Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Nov 05, 2012, 08:23 AM
Friend is a 4 letter word...
JussiH's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessestr View Post
Do you know the name of that particular team member?

Thanks
http://forum.autoquad.org/memberlist...ewprofile&u=63
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 05, 2012, 08:39 AM
Registered User
Thanks sir!
Nov 05, 2012, 09:37 AM
Registered User
My quad is almost ready couple of days for number crunching by my computer and my AQ6 will be ready for first flight
Nov 05, 2012, 09:42 AM
Registered User
Just to check my pc requirements for the calibration parts:

Intel Core i7 2630QM @ 2Ghz SandyBridge.. No IvyBridge yet
8GB 1337Mhz DDR3 RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX460M 1.5GB DDR5 VRAM (Won't need GPU for calibrations normally..)


Got 4 cores and 8 threads.. All running at 2Ghz and they are overclocked until 2.9Ghz when necessary. Cooling isn't a problem.

Enough to complete calcs in less then 24hours?
Nov 05, 2012, 11:04 AM
Friend is a 4 letter word...
JussiH's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessestr View Post
Just to check my pc requirements for the calibration parts:

Intel Core i7 2630QM @ 2Ghz SandyBridge.. No IvyBridge yet
8GB 1337Mhz DDR3 RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX460M 1.5GB DDR5 VRAM (Won't need GPU for calibrations normally..)


Got 4 cores and 8 threads.. All running at 2Ghz and they are overclocked until 2.9Ghz when necessary. Cooling isn't a problem.

Enough to complete calcs in less then 24hours?
'

I have successfully used a i7 Q720 @ 1,6 GHz so you should be fine...
Nov 05, 2012, 11:45 AM
Registered User
When calibrating can I mount the fc on a quad to do the dance then remove it and mount it on my hex or octo. It would be easier todo the calibration withless arms in the way
Nov 05, 2012, 11:48 AM
Registered User
As far as I read you can't because the magnetic profile of your quad is different than your hexa or octo. And probably way more factors than that
Nov 05, 2012, 11:50 AM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by richkphoto View Post
When calibrating can I mount the fc on a quad to do the dance then remove it and mount it on my hex or octo. It would be easier todo the calibration withless arms in the way
Well, the aim of the Calibso is to calibrate your FC on a full set up aircraft.
Doing it with a another frame would be kinda cheating.
Nov 05, 2012, 12:15 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Well, the aim of the Calibso is to calibrate your FC on a full set up aircraft.
Doing it with a another frame would be kinda cheating.
Hey I'm old so lifting lighter weight isn't cheating at my age, it's preserving whats left of my body
Nov 05, 2012, 12:39 PM
Friend is a 4 letter word...
JussiH's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by richkphoto View Post
Hey I'm old so lifting lighter weight isn't cheating at my age, it's preserving whats left of my body
This is NOT an "official" recommandation....

If you build your frame with stainless/nonmagnetic hardware, and take great care to braid/twist wires and avoid loop/hoops in the wiring, I have found that you can actually move boards between frames and still get a decent result.

But its recommended to calibrate in the actual frame you plan to fly it in, since that is the only way to make sure all soft and hard iron effects are taken into account for the compass.
Nov 05, 2012, 06:24 PM
youtube.com/#/user/flyrobots
Hi,

Im preparing to build the frame (using flyduino FCP) with motors and ESC for dynamic calibration calibso dance step.
What is your recommendation to put the ESC (F-20A simonk fw)? Under centreplate (will it disturb the mag) or near the motors (not so nice looking).

Thanks,

John
Nov 05, 2012, 06:25 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyrobot View Post
Hi,

Im preparing to build the frame (using flyduino FCP) with motors and ESC for dynamic calibration calibso dance step.
What is your recommendation to put the ESC (F-20A simonk fw)? Under centreplate (will it disturb the mag) or near the motors (not so nice looking).

Thanks,

John
Actually the same question and frame.
Will use the Flyduino FCP HL.

I think the dynamic calibrations should filter out the magnetic things of your esc there.. Well at least that is what I think..
Nov 05, 2012, 11:48 PM
AutoQuad OS developer
maximal's Avatar
Theoretically you want to get the ESC as far from other electronics as possible. But there are lots of people flying multicopters with them mounted right under the flight controller... so YMMV as they say. I personally prefer them out on the arms, with all wires twisted/braided (but John is right -- not so pretty).

The problem with wiring (and ESCs to some degree) is that their magnetic properties will change when the applied current changes. Which is obviously difficult to calibrate for. So I think good wiring techniques (like Jussi described) are important in any case.

-Max
Nov 06, 2012, 02:31 AM
youtube.com/#/user/flyrobots
Hi,

I like the centerplate as power distribution as FCP frame does and i think this is the way multirotor frame should be.
As i saw on MK forum, the power distribution should have 2 layer (plus and ground) and the pcb layout should be in complete circle (no interupt), means the ground path should be like a ring to minimized emf (electro magnet) disturbing the mag sensor.
I dont know the FCP center plate layout (i cannot see the PCB layout)

I appreciate if i can see esc position and cabling on Bill's quad like on videos.

Many thanks,

John
Nov 06, 2012, 03:01 AM
youtube.com/#/user/flyrobots
Here it is the discussion forum.mikrokopter.de/topic-21797-2.html and forum.mikrokopter.de/topic-28454.html


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Autoquad team proudly presents: Autoquad ESC32 JussiH Multirotor Drone Electronics 301 Apr 16, 2016 09:05 PM
Discussion Naza dji sh gps - south hemisphere public beta testers results! Velociraptor73 Multirotor Drone Talk 26 Nov 20, 2012 01:45 AM
Discussion How Bloomberg's Soft Drink Ban Will Backfire on NYC Public Health MtnGoat Life, The Universe, and Politics 1 Jun 26, 2012 11:19 PM
Discussion The AutoQuad! [ video ] kapteinkuk Multirotor Drone Talk 5 Jun 10, 2012 11:19 AM
Download G-3 Public Beta (.426) is out. Includes Airplane Importer! L0stS0ul Simulators 37 Mar 03, 2006 05:28 PM