Zero UAV YS-X6 [Owners Thread] *Autopilot system for multirotors* - Page 10 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Sep 08, 2012, 08:05 AM
RC Aircraft Noob Since 01-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_westie
Wobble, what does the shake vaule say in the GCS?
You will need a GCS for troubleshooting. PC/Android/iOS

Flying weight.
900Kv, 10x4.5"
The frame should be able to take.
Just need to check if your battery can take it.
What C rating is it? 25C?
Thanks for replying! Really appreciate it:

Batt was 2200 35C

Tomorrow I will try 5000mah 30C
Also want to try series 2x2200 2s = 44004S but not so sure if 30A ESC and Motor is ok with it.

Also suspect the stupid IMU Damper - slight wire movement of the IMU cable moves the whole thing - will just fix it with foam tape.

Will report after trying those. With the wifi being monitored so I can give values.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 08, 2012, 03:34 PM
Down under under
A potential bug to watch out for.
If you disable the Radio via GCS, you may not be able to re-enable it again.
A power cycle will fix this.

Tested both via PC and Android.

Why would you disable?
For fully RC free operation.
If the radio RX starts glitching.
Sep 08, 2012, 08:23 PM
RC Aircraft Noob Since 01-2012
Took out the IMU damper and noticed immediate improvement!

Took a vid of the flight:
OFM X650V4 2kg slight shaking in flight (1 min 35 sec)


There is still a slight shaking (notice the motor buzz changes with the shakes) M2 & M4 would look like it was going up and down.

Any advice how to address this? Do these props need balancing/leveling?

Shake never goes beyond 7 in the flight data.
Sep 09, 2012, 12:00 AM
Down under under
Drop your Roll and Pitch Sensitivity from 60 in steps of 10.

Always worth balancing props
Last edited by Mr_westie; Sep 09, 2012 at 12:07 AM.
Sep 09, 2012, 07:15 AM
RC Aircraft Noob Since 01-2012
Used a level on the arms and noticed 2 arms were not level, did not realize X650 arms would turn slightly. Leveled these and intermittent shake is a lot less and is acceptable.

On another note: GCS Question: I cant seem to make the MAP work - anything to configure?
EDIT: Re-installed using files from page 1 of this thread. worked now.
Last edited by magetpr; Sep 09, 2012 at 09:37 AM.
Sep 09, 2012, 07:49 AM
jab
jab
Unregistered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by magetpr
Took out the IMU damper and noticed immediate improvement!

Took a vid of the flight:
http://youtu.be/LkERTcUTR9Q

There is still a slight shaking (notice the motor buzz changes with the shakes) M2 & M4 would look like it was going up and down.

Any advice how to address this? Do these props need balancing/leveling?

Shake never goes beyond 7 in the flight data.
All propellers usually needs balancing, most cheap motors also. Shake at 7 is quite a lot of vibrations.
It also sounds like your motors are constantly hunting up and down, this usually indicates that P (roll and pitch sensitivity) is set to high.
But it could also just be the sound bouncing from the walls. Flying indoors usually results in strange behavior with air pressure waves bouncing off the floor and walls, making it so that you get ground effect from multiple angles.
Sep 09, 2012, 08:18 AM
RC Aircraft Noob Since 01-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jab
All propellers usually needs balancing, most cheap motors also. Shake at 7 is quite a lot of vibrations.
It also sounds like your motors are constantly hunting up and down, this usually indicates that P (roll and pitch sensitivity) is set to high.
But it could also just be the sound bouncing from the walls. Flying indoors usually results in strange behavior with air pressure waves bouncing off the floor and walls, making it so that you get ground effect from multiple angles.
Thanks jab! will try to fine tune Pitch & Roll. But I did fly it outside and yes the vivration is a lot less
Sep 10, 2012, 06:48 AM
RC Aircraft Noob Since 01-2012

Vibration mystery


My Rig: X650 V4 w/2212 900kv motors and 30A esc; YS-X6 Controller; VidTx & Pixim Cam; 5000mah 3S batt: Gross weight = 1995gms

Up until now I have only flown indoors Manual & Stabilization mode; I would see some shaking between M2 & M4 intermittently...

