Thread Tools
Old Jul 20, 2012, 04:59 AM
gtfreight is offline
Find More Posts by gtfreight
Registered User
Question

v911 tx mode1-mode2?


I have just bid on a tx for a WL Toys V911 and noticed afterwards that it's mode 1. Can I change it to mode 2 myself bearing in mind that I don't have a soldering iron and my skills are fairly basic?
Thanks for any help.
Gary.
Last edited by gtfreight; Jul 20, 2012 at 05:05 AM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 20, 2012, 06:46 AM
Killionaire is offline
Find More Posts by Killionaire
SF Valley RC Flyers
Killionaire's Avatar
I think they actually come as mode 2 even though the lcd display says mode 1. I bought mine from a guy in California on Ebay.
Old Jul 20, 2012, 10:56 AM
gtfreight is offline
Find More Posts by gtfreight
Registered User
I've just asked the seller and the throttle is on the right hand stick. Whoops.
Old Jul 20, 2012, 11:59 AM
Ribble is offline
Find More Posts by Ribble
Crash and learn
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtfreight View Post
I have just bid on a tx for a WL Toys V911 and noticed afterwards that it's mode 1. Can I change it to mode 2 myself bearing in mind that I don't have a soldering iron and my skills are fairly basic?
Thanks for any help.
Gary.
No, you will ruin the V911 transmitter trying to convert Mode 1 to Mode 2.

Post the link to the seller. There is still a chance that it is Mode 2 as Mode 1 is not very common and the display error causes much confusion.
Old Jul 21, 2012, 03:40 AM
gtfreight is offline
Find More Posts by gtfreight
Registered User
Thanks for the info. The tx is definitely mode 1. The seller has offered to retract my bid but it's my fault for not reading the ad' properly. It may come in useful for spares.
If I do win it and anyone wants to have it they are welcome to it for the price of postage (i am in the UK).
Old Nov 20, 2012, 12:06 AM
tin_solder is offline
Find More Posts by tin_solder
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ribble View Post
No, you will ruin the V911 transmitter trying to convert Mode 1 to Mode 2.

Post the link to the seller. There is still a chance that it is Mode 2 as Mode 1 is not very common and the display error causes much confusion.
Not so - I just coverted a Mode 2 to Mode 1 without too much drama, and converting vice-versa is just as straightforward ; whether or not the 30minute rework is worth saving the $15-20 you'll spend buying the right transmitter for your uses is polemical =)
Old Feb 07, 2013, 12:19 PM
maamann is offline
Find More Posts by maamann
Registered User

Converting V911 transmitter from Mode 2 to Mode 1


Hi tin_solder:
I just read your comment on converting the V911 transmitter from Mode 2 to Mode 1. I would like to do the same thing. Do you have any instructions of how to do this? Any help is much appreciated.Thanks
Old Feb 07, 2013, 02:43 PM
jwilkers is offline
Find More Posts by jwilkers
FA39WNXCP3
The mode 1 mode 2 display really isn't the control mode. Mode 1 is a slower control speed, and mode 2 is for faster response. Typically they come Mode 2. (at least here in the USA)
Old Feb 07, 2013, 05:05 PM
maamann is offline
Find More Posts by maamann
Registered User

Converting from mode 2 to mode 1


The mode thing is a bit confusing since the use "mode 1 & 2" to describe the rate settings (sensitivity of the rudder). I'm trying to figure out if this Tx can be changed to Mode 1 control where the throttle is on the right stick. Does anyone have any directions on how to do the conversion.
Thanks.
Old Feb 27, 2015, 06:06 PM
Blight is offline
Find More Posts by Blight
Registered User
Sorry for reviving an old thread, but I just did this exact modification. My write-up is available here: http://www.mslootweg.nl/blog/?p=6

(You will need soldering supplies and experience, but it's pretty basic)


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Switch Blade CP TX from Mode1 to Mode2? sebasneumann Micro Helis 1 May 15, 2006 12:04 AM
Question Modify FF6 from mode1 to mode2 fuzzchucker Radios 0 Apr 20, 2004 04:35 PM
aerohawk mode1 to mode2 please help keller Micro Helis 7 Apr 18, 2004 11:13 PM
Mode2 or Mode1 for Heli pilots joffacn Electric Heli Talk 4 Jan 03, 2003 09:37 AM
Anyone flying Mode2(plank) Mode1(Heli) Electraflyit Electric Heli Talk 1 Aug 13, 2002 08:10 PM