ALZRC 3GY V2/Robird G31 Flybarless 3-Axis Gyro - Page 70 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Dec 10, 2012, 11:22 PM
Registered User
Thanks,

So tab 7 (servo limits) is used to set max servo throw on - & + collective?

Tab 8 is to check if the swash binds at full collective with AIL and ELE, if it does then reduce the ring?

The ring is now from default settings 16 to 8.8 AIL and 8.0 ELE.
Last edited by Lighty; Dec 11, 2012 at 04:40 AM. Reason: ring detail
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 11, 2012, 01:22 AM
Malaysian Flier
Hi,
Quite sometime I didn't post here. Btw, I just take one video of my flight using robird g31. As soon finish upload will post here.
Dec 11, 2012, 11:49 AM
Registered User

Warp360/Robird G31


I got some more flights in, can't get the mainshaft vibs below 700,I think it is the shaft to hub fit is a little loose(Compass is sending replacements).I had to tame all the settings as the cyclic was extremely fast and tail.Very impressive cyclic feel and handling.I'm going to put a Ikon on after I get the vibs reduced.
Steve
Dec 11, 2012, 04:50 PM
Registered User
Getting ready to mount a g31 on my mini titan v2, and was reading the vibration related comments in this thread that are related to the supplied foam mounting tape.

I see that folks are using 3m 4010 tape - I've got 3 different 3m double sided tapes, and none are the clear 4010. I do have quite a lot if the exterior version of this tape though - 3m 4011.

It's this stuff:




I've used it for about everything you can imagine and I'm wondering if it would be good for mounting the g31. It does have some vibe damping characteristics to it, but I can't compare it to the 4010. I do know that you can actually tape servos down (no screws at all) in 1/10 scale cars with this stuff - and they won't move, lol.


Anyone tried it? Comments?

Edit: I'm gonna try it anyways. I've got a pile of different tapes, but this is the firmest.
Last edited by DudeInMyrtleBch; Dec 11, 2012 at 05:07 PM.
Dec 11, 2012, 06:23 PM
Mallcopterist
2Doggs's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DudeInMyrtleBch
Getting ready to mount a g31 on my mini titan v2, and was reading the vibration related comments in this thread that are related to the supplied foam mounting tape.

I see that folks are using 3m 4010 tape - I've got 3 different 3m double sided tapes, and none are the clear 4010. I do have quite a lot if the exterior version of this tape though - 3m 4011.

It's this stuff:




I've used it for about everything you can imagine and I'm wondering if it would be good for mounting the g31. It does have some vibe damping characteristics to it, but I can't compare it to the 4010. I do know that you can actually tape servos down (no screws at all) in 1/10 scale cars with this stuff - and they won't move, lol.


Anyone tried it? Comments?

Edit: I'm gonna try it anyways. I've got a pile of different tapes, but this is the firmest.
I don't think anyone uses just the clear double-sided tape on it's own, if that's what you meant. I use the 3M "Scotch" permanent mounting tape. Most of these small controllers seem to work best with firm tape, so that giant roll of tape in your picture should keep you mounted for decades to come!
Dec 11, 2012, 07:46 PM
Malaysian Flier
My flight using Robird G31. Tail still need more work. Cyclic also a bit sloppy.
Trex Pro 450 V1 wt Robird G31 (3 min 51 sec)
Dec 12, 2012, 01:55 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by DudeInMyrtleBch
Getting ready to mount a g31 on my mini titan v2, and was reading the vibration related comments in this thread that are related to the supplied foam mounting tape.

I see that folks are using 3m 4010 tape - I've got 3 different 3m double sided tapes, and none are the clear 4010. I do have quite a lot if the exterior version of this tape though - 3m 4011.

It's this stuff:




I've used it for about everything you can imagine and I'm wondering if it would be good for mounting the g31. It does have some vibe damping characteristics to it, but I can't compare it to the 4010. I do know that you can actually tape servos down (no screws at all) in 1/10 scale cars with this stuff - and they won't move, lol.