But when I engage AUTO HOVER the shakes disappear and the quad holds steady.

What could be causing the shakes? are there ways to isolate so I can find it? Or since its not there during auto hover, then is it ok and I should not worry?
Sep 10, 2012, 10:27 AM
Registered User
Found from: http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...2&productname=
Sep 10, 2012, 08:02 PM
RC Aircraft Noob Since 01-2012

Shaking solved!


Finally solved the shakes today! Did the following:

Reset Neutral position (while landed)
Reset Gyro
Reduced Roll & Pitch Sensitivity to 40

Am not sure which (or all) of the above solved it. I plan to bring pitch & roll up again by steps of 10 just to see.

Thanks for the assist guys! No regrets with this rig! ('cept maybe a better motor and 12x45 props next time... hehe)

OFM X650V4 2kg 09112012 Shaking Solved (1 min 42 sec)
Sep 11, 2012, 08:33 AM
Registered User
Do you remove the red power cable form your esc (bec) when connect to the main unit? I saw some video saying that if your esc has bec, you will need to remove the red cable before connecting to the main unit. Confuse
Sep 11, 2012, 08:37 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoopyboy
Do you remove the red power cable form your esc (bec) when connect to the main unit? I saw some video saying that if your esc has bec, you will need to remove the red cable before connecting to the main unit. Confuse
Yes you must remove the red wires from your ESC because you connect the battery directly to the Auto Pilot and wifi module.
Sep 11, 2012, 08:43 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by robone
Yes you must remove the red wires from your ESC because you connect the battery directly to the Auto Pilot and wifi module.
Thank u.
Sep 11, 2012, 05:48 PM
Registered User
Getting ready for my first test flight and the weather tomorrow is going to be perfedt, but I have to fix 2 bugs first.
First when I power on the led flash 3 times red for a couple of cycles then goes out, if I switch toggle 5 to mid position I get 1 blue light and if I move 5 and 6 to position 3 2 green lights. Whats not set right?.
The second problem is with failsafe. I have a Spektrum DX8 and I've set the failsafe on the receiver according to the book,but if I turn off the tx the led stays at what ever position it was at and the throttle goes to about 50 %. I hope someone can help me so I can fly tomorrow.
Rich
Sep 11, 2012, 06:29 PM
Down under under
richkphoto, what does the GCS say?
Sep 11, 2012, 07:24 PM
Registered User
It show manual mode for SW 5 pos 1 and 2 and gps for 3 then 6 show auto hover for 1 waypoint for 2 and back land for 3. These reading don't change when I power off the tx they stay where they were when it powered off. I'm not sure if this answers what you were asking
Sep 11, 2012, 07:49 PM
Down under under
It is working normally.
Meaning of the lights, page 11 in the manual
http://gothelirc.com/ys/YS-X6%20User...ual%20V1.2.doc

If the light do not match what you see in the GCS then we have a problem.


What failsafe position did you set the switchs to?
There was a Spektrum setup procedure posted a few pages back.
I will see if I can find it.
Sep 11, 2012, 08:23 PM
RC Aircraft Noob Since 01-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by richkphoto
It show manual mode for SW 5 pos 1 and 2 and gps for 3 then 6 show auto hover for 1 waypoint for 2 and back land for 3. These reading don't change when I power off the tx they stay where they were when it powered off. I'm not sure if this answers what you were asking
Ch5 is working normally. When red lights go out in manual mode it means satellite has been locked.

