Thread Tools
Oct 17, 2012, 04:16 AM
OlliW

owSilProg BLHeliTool BLHeliBox release v20121017


Hey Folks,

new release of the owSilProg project
download v20121017 here: http://www.olliw.eu/2012/owsilprog/#firmware

main changes:
- support of BLHeli Rev8.0
- menu in BLHeliTool separated into Setup Main and Setup Advanced for better handling
- window height of in BLHeliTool restricted to be suitable for ebooks
- AvrBurnTool adapted to handle Arduino Mega 2560 boards accroding to copperclad @ helifreak (link)

all tutorials are available now (building owSilProg programmer, using BLHeliTool, building BLHeliBox, + sources of supply)
see here: http://www.olliw.eu/2012/owsilprog-tutorials/

Have fun, Olli
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 17, 2012, 04:10 PM
MavLab coordinator

I2C compatible?


Hello world,

I was wondering if the SiLabs esc's can be modified from pwm to I2C Input?
Can the BLheli firmeware cope with I2C input.

Thanks in advance,

Microuav
Oct 17, 2012, 05:14 PM
we dont NEED roads!
AcroFPV's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by OlliW
Hey Folks,

new release of the owSilProg project
download v20121017 here: http://www.olliw.eu/2012/owsilprog/#firmware

main changes:
- support of BLHeli Rev8.0
- menu in BLHeliTool separated into Setup Main and Setup Advanced for better handling
- window height of in BLHeliTool restricted to be suitable for ebooks
- AvrBurnTool adapted to handle Arduino Mega 2560 boards accroding to copperclad @ helifreak (link)

all tutorials are available now (building owSilProg programmer, using BLHeliTool, building BLHeliBox, + sources of supply)
see here: http://www.olliw.eu/2012/owsilprog-tutorials/

Have fun, Olli
Is it possible to do this flash with a USBAVR Programmer? The type I use to Flash my KK2 board?
Oct 17, 2012, 11:59 PM
OlliW
Quote:
Is it possible to do this flash with a USBAVR Programmer? The type I use to Flash my KK2 board?
no...
but you can use your kk board for flashing the esc...
Oct 18, 2012, 12:51 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by bartremes
Hello world,

I was wondering if the SiLabs esc's can be modified from pwm to I2C Input?
Can the BLheli firmeware cope with I2C input.

Thanks in advance,

Microuav
BLHeli currently does not support I2C input. Are there any advantages to I2C over pwm?
Oct 18, 2012, 01:10 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by OlliW
no...
but you can use your kk board for flashing the esc...
That's interesting... makes sense tho... could a spare KK2 be used as a preassembled programming box?
Oct 18, 2012, 01:23 AM
OlliW
Quote:
Are there any advantages to I2C over pwm?
faster... technically...

... but who really (really!) needs update rates faster than 1ms? The intrinsic time constant of copters is typically on the order of 0.1s, a golden rule of controller theory says about 20 times faster than the intrinsic time, so 1ms should be a quite sufficient number for the large majority of applications...
Quote:
could a spare KK2 be used as a preassembled programming box?
yes... with the right firmware...
(I suggested to HK to produce a similar item without the DOF stuff, which would make it a cute little versatile programming box... but they haven't answered... at least yet... )
Oct 18, 2012, 03:36 AM
MavLab coordinator
Quote:
Originally Posted by sskaug
BLHeli currently does not support I2C input. Are there any advantages to I2C over pwm?
The reason I ask:
I m making a small autonomous quad based on this paparazzi autopilot.
http://paparazzi.enac.fr/wiki/NavGo_v3

The esc's can only be controlled by I2C.
I orderd the atmega8 esc 6 amp
https://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=21246
And flashed them with Simonk. The problem is there are not enough ADC Ports available.

So I orderd the SiLabs variant
https://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ontroller.html
But I have no idea if they can be modified to I2C.

So the basic question is: are there small esc 's (6 to 10 amp) who have I2C input instead of pwm so I do not have to use This havvy ( vor small quads) board.
http://abusemark.com/store/index.php...&products_id=3

Thanks microuav
Oct 19, 2012, 08:54 AM
IAD
IAD
UAV Driver
IAD's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bartremes
The reason I ask:
I m making a small autonomous quad based on this paparazzi autopilot.
http://paparazzi.enac.fr/wiki/NavGo_v3
...
I'm basically in the same boat. I'm going to try the I2C-->PWM converter for now, but my understanding is that it does introduce some latency.

-Luke
Oct 19, 2012, 08:54 AM
Registered User
Hi i have Arrowind 25A with Silabs, any body now the making of them and if there are som hexfile to flash for a quad
Anders
Oct 19, 2012, 11:29 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by vilhelmsson
Hi i have Arrowind 25A with Silabs, any body now the making of them and if there are som hexfile to flash for a quad
Anders
Just looked at the Arrowind website. And the ESCs look very much like the XP series ESCs. You could look at the PCB and compare it with these: https://github.com/bitdump/BLHeli/bl...abs%20ESCs.pdf
I'd be surprised if it is not identical to the XP 25A (ie just sold under another name).
Oct 19, 2012, 01:56 PM
Registered User
Hello,

I recently bought HobbyWing SkyWalker Quattro (20Ax4) and found out that they are C8051F330 based all N-FET ESCs. Each of four ESCs is powered from the single onboard BEC, but you may consider each ESC as independend one. I believe you will find flash pads designations pretty familiar. Please refer to photos here: http://drug123.org.ua/skywalker_quattro/

I've tried to flash ESC with BLHeliTool (c) OlliW @ www.olliw.eu from 16. October 2012 v0.07 with BLHeliHexFiles\SKYWALKER_20A_MULTI_REV8_0.HEX firmware. I have got the following output in the tool:
Flash hex file... Please wait!
delay... OK
v... OlliW SilProg v0.08 PB3PB4
r... rok
d... dok0A -> Device ID 0A F33x
i... iok
e... Device erase FAILED!

