CRIUS ALL IN ONE PRO v1.0 Multi Rotor Flight Controller - Page 168 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Oct 06, 2012, 05:52 PM
Registered User
Great to see your still here Jump07,your's Marty,your a star
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 06, 2012, 08:36 PM
Registered User
hey guys, are these ESC's okay to use with this board?
http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...9&productname=
i though they were but have just read some stuff saying their bad
is it better to use the blue series or F30s from HK instead? can i run these with stock firmware to start with? and then flash them with simonK later? i dont think i can flash them haha i don't understand the process/connections haha
Oct 06, 2012, 08:47 PM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgonano
hey guys, are these ESC's okay to use with this board?
http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...9&productname=
i though they were but have just read some stuff saying their bad
is it better to use the blue series or F30s from HK instead? can i run these with stock firmware to start with? and then flash them with simonK later? i dont think i can flash them haha i don't understand the process/connections haha
oh yea! you should go with the F-30A ESCs from HobbyKing.
BlueSeries have very similar hardware but programming pad are not in a row.

But those ESCs preflashed with SimonK from RCTimer are ok too. Its just that the F-30A have better hardware. (All N-Fet)

i was trying to find a post of someone that has some rctimer ones and he said he has no problems with them
Oct 06, 2012, 08:50 PM
Registered User
I can attest that the F-30A's are doing fine. Flashed them for my quad and they are very smooth.
Oct 06, 2012, 08:51 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFernMan
oh yea! you should go with the F-30A ESCs from HobbyKing.
BlueSeries have very similar hardware but programming pad are not in a row.

But those ESCs preflashed with SimonK from RCTimer are ok too. Its just that the F-30A have better hardware. (All N-Fet)

i was trying to find a post of someone that has some rctimer ones and he said he has no problems with them
okay so these ones to confirm?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=15205
i can run them with stock firmware to start with yeah? and flash them when i know a bit more :P
Oct 06, 2012, 08:55 PM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgonano
okay so these ones to confirm?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=15205
i can run them with stock firmware to start with yeah? and flash them when i know a bit more :P
yes! get them. everything will be fine. order a spare. order bullet connectors if you need them and some wires like 16 gauge.. if you need them

When you get them, think about flashing them. its really easier than you think.

Look at this video
Flashing SimonK Firmware on a 20 amp HK esc (12 min 30 sec)
Oct 06, 2012, 09:02 PM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
Get the atmel programmer too. You need it at some point.
Oct 06, 2012, 09:04 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFernMan
Get the atmel programmer too. You need it at some point.
Yes thats in my list of stuff to order
Oct 06, 2012, 09:04 PM
Principal Member
compuatic's Avatar
Guys what frequency setting are you using for thr ESCs?
Oct 06, 2012, 09:06 PM
making crashing a lifestyle!
dutchcommando's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgonano
okay so these ones to confirm?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=15205
i can run them with stock firmware to start with yeah? and flash them when i know a bit more :P
yes, they are ok stock..
just program to the correct settings:
batt type: NIxx
brake: off
protection mode: low
timing: auto
startup :normal


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFernMan
yes! get them. everything will be fine. order a spare. order bullet connectors if you need them and some wires like 16 gauge.. if you need them

When you get them, think about flashing them. its really easier than you think.

Look at this video
www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZsT0agRZMY
also add with the above list the atmega socket firmware flashing tool.

i makes programming your esc's easier than a walk in in the park and you can flash 80% of the esc's used for multicopters easy.

i have one and i did 9 esc's (octocopter + one spare esc) within three minutes!
works like a charm.. well worth the money!
Oct 06, 2012, 09:26 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by dutchcommando
yes, they are ok stock..
just program to the correct settings:
batt type: NIxx
brake: off
protection mode: low
timing: auto
startup :normal
wait.... battery set to Nimh or LiPo? i thought LiPo would be the one?

Do i need to buy that programming card then?
Last edited by dgonano; Oct 06, 2012 at 09:39 PM.
Oct 06, 2012, 10:15 PM
Rana
Why any of the Arducopter compatible versions of MPNG does not compile for HIL ?
Oct 06, 2012, 10:31 PM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgonano
wait.... battery set to Nimh or LiPo? i thought LiPo would be the one?

Do i need to buy that programming card then?
Yes and no lol
ESCs CAN be programmed with the remote but it's a PITA (pain in the )
You used the programming card to set the options for the ESC faster.


But If you flash them when you get it, no. The SimonK firmware is optimized for Multirotors. So you don't have to program those options.
Oct 06, 2012, 10:31 PM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by narpat007
why any of the arducopter compatible versions of mpng does not compile for hil ?
hil?
Oct 06, 2012, 10:36 PM
making crashing a lifestyle!
dutchcommando's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgonano
wait.... battery set to Nimh or LiPo? i thought LiPo would be the one?

Do i need to buy that programming card then?
no lipo!set as NIxx (NIMH NICD etc)

granted the lipo setting saves a lipo from deep discharging...
but it saves the lipo by cutting all power to the motor. and a multi without power to the motors is brick... and bricks don't fly.
to prevent the transformation from multi to brick. (and crashing down and destroying your multi) we all set cutoff to NIxx.

lipo cutoff happens at 3.3 volts per cell. NIxx at 0.9 volts per cell. so if the esc is told it is connected to NIxx batteries it will cut off all power under 1 volt. so your multi will kill your lipo but it won't crash.

i hope it's understandable now why we DON'T WANT TO SET THE ESC TO LIPO.

a programming card is handy if you have non flashed esc's, once flashed you don't need the card anymore.
you will use the card only once per esc. you program the right settigns (NIxx!) and you are done with it.
the programming card saves you a lot of hassle. without the card you have to use your transmitter and ears.. the esc beeps a certain set of beeps and you have to react with the throttle stick... programming one esc this way is a pain.. now with a quad you have to do it 4 times...
buying a card (the correct one!) is worth the money.
but it's even better to buy the socket programmer (and a usbapp programmer if you not already own one) and flash your esc's to simonK firmware..

the simonK firmware makes the esc's respond much faster, resulting in a smoother and more stable flight. also the esc's will have no cut off and no need for programming any more. the firmware is specially made for multicopters.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Arduino and HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 or KKmulticontroller v5.5 pprioverde Multirotor Drone Talk 33 May 28, 2017 12:40 PM
Discussion New updated Crius Multiwii SE flight controller SGsoar Multirotor Drone Electronics 72 May 15, 2013 09:36 PM
Discussion Jim, any plans for more multi rotor flight controller? chris24g Xtreme Power Systems 12 Jun 25, 2012 09:11 PM
Sold One New, one used ArduPilot 2560 APM1.0 Flight Controlls/autopilots wingspinner FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 May 28, 2012 01:55 AM
Question Quad Build Using HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 (Atmega328 PA) SJackson Multirotor Drone Talk 27 Apr 30, 2012 09:51 PM