For DX8 - default fail-safe is memorize throttle only. To memorize all switches:

How To Program
1. Insert the bind plug and power on the receiver.
2. When the receiver LEDs blink indicating bind mode, remove bind plug
before binding the transmitter to the receiver.
3. LED lights will continue to blink.
4. Move transmitter’s control sticks and switches to the desired Preset Failsafe
positions then turn it on in bind mode.
5. The system should connect in less than 15 seconds.
Sep 11, 2012, 09:04 PM
Registered User
I didn't remove the bind plug before turning on the receiver. I'll have to give that a try. Thanx
Sep 11, 2012, 11:17 PM
ZeroUAV
ise2012's Avatar

about the gimbal


Quote:
Originally Posted by my64
Hi,
I am trying to change the gimbal servo frequency from 250 to 50Hz but can't sucess. Every time the parameter are reloaded it always appear to be 250 Hz and the servo does not work (vibration).

However, I can uccessfully change some parameter like aircraft type, so it does not appear to be a link problem.

Is there something to do to enable th gimbal settings ?
Any idea ?
Thanks
hi , my friend .
1.when you want to change the servo frequency , you need click "init setup " first ,
then click "data" , there is a fly mode , it will be show the "setting " mode .
then you can change the servo frequency from 250 to 50 Hz ,
don't forget click the "send' and "get " , check you change is successed.

2.Step2. About the power supply of servo .
a. if your ESC have a BEC 5v out , you can retain only one ESC ‘BEC 5V out ,to supply the power .
b. if your ESC have no BEC 5v out , you need supply the power to servo by yourself . you can connect the power to the void port (m1\m2...m8 ) expect the EXT3 port. Note: the middle is positive electrode . the below is Negative electrode.

3: set two switches on RC tx to ch7 and ch8 . ch7 is gimbal pitch input , ch8 is gimbal toll input . EXT1 of AP ia gimbal toll , and EXT2 is gimbal pitch ,, connect the servo according to the instruction .

4pen the RC tx , power on the ap and servo , use the RC TX ch7 and ch8 ,to adjust the gimbal to desired angle.
move the craft manually in forward/back/left/right direction ,observing whether the gimbal angle correction is right. Gimbal sensitivity is used for adjusting gimbal angle correction, if user think the gimbal angle correction is small,you can fill in a bigger value,if not fill in a smaller value(note:gimbal sensitivity can be negative to be reverse).

ok , i hope it can help you to solve your problem .
maybe you can send a Email to me when you have the problem with the YS-X6, my Email address is : support_zerouav@yeah.net
have a nice day to you .
peter
Sep 12, 2012, 03:31 AM
RC Aircraft Noob Since 01-2012

Rth fail (crash)


I made a mistake of testing RTH in my village and not on the flying site and this is the result:

X650 RTH FAIL 0912-2012 (2 min 38 sec)


When the unit was headed toward the trees I tried to override by switching radio to auto hover - when it did not stop to hover I switched to manual, I could have sworn my throttle was at max but the X650 just went down.

Reviewing the hj file the mode changed from auto hover to manual a couple of times.

Maybe the trees messed with the signal? Then fail safe engaged and throttle went zero (as I have not properly set fail safe)? this is my assumption...

Frame, props, broke. Not sure about motors and esc's.

YS-X6 and FPV stuff all good. The CF cover of this frame did its job and protected all the electronics.

Now I order parts and wait maybe 3 weeks to fly and post again... meanwhile will lurk...
Sep 12, 2012, 04:46 AM
Down under under
magetpr, esc usually survive.
Looks like the trees broke the fall.

There is a delay switching to RTH.
1-2 seconds.
I had that the other day when it was heading for trees and I lost orientation.
Flicked it to RTH but it didn't stop immediately.
Looking at the hj file showed I was at least 15m from the trees when it turned around.

One of my first testing flights was in wind.
Had the compass set wrong when I tested RTH.
It flew away before I could regain control.
3 seconds and 100m later I planted it.
Should have kept it airborn as it would have had a soft landing in some bushes.
I always have 50% spares.
Too impatient to wait for spares to arrive.
Sep 12, 2012, 06:52 AM
RC Aircraft Noob Since 01-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_westie
magetpr, esc usually survive.
Looks like the trees broke the fall.

