New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:43 PM
macca05 is offline
Find More Posts by macca05
Registered User
Hey Guys,
Since I had my problem with the escs not starting up on power up I have purchased different escs and all works great. I cant believe how easy this is to fly. Im loving it
But I am still having one problem that I just cant seem to find after searching this thread and google. Its to do with the bluetooth setup. For some reason it seems to connect (red light goes solid) and in MP it says connecting to Mavlink, but then it goes into timeout and counts down. Then after that is says did not receive any heart beat packets.
Can anyone help Please.
I am sure the Crius Bluetooth adapter is set to baud rate 115200 and I have checked that the coms port is the same.
Thanks
Macca
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 14, 2012, 01:01 AM
Master1866 is offline
Find More Posts by Master1866
Registered User

GPS Alt-Hold Problem


Hello,
I fly a Quadcopter with the Crius AIO Pro. I've the problem, that the alt-hold works fine without program GPS. Yesterday i've program the GPS (CN06 Ublox) and now he can't hold the attitude. If i activate alt-hold he reduce slowly the motor-speed. then he start to give a little bit more power but he can't hold the attitude (lost high 7-8m). So i need to activate stabilize befor he crash. I start on 10m high and after 10 or 15 Seconds he began to regulate the high and lost high more and more. I use the megapirateNG Firmware. What's the problem with GPS? Should i change the PID-Settings for alt-hold? Without GPS it works fine.(+/-1m).
What can i do?
Old Nov 14, 2012, 01:25 AM
careyer is offline
Find More Posts by careyer
member of TheBlindHawks
careyer's Avatar
Hi there..

having a strange problem: After leveling my AIO-Pro it does not fly level in Stabilize Mode. I've leveled the board multiple times now considering the following points:

- copter is standing on an absolute level surface
- AIO-Pro board ist mounted absolutely level on the copterframe
- no trims at all on my transmitter
- Sticks on the transmitter calibrated

The result is:
- in Mission Planer the artificial horizon is absolutly level in respect to nick and roll.
- BUT... when flying I have to give almost full forward trim (nick) and almost 3/4 trim to the left (roll) in order to make it fly stationary and not rapidly drifting appart.

What might be wrong? Before trying to fly by GPS these problems should be ironed out, right? I also have a original APM and I am not having that strange problem there... so i suppose it's not me miss-operating the software of miss-understanding the process of level calibration.

Thanks for your advice!

Best reagrds
Thomas
Old Nov 14, 2012, 05:23 AM
Boykintom is offline
Find More Posts by Boykintom
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by careyer View Post
Hi there..

having a strange problem: After leveling my AIO-Pro it does not fly level in Stabilize Mode. I've leveled the board multiple times now considering the following points:

- copter is standing on an absolute level surface
- AIO-Pro board ist mounted absolutely level on the copterframe
- no trims at all on my transmitter
- Sticks on the transmitter calibrated

The result is:
- in Mission Planer the artificial horizon is absolutly level in respect to nick and roll.
- BUT... when flying I have to give almost full forward trim (nick) and almost 3/4 trim to the left (roll) in order to make it fly stationary and not rapidly drifting appart.

What might be wrong? Before trying to fly by GPS these problems should be ironed out, right? I also have a original APM and I am not having that strange problem there... so i suppose it's not me miss-operating the software of miss-understanding the process of level calibration.

Thanks for your advice!

Best reagrds
Thomas
I have a similar problem, though not as extreme as yours. Like you, I completely level the quad, check trims and subtrims and go through the calibration. Then, for a little while, it usually flies level, but pretty soon I'll start having to add a little trim one way or the other, not always the same way. Eventually it will get bad enough that I will recalibrate and start over. Nothing I have done so far has resulted in a long-term fix. Thoughts?
Old Nov 14, 2012, 05:46 AM
solars is offline
Find More Posts by solars
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by careyer View Post
Hi there..

having a strange problem: After leveling my AIO-Pro it does not fly level in Stabilize Mode. I've leveled the board multiple times now considering the following points:

- copter is standing on an absolute level surface
- AIO-Pro board ist mounted absolutely level on the copterframe
- no trims at all on my transmitter
- Sticks on the transmitter calibrated

The result is:
- in Mission Planer the artificial horizon is absolutly level in respect to nick and roll.
- BUT... when flying I have to give almost full forward trim (nick) and almost 3/4 trim to the left (roll) in order to make it fly stationary and not rapidly drifting appart.

