've tried it with just power to it... unplugged com1 port... i give up.

help!



Quote:
Originally Posted by w2hef View Post
Well... we will see... i've had the quads for quite awhile and RC in general... And I am a computer guy... see hopefully all makes sense... The only thing different is I have the iphone4s.... it's jailbroke and the apps already on there along with my ipad 3. also, have a linksys extra 54gwrt router laying around to with bigger antennas sooo .... we will see.!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Electronics 20286 Nov 28, 2016 05:40 PM
Discussion Zero UAV YS-X6 Owners Thread and Discussion fajar Multirotor Electronics 2428 Mar 23, 2016 03:52 AM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 07:50 AM
Discussion Groupbuy for YS-X6 system fajar Australia 14 May 15, 2012 05:35 AM