There is a delay switching to RTH.
1-2 seconds.
I had that the other day when it was heading for trees and I lost orientation.
Flicked it to RTH but it didn't stop immediately.
Looking at the hj file showed I was at least 15m from the trees when it turned around.

One of my first testing flights was in wind.
Had the compass set wrong when I tested RTH.
It flew away before I could regain control.
3 seconds and 100m later I planted it.
Should have kept it airborn as it would have had a soft landing in some bushes.
I always have 50% spares.
Too impatient to wait for spares to arrive.
Thanks for the comment!
Looking back I have to agree about the Delay - I guess I panicked when I did not see it respond and by switching back and forth I must have screwed it up enough to loose power.

And yes thanks to the trees! Most of it is intact - one esc lost a wire though...

Will order spares along with the parts - waiting does suck! hehehe
Sep 12, 2012, 11:31 AM
Registered User
Thanx for the help the failsafe is now working. Now for the other problem if it is a problem, the led flashes 3 times for a while then it just goes out . If I move sw5 to position 2 it flashes blue and position 3 flashes green ,but then if I go back to position 1 nothing. Any ideas?
Sep 12, 2012, 11:37 AM
Registered User
3 red flashes = no GPS sat
no red flashes = GPS good

No lights = Manual with good gps
Blue light = Hover mode
Green light = Position hold
Sep 12, 2012, 11:43 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by redridinghood
3 red flashes = no GPS sat
no red flashes = GPS good

No lights = Manual with good gps
Blue light = Hover mode
Green light = Position hold
So I should be good to go for my first flight. My tablet says I have anywhere from 9 to 14 sats
Sep 13, 2012, 12:29 PM
Registered User
I finally went to a field to try and fly and when I throttle it up one of the motor doen't come on until about 50% and another one stays on at 0%. I did the esc cal (I think I did it right) any ideas? Once it got up in the air it was flying fine
Sep 13, 2012, 12:31 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by richkphoto
I finally went to a field to try and fly and when I throttle it up one of the motor doen't come on until about 50% and another one stays on at 0%. I did the esc cal (I think I did it right) any ideas? Once it got up in the air it was flying fine
I would say that it is your ESC/throttle calibration. Maybe do it again.
Sep 13, 2012, 12:55 PM
Registered User
Thanx. 2 other questions. First I have 2 5000mah 35-70c 3s batteries on my 950mm hex with Avroto2814 motors , I need to get more batteries are these good or should I get 4s's or a higher c rating?
Second is should I threadlock the prop nuts on these motors
Sep 13, 2012, 02:12 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by richkphoto
Thanx. 2 other questions. First I have 2 5000mah 35-70c 3s batteries on my 950mm hex with Avroto2814 motors , I need to get more batteries are these good or should I get 4s's or a higher c rating?
Second is should I threadlock the prop nuts on these motors
It depends on what loads you are carrying and what props you will be using.

Check it out on eCalc http://www.ecalc.ch/xcoptercalc_e.htm?ecalc and you can play with different scenarios
Sep 13, 2012, 05:43 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by robone
It depends on what loads you are carrying and what props you will be using.

Check it out on eCalc http://www.ecalc.ch/xcoptercalc_e.htm?ecalc and you can play with different scenarios
I've tried to use this in the pastand it never comes up with anything except not enough power to hover which is wrong because it was hovering at 50% throttle. If you have time could you poug in the numbers and see what you get.
I have a hex that weighes 6.5 lbs with batteries, 6 Avroto 2814 motors,2 5000mah 30=70c batteries and apc slo fly props 12x3.8
Sep 14, 2012, 02:47 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by richkphoto
I've tried to use this in the pastand it never comes up with anything except not enough power to hover which is wrong because it was hovering at 50% throttle. If you have time could you poug in the numbers and see what you get.
I have a hex that weighes 6.5 lbs with batteries, 6 Avroto 2814 motors,2 5000mah 30=70c batteries and apc slo fly props 12x3.8
Here are the calcs. One for a 3S and one for 4S

