Jul 18, 2012, 09:40 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

WBPU info

Hey guys,

I'm relatively new to the world of foamies and have some questions about WBPU(Water Based Polyurethane).

I understand people use it to make their foamies stronger but what sort of foam is it suitable to use on. Does it work on EPS, Depron and so on.

Also what is the deal with using matting with it. Is this similar to using fiberglass.

If there is any links to information about using it then that would be great because I did a search and couldn't really find what I was after.
to remove ads between posts
Jul 18, 2012, 10:12 PM
treefinder
It works on all the styrenic foams like fanfold, eps, depron, Dollar store foam, and MPF. You can just brush a couple coats directly on the foam to provide a stiffer, paintable and somewhat more damage resistant surface. (I use it when I want to paint a specific color, like OD for WWll planes). Or, if you are looking for water proofing, and more damage resistance, then use Fiberglas cloth (the light weight type), Polyester cloth (I think it's lining material, and there are at least two weights) or even paper. I found that coffee filters (the corrugated circular ones) make a very nice smooth, waterproof and dent resistant surface that is paintable with any kind of paints we might use. Once coated, I use Walmart rattle can spray paint. This treatment works well for water planes to waterproof the "hull". It's also a good base for the colored packing tape that's used for color. My OSS Seabee is done that way: wbpu and filters as a base and over coated with red packing tape.
Jul 18, 2012, 10:25 PM
Thread OP
Hmmm sounds good.

Does it matter how thick or thing you apply it. Does it not eat the foam away.

Do you need to sand between coats to get a nice smooth finish.
Jul 18, 2012, 10:33 PM
Build straight - Fly twisty