Anyone tried it? Comments?

Edit: I'm gonna try it anyways. I've got a pile of different tapes, but this is the firmest.
That Grey 4011 is exactly what I use - I have 8 different FBL helis using it
Dec 12, 2012, 02:00 PM
Registered User
Dr.M's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by zhnme523
My flight using Robird G31. Tail still need more work. Cyclic also a bit sloppy.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f0h_p...ature=youtu.be
Your camera must be broken. I did not see any of the slop you mention; only great flying!
Dec 12, 2012, 02:34 PM
as much as I can
beenflying's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by zhnme523
My flight using Robird G31. Tail still need more work. Cyclic also a bit sloppy.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f0h_p...ature=youtu.be
Hi Zaihan. Great flying, as always.

How does the G31 and FBL head compare to the Bell/Hiller FB head?

If you manage to get the tail on the 450 working well, please let us know what settings you have used. Currently I can't get rid of my 450's stop bounce, on CCW stop.
Dec 12, 2012, 07:24 PM
Malaysian Flier
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.M
Your camera must be broken. I did not see any of the slop you mention; only great flying!
hahha,
slop on cyclic abit when doing piro flip; it's countering my stick and suddently go left although i was lining it up. maybe need expo or smething. tail bit slop also but no bounce. need to put more gain. i'm tune it up later on and do more video.

thanks dr.m and beenflying

I'm still like my fb head. It work like charm in all condition. FBL still need to tune up to match up with my fb head. In term of cyclic, i think zyx perform better but tail in robird much easier.
Dec 12, 2012, 09:41 PM
as much as I can
beenflying's Avatar
That's very interesting. When you were using the ZYX, were you using v3.5. They did a big change to the tail in this firmware. It now uses the rate tail center as a means of asymmetry, so the tail acts the same in both directions.
Dec 12, 2012, 10:14 PM
Toy Flyer
glover's Avatar

Initial setup error


Converting Protos to FBL using G31. RX is Futaba S.Bus. First setup step (0 Receiver) worked perfectly. Second setup step (1 Servo) entered. Third setup step (2 Swashtype) entered, but servos do not move. Exit setup back to "Welcome" panel, and servos follow TX inputs. Really weird!!! Downloaded latest software before starting setup.

So why do servos not respone during setup? Note that all indicator lights are out during flawed operation, but status light is correct when at "Welcome" panel or whenever not in setup mode.

Fly safe, Glover
Dec 12, 2012, 10:50 PM
Registered User
Servos only move in step 4. Step three the servos only go up as the GUI detects up or down.
Dec 12, 2012, 10:56 PM
Toy Flyer
glover's Avatar
If I cannot see movement, then how do I know how to reverse any given servo? (Note that I just did a ZYX as my first FBL and the servos moved during all setup panels.)

Fly safe, Glover
Dec 13, 2012, 01:57 AM
Malaysian Flier
Quote:
Originally Posted by beenflying
That's very interesting. When you were using the ZYX, were you using v3.5. They did a big change to the tail in this firmware. It now uses the rate tail center as a means of asymmetry, so the tail acts the same in both directions.
I'm using old type, not update the firmware. My zyx is sitting duck in my box right now. hahha


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion New ALZRC 3GY V2.0 FBL System boredom.is.me Mini Helis 125 Sep 13, 2012 10:58 AM
Alert Hobby King NEW 3 Axis Gyro Flybarless system w/USB Programmer $45 Mahu Hot Online Deals 6 Jun 20, 2012 03:45 AM
Discussion ALZRC Devil 450 PRO!! 3GY gyro ver 2.0.3 pitchp Mini Helis 7 Jun 10, 2012 10:30 PM
Discussion Hobbyking ZYX 3-Axis Flybarless System Gyro old4570 Electric Heli Talk 4 Mar 15, 2012 10:18 PM