I used the RC Tiger MT2814-10 as they are probably the closest to the Avroto

Last edited by robone; Sep 14, 2012 at 03:13 AM.
Sep 14, 2012, 07:24 AM
Registered User
Thanx Rob
Sep 15, 2012, 12:04 PM
Registered User
Anyone using the YS_X6 for gimbal control do you use digital on analog servos and what are the best servo's to use
Sep 15, 2012, 04:13 PM
jab
jab
Unregistered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by richkphoto
Anyone using the YS_X6 for gimbal control do you use digital on analog servos and what are the best servo's to use
YS-X6 support up to 333hz refresh, so a quick digital servo is definitively the way to go.
Sep 15, 2012, 04:29 PM
Down under under
Quote:
Originally Posted by richkphoto
Anyone using the YS_X6 for gimbal control do you use digital on analog servos and what are the best servo's to use
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...0#post22742148
Sep 16, 2012, 01:23 AM
Down under under
Did a range test today.
Stopped to get bearings, looked down at laptop.
"gee that video looks upside down"
Look up, hey where is it gone?
Dammit.

Ended at 500m with a flip and 50m drop into a swamp.
While the gps showed the exact spot, getting to it took 30 mins, getting out took another 20 and some muddy boots and pants.


- -


Only minor damage as it was a swamp.
If I had strapped in the batteries a bit better there would have been no damage.
The hardware was under a dome.
The force of the batteries coming loose and crushing everything caused the damage you see.

Bent batteries & equipment tray - avoidable.
Ejected camera tray. Lost 2 rubber washers.


The last image I saw from the Camera


GCS flight video.

As you can see from the video, power surge/impact reset the DTB value.

My guess to what happened was.
RX started glitching at 433m, mode switches to manual.
Gets worse after 489m, Ail going way beyond range of L40, L78.
Possible the flip glitch at 505m, D69/R49, L72/ T115.
FC then cuts throttle for a moment.
I wonder if the extremes in reported travel caused a buffer overflow condition.
Engaging the emergency motor cut function.

If this is true, it shows a lack of testing by YS.
As soon as the reported stick travel goes beyond expected range an error should be generated and value ignored.


Why am I not using 2.4ghz?
It was impacting my wifi throughput.
In hindsight I should have used the android to fly it.
While I was sure it had the range I was not 100% there wasn't going to be a flyaway.
Earlier test with waypoint navigation were not 100% successful.

Hitec Eclipse 7 40Mhz Tx, RCD3500 Rx
With a spec'ed range of 5500ft, I was a little disappointed it started glitching at 1450ft.
I guess there was a lot of interference from those Motors/Esc.
Lesson learned, only fly with a failsafe capable RX.
Onto a LRS system.
Last edited by Mr_westie; Sep 16, 2012 at 01:28 AM.
Sep 16, 2012, 07:26 AM
Registered User
Have been flying waypoints today 15 in arow works realy nice. In gps mode the ys behaves real good. But in manual mode it willstart to lean verry much after some agressive flying. So for me this controller is only flyable in gps mode. Anyone else experiencing the same problem?
Sep 16, 2012, 03:56 PM
Down under under
rwijnhov
So on lift off in manual mode it will stay in once place?
Or does it drift in manual right after take off.

How about in Alt hold mode?
Sep 17, 2012, 03:51 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwijnhov
Have been flying waypoints today 15 in arow works realy nice. In gps mode the ys behaves real good. But in manual mode it willstart to lean verry much after some agressive flying. So for me this controller is only flyable in gps mode. Anyone else experiencing the same problem?
Same problem here when switching to atti from gps. But doesn't even need aggressive flying.
Sep 17, 2012, 04:11 AM
Registered User
In manual it hovers right spot on. So balance is perfect. In gps mode no issues at all. In both manual mode 1 + 2 verry much leaning I believe alsmost all ys have this issue. Pls test.
Sep 17, 2012, 02:26 PM
saabguyspg's Avatar
I get that drift issue yes after mildly agressive flying...

