Thread Tools
Oct 05, 2012, 12:45 PM
NDw
NDw
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by liorz055
As opposed to Fpv airplane in quad the video tx and the remote control receiver are very close to each other and the range reduced dramatically . The same setup (frsky and 1.2 mhz fox 800 ) that I used and got 1km with my Bixler in my 450 quad the ranged reduced to 50m!!!
Now I am moving to UHF system (dragon link ) in order to enjoy Fpv with my quad .
Get one of these for your 1.3 vtx and you will get at least a few 100 meters of range.

The harmonics from the 1.3 vtx kill the range of 2.4ghz control if you don't use a filter.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 05, 2012, 01:23 PM
FPV it is!
I got my new 3DR radio system installed and I have to say it's great making adjustments live without having to plug the quad into the computer with a usb cable. Makes tuning alot faster and less hassle.

Now if I could only figure out why my quad's yaw drifts...
Oct 05, 2012, 01:39 PM
Registered User
How childish can people get,someone tries to help the community by putting information in one place and gets BANNED,surely the idea of the forum is to help one another,this is rubbish,and the mods should sort it out,just my thought's,Marty.
Oct 05, 2012, 02:15 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDw
Get one of these for your 1.3 vtx and you will get at least a few 100 meters of range.

The harmonics from the 1.3 vtx kill the range of 2.4ghz control if you don't use a filter.
I am using 1.3mhz low-pass filter :
http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=484

Without it the range on my bixler decrease to 300 meter. If you want to enjoy Fpv in Israel you must switch into UHF .
Oct 05, 2012, 02:56 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpy07
I used the throttle input pin input to get it working ..A8 , yes un-comment that line.
That worked, thanks! Just had to set the TX to standard to have the main channels in a correct way for my mode 2 transmitter.
Oct 05, 2012, 03:03 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Titus Gordon
I got my new 3DR radio system installed and I have to say it's great making adjustments live without having to plug the quad into the computer with a usb cable. Makes tuning alot faster and less hassle.

Now if I could only figure out why my quad's yaw drifts...
If it drifts slowly over a minute or so there is not a lot you can do other than enabling the onboard compass, gyros always drift a little like that. I term will help for drift that occurs within seconds.
Oct 05, 2012, 03:32 PM
Principal Member
compuatic's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by compuatic
can someone please post a snapshot or advice on where to find the default PIDs in megapirateNG? I have been playing around in mine and didn't write down the defaults...
Please?
Oct 05, 2012, 03:33 PM
NDw
NDw
Registered User
Some fpv in the garden on a windless day (ground recording).

Addictive.
Crius AIOP Megapirateng Fpv (5 min 59 sec)
Oct 05, 2012, 03:51 PM
Principal Member
compuatic's Avatar
NDW and