Thread Tools
Oct 13, 2012, 11:35 AM
Registered User
zagi450t's Avatar
Is the Arduino Ultrasonic Module HC-SR04 any good with this board, and is it worth fitting.
Quad newby.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 13, 2012, 02:33 PM
member of TheBlindHawks
careyer's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Alex
Great idea, it must work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by truenet
I think you can do it only by code. First, you'll have to look on MPU6050 arduino library(I think it's on AP_Innertial something) and comment on mpu6050 intialization the part where it enable I2C bypass that makes the HMC on aux i2c works. Only comment this and connect your new magn board to I2C bus and it should work.
@careyer
You can comment(remove) all this lines.
Installed my external compass (magnetometer) just yesterday.

Works like a charm! =) -- Thank you truenet and Sir Alex! =)

Also installed my DYP-ME007 sonar ... same for that! Works perfectly!
Last edited by careyer; Oct 13, 2012 at 02:46 PM.
Oct 13, 2012, 03:51 PM
DVE
DVE
Registered User
How you disabled the internal one? Just removed it from board?
Oct 13, 2012, 04:10 PM
Registered User
janekx's Avatar
It can be done by software i thing
Oct 13, 2012, 04:51 PM
DVE
DVE
Registered User
No, its not too easy. i2c address is defined by hardware factory settings of the sensor.

Genuine APM 2.5 board have a jumper, that allow to switch off internal compass, but I'm not sure that it is present on AIO.
Oct 13, 2012, 11:07 PM
Registered User

3D radio


Hello guys
I got my new 3d radio telemetry system. it was working fine. but testing it and play around with it some how stop working after I clicked on "upload firmware"
button now it just show "getting parames (sysid1 compid1) and fail to connect.
I dont know how to fix this please help.
all the settings are correct on both .base and remote units.
CRIUS AIO and megapirates.
thanks
Oct 13, 2012, 11:12 PM
Registered User

3DRadio


3DRadio
Oct 14, 2012, 03:26 AM
Aleksey Kharlanov
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVE
No, its not too easy. i2c address is defined by hardware factory settings of the sensor.
Yes Internal compass connected to AUX line of MPU6050 not directly to I2C bus. So you can easily disable AUX line in MPU650 initialization and internal compas will be switched off.
Oct 14, 2012, 03:27 AM
Aleksey Kharlanov
Quote:
Originally Posted by zagi450t
Is the Arduino Ultrasonic Module HC-SR04 any good with this board, and is it worth fitting.
Quad newby.
I'm recommend you to buy DYP-ME007 v2.
Oct 14, 2012, 03:48 AM
making crashing a lifestyle!
dutchcommando's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jraulj
3DRadio
mine did the same via usb... my cable was bad, but the pc saw the crius.

i think there's something similar going on with yours.
you have connection via 3DR (com 21 is your 3DR right?)
but the protocol is missing somtehing...

remove the 3dr power down your quad and close the planner.
connect all again, start planner and try again without clicking the connect button in the top right corner. (only select the appropriate comport)
Oct 14, 2012, 04:05 AM
Ungifted Prodigy
Multor's Avatar
Im really having a trouble trying to figure out how to make Gimbal work on Megapirate

Is there an updated instruction for this?
I know that it connects to the top 3 pins on the esc rails
Ive got them connected then my gimbal just goes all the way to 1 point.
Hmmm help?
Oct 14, 2012, 05:35 AM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by astro_wanabe
That doesn't sound good - I was planning to use ftdi since my USB socket fell off! Has anyone else been able to get ftdi to work for flashing the board with MPNG?
I'd also be interested in getting the board communicating via FTDI since the micro USB connector fell off on second attempt without using pressure or force. It just fell off...

Is there a schematic anywhere where the FTDI port is described?
Oct 14, 2012, 05:40 AM
Registered User
Has anyone had any luck with the Maxbotix sonar units? Presumably they work in MegapirateNG?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Alex
I'm recommend you to buy DYP-ME007 v2.
Oct 14, 2012, 05:44 AM
Aleksey Kharlanov
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram
I'd also be interested in getting the board communicating via FTDI since the micro USB connector fell off on second attempt without using pressure or force. It just fell off...

Is there a schematic anywhere where the FTDI port is described?
Looks like you must desolder onboard FTDI chip to use external one.

@Andrew Radford,
Maxbotix does not supported by MPNG. Sorry.
Oct 14, 2012, 05:55 AM
Ungifted Prodigy
Multor's Avatar
Any help how to setup up gimbal?
This what happens when i just plug it in with no settings
But same thing i try to change the settings
http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/AC2_Camera

The paremeters are very different on MegaPirateNG
I tried to understand most of this
I activated MNT_STAB_TILT and ROLL which is the same with MPNG
Nothing happens, it still goes all the way to 1 side of the camera
Also Played with Some CAM Parameters
Still. it seem to just not work.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Arduino and HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 or KKmulticontroller v5.5 pprioverde Multirotor Drone Talk 33 May 28, 2017 11:40 AM
Discussion New updated Crius Multiwii SE flight controller SGsoar Multirotor Drone Electronics 72 May 15, 2013 08:36 PM
Discussion Jim, any plans for more multi rotor flight controller? chris24g Xtreme Power Systems 12 Jun 25, 2012 08:11 PM
Sold One New, one used ArduPilot 2560 APM1.0 Flight Controlls/autopilots wingspinner FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 May 28, 2012 12:55 AM
Question Quad Build Using HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 (Atmega328 PA) SJackson Multirotor Drone Talk 27 Apr 30, 2012 08:51 PM