I have come to the conclusion that this controller is not currently suitable for my AP work and it has been shelved.

Steve
Sep 17, 2012, 02:42 PM
Registered User
Yes i believe all controllers suffer from this problem.

@zerouav
Pls fix this leaning isue and the gimbal controls..
Sep 17, 2012, 03:37 PM
Vulcan skyhook multirotor
Andre6553's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg
I get that drift issue yes after mildly agressive flying...

I have come to the conclusion that this controller is not currently suitable for my AP work and it has been shelved.

Steve
Make sure your declination is set correct mine does the chicken dance when its not set correct.
Sep 17, 2012, 04:26 PM
Down under under
The gimbal issue has been a request since June, basically as soon as people started testing it.
It works, but not great.
If you need more tuning ability than what is currently available, get a standalone controller.
This seems to be a good option for cheap.
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1710318
I am trying it myself.


Crash
Spoke with ZeroUAV support.
Initially they insisted the rollover caused the motor cut off.
Until I pointed out these point in the flight where it was upright when the motor cut off.



He then 'guess' it was the fact that the throttle overran the normal range.
115 vs normal max 90.
This does reaffirm my earlier belief that they did not test for a glitch condition and program around it.
Glitching on a plane/heli won't be so bad as it may just twitch due to servos not being able to move fast enough.


While this condition should not happen if you are using a RX with failsafe, PCM/2.4Ghz.
It could happen if
-wire come loose
-the TX mode is switched allowing greater travel range than what was calibrated. (ie. dual rates on while calibrating)
-stick range calibration was not done properly

I crash so you don't have to
Fly safe guys

If you are selling these put in big bold
FAILSAFE CAPABLE RX ONLY!
Sep 17, 2012, 06:00 PM
saabguyspg's Avatar
personally I don't understand the "over a maximum angle the motors shut off"

I don't like this "feature" at all...

Zero is it possible to have this as an option so we can shut it off?

Steve
Sep 18, 2012, 02:54 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg
personally I don't understand the "over a maximum angle the motors shut off"

I don't like this "feature" at all...

Zero is it possible to have this as an option so we can shut it off?

Steve
I think it actually is quite good safety feature, it's much better motors shut down than multi coming to ground upside down on full power But would be indeed good if it could be turned off. Is that motor shutdown also on full manual mode or only in atti/gps?
Sep 18, 2012, 03:51 AM
Down under under
Motor shut off in manual, I would say so.

It should be a little smarter though.
If high enough, 60 degrees tilt/roll is still recoverable in my opinion
Sep 18, 2012, 08:15 AM
RC Aircraft Noob Since 01-2012
@Mr_westie thank you very much for your crash report! Appreciate the detail.

I am still waiting on parts - ordered 2 sets of replacement parts (frame and motors)

However, tinkering with the electronics and fine tuning...

1. I am using the Spektrum AR8000; should I set the refresh rate to 250hz instead of 50z and use 11ms on the DX7s Tx?

2. When I assemble this on the new frame, should I repeat the Compass Calibration and turn around like a top again?
Sep 18, 2012, 01:46 PM
Registered User
Is it also compatible with jr11x with dsm2 receivers? Any software needs to be adjusted?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Drone Electronics 20305 Nov 18, 2017 12:48 AM
Discussion Zero UAV YS-X6 Owners Thread and Discussion fajar Multirotor Drone Electronics 2428 Mar 23, 2016 03:52 AM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Drone Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 07:50 AM
Discussion Groupbuy for YS-X6 system fajar Australia 14 May 15, 2012 05:35 AM