When I hit Verify button, the following error is reported:
Verify... Please wait!
delay... OK
v... OlliW SilProg v0.08 PB3PB4
r... rok
d... dok0A -> Device ID 0A F33x
i... iok
.Block read FAILED!

I'm not experienced with 8085 programming but believe there is some lock bit is set. Could you please advise if this could be worked around somehow. I asked Steffen first, but he advised go here to ask...

Thanks.

PS: I consider a chip replacement if nothing will help.
PPS: I have used Arduino Decimilia with owsilprog_v008_m168_16mhz_pb3pb4.hex firmware as flasher.
Last edited by drug123; Oct 19, 2012 at 02:07 PM.
Oct 19, 2012, 02:26 PM
OlliW
Hey Drug,

I actually got last week (for the first time since I started this project several months ago) a similar error behavior after I had flashed my BESC with a F330x chip with a firmware for a F31x chip. Didn't yet had time to figure out what exactly did happen (and somehow thought/hoped it to be a fluke). Although you obviously didn't made this mistake, my proceduer to resolve this might nevertheless work for you too.
(at first, however, you might wish to try hitting Flash a couple of times)

It's somewhat strange, but I did the following. I started the terminal program BrayTerminal.exe (it's included in the owsilprog zip package, and you also can call it from BLHeliTool if you go to the tools menu). You have to set 38400 bps, 8 data bits, no parity, 1 stop bit, no handshaking (should be the default setting), and of course you have to select the correct com port. You then hit the Connect button. At the bottom there is a white input textline, where you can enter commands and can send them by either hitting the send button or the return key. Now do the following. Press the reset button on the Arduino. Then type in "v" and send (type just the v without quotation marks). You should see the message "OlliW SilProg v0.08 PB3PB4" appearing in the recieve window. Now enter "r" and send, you should see "rok", now enter "d" and send, you should see "dok0A", enter "i" and send, you should see "iok", enter "e" and send, you should see "eok". At some point probably an error occurs. If so press the reset button on the Arduino. and enter "r" "i" "e", maybe send some cmd twice or three or four or five times in some arbitrarywild way, but always in the sequence r i e, and if an error occurs reset and start with r again. In my case sudddenly by some reasons I got "eok" and since then everything was working again perfectly (and is still working).

It's kind of strange that this error suddenly occures to you and me... I never had it before, and I have not changed anything in this part of the code since v0.04...

Anyhow, we will solve this, I am sure you don't have to replace the mcus.
Oct 19, 2012, 03:35 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by OlliW
(at first, however, you might wish to try hitting Flash a couple of times)
Hello OlliW, thanks for your fast reply! Actually I hit Flash button MANY times before deciding to bother you ;o) Unfortunately result always the same.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlliW
It's somewhat strange, but I did the following. I started the terminal program BrayTerminal.exe
{skip}
enter "e" and send, you should see "eok". At some point probably an error occurs. If so press the reset button on the Arduino. and enter "r" "i" "e", maybe send some cmd twice or three or four or five times in some arbitrarywild way, but always in the sequence r i e, and if an error occurs reset and start with r again. In my case sudddenly by some reasons I got "eok" and since then everything was working again perfectly (and is still working).
Actually I tried this as well. Unfortunately after sending "e" command Arduino hangs until next reset happened. In terminal it looks like
Code:
OlliW SilProg v0.08 PB3PB4>rok>iok>e
(In response to 'vrie')
This happens constantly. I didn't get any other reaction from the board. BTW to exclude possible defects in my Arduino, I tried to use my ATMega328P based MultiWii board with owsilprog_v008_m328p_16mhz_pb3pb4.hex and got the same result.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlliW
It's kind of strange that this error suddenly occures to you and me... I never had it before, and I have not changed anything in this part of the code since v0.04...

Anyhow, we will solve this, I am sure you don't have to replace the mcus.
Any other your guesses what to try next are welcome, because I'm not sure I could do any better by myself.
Oct 19, 2012, 04:22 PM
Registered User
BTW, if it could help a bit, here is my setup: https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Found forget the plush, i need 5x 30 amp esc that i can flash, no plush !!! crash8384 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 14 Jun 25, 2012 03:10 AM
Discussion is it possible to flash the Flycam Blackboard w/ 4.7kk X betito Multirotor Drone Talk 2 May 03, 2012 02:12 PM
Discussion Silabs 8051 ESC (Turnigy Subperbrain) Firmware nickax Multirotor Drone Talk 2 Jan 30, 2012 12:11 AM
Sold 2 Turnigy Plush 10 amp ESCs + 1 Turnigy 5A UBEC + 1 Turnigy Programming Card - $21 shawn595 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 2 Apr 02, 2011 12:30 PM
Discussion Is it possible to convert TURNIGY Plush 30A ESC's from PWM to TWI/I2C control benbois DIY Electronics 0 Dec 17, 2008 12:56 PM