What might be wrong? Before trying to fly by GPS these problems should be ironed out, right? I also have a original APM and I am not having that strange problem there... so i suppose it's not me miss-operating the software of miss-understanding the process of level calibration.

Thanks for your advice!

Best reagrds
Thomas
did you check the CG as well? although I think it shouldn't be a problem
if the copter is drifting away more and more, check your I-Gain, if it's set too high then you will see this result, so try to set it to 0 first
other than that, did you try auto trim? http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/AC2_AutoTrim
Old Nov 14, 2012, 08:31 AM
sandrodadon is offline
Find More Posts by sandrodadon
Registered User
sandrodadon's Avatar
Hey guys.
I have an older Crius MWC Board right now and i am thinking about getting a Crius AIO Pro because it has more Pins, better(?) Sensors and i would like to give GPS+MegaPirate a try.

But there are a few Questions left:

1: Can i still run my Bluetooth Module with MutliWii AND MegaPirate?

2: Can i use this Sonic Sensor? Also MutliWii AND MegaPirate?

3: How many AUX Channels do i have with AIO Pro?

4: How accurate are the Crius AIO Sensores compared to my old Crious?

5: How good is a Crius AIO+GPS running MegaPirate compared with an AMP using the AMP Firmware?


Thanks for your help !
Sandro
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:12 AM
ariekraakjr is offline
Find More Posts by ariekraakjr
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandrodadon View Post
Hey guys.
I have an older Crius MWC Board right now and i am thinking about getting a Crius AIO Pro because it has more Pins, better(?) Sensors and i would like to give GPS+MegaPirate a try.

But there are a few Questions left:

1: Can i still run my Bluetooth Module with MutliWii AND MegaPirate?

2: Can i use this Sonic Sensor? Also MutliWii AND MegaPirate?

3: How many AUX Channels do i have with AIO Pro?

4: How accurate are the Crius AIO Sensores compared to my old Crious?

5: How good is a Crius AIO+GPS running MegaPirate compared with an AMP using the AMP Firmware?


Thanks for your help !
Sandro
1) yes
2) yes
3) 4 ch5 ch6 ch7 ch8
4) better
5) can't tell..only use AIO
Old Nov 14, 2012, 01:59 PM
Kaptenklister is offline
Find More Posts by Kaptenklister
Registered User

Rc Controll settings...


Hello guys,

I have been lurking this thread for a while and recently pulled the trigger on a AIOP board.

I have it all set up on my computer and the radio at the moment. I'm using a Futaba 8FG Super wich in this case mean that all flight mode switches have 3 positions.

I need some pointers on how to set this up.

My questions:
Acro mode is that the default mode, as in the mode that active if none of the options in controllsettings are active, correct?

Do I need to be in Auto level mode to arm(with throttle + yaw input)

I want to use this boart foa a AP plattform so the modes I'm most interested in are these:
- Auto Level
- Altitude Hold
- Heading Lock

- GPS Hold (once I get my gps, wich should arrive this week I hope)
Does gps hold require any other modes?

Does my settings seem ok?
How did you guys set it up?
Old Nov 14, 2012, 02:14 PM
janekx is offline
Find More Posts by janekx
Registered User
janekx's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by janekx View Post
What diferent is on Sonar ME007v1 and v2? See diferent crystal.
I ordered on Sure Electronic there on pictures was v2 and one member suggest to buy there v2 and I recieve v1
No body?
Old Nov 14, 2012, 04:07 PM
dgonano is offline
Find More Posts by dgonano
Registered User
okay does anyone know the deal with the RCtimer website? is it still selling stuff or whats going on?
Old Nov 14, 2012, 04:12 PM
TheFernMan is offline
Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgonano View Post
okay does anyone know the deal with the RCtimer website? is it still selling stuff or whats going on?
yea its been down all day (last 8 hours at least) so i bought somewhere else. they've been weird lately....
Old Nov 14, 2012, 04:14 PM
dgonano is offline
Find More Posts by dgonano
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFernMan View Post
yea its been down all day (last 8 hours at least) so i bought somewhere else. they've been weird lately....
I see.... Where is another place with quick shipping for the 3DRs or replicas?
Old Nov 14, 2012, 04:15 PM
RHTizzy is offline
Find More Posts by RHTizzy
Registered User
RHTizzy's Avatar
Haven't you heard, it's the great firewall of China ;-)
Old Nov 14, 2012, 04:34 PM
TheFernMan is offline
Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgonano View Post
I see.... Where is another place with quick shipping for the 3DRs or replicas?
witespy's store
Old Nov 14, 2012, 05:14 PM
Mochaboy is offline
Find More Posts by Mochaboy
Radd Graduate '06
Mochaboy's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaptenklister View Post
Hello guys,

I have been lurking this thread for a while and recently pulled the trigger on a AIOP board.

I have it all set up on my computer and the radio at the moment. I'm using a Futaba 8FG Super wich in this case mean that all flight mode switches have 3 positions.

I need some pointers on how to set this up.

My questions:
Acro mode is that the default mode, as in the mode that active if none of the options in controllsettings are active, correct?

Do I need to be in Auto level mode to arm(with throttle + yaw input)

I want to use this boart foa a AP plattform so the modes I'm most interested in are these:
- Auto Level
- Altitude Hold
- Heading Lock

- GPS Hold (once I get my gps, wich should arrive this week I hope)
Does gps hold require any other modes?

Does my settings seem ok?
How did you guys set it up?
I run Megapirate so take this with a grain of salt. I chose MPNG because of it's integration with AP Mission Planner and what I perceived to be a more robust feature set. After reading the various reviews of the different firmwares, I wanted something I could grow into feature wise and it hasn't disappointed yet.

As for your settings - I'm not sure what MWII calls it, but Step #1 Step #1 Step #1 (yes it bears repeating) is to do initial PID tuning in Stabilize Mode. You can't move on to any of the other flight modes until you get a stable platform in stabilize mode, because the other flight modes borrow or base parameters from this flight mode.

PID tuning is not that difficult - what you're trying to do is find the max value it will take then back off a few ticks. The defaults are pretty good so long as you're in the suggested weight range of your rig (i.e. not too heavy - not too light).

As for the other flight modes...Acro disables the 45 degree limits so you can do things like sport flying and flips and rolls. This will probably be the LAST mode you work on.

For me my progression went like this.
Stabilize PID tuning (in your case Stable/Level mode)
GPS Hold/Position Hold PID tuning
Guided (waypoints)
RTL (Return Home)

Altitude Hold I don't really use, but I can see how it would be useful for AP. I would say it's usefulness is limited unless you have sonar worked into your rig. To rely on the barometric pressure sensors for altitude alone probably won't cut it.

Heading hold could be useful for you as well since it maintains its heading for things like panning shots.

As for settings - I'll let the mwii guys chime in - if you do a search on the mwii thread you should see some posts for pid tunings that you can borrow just to get a sense for what kinds of changes and what ranges are possible.

Not sure if that helps - but welcome to the party - oh and look up megapirate and mission planner and see how that suits your needs.

Mocha


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Arduino and HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 or KKmulticontroller v5.5 pprioverde Multirotor Talk 31 Apr 14, 2016 02:58 AM
Discussion New updated Crius Multiwii SE flight controller SGsoar Multirotor Electronics 72 May 15, 2013 09:36 PM
Discussion Jim, any plans for more multi rotor flight controller? chris24g Xtreme Power Systems 12 Jun 25, 2012 09:11 PM
Sold One New, one used ArduPilot 2560 APM1.0 Flight Controlls/autopilots wingspinner FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 May 28, 2012 01:55 AM
Question Quad Build Using HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 (Atmega328 PA) SJackson Multirotor Talk 27 Apr 30, 2012 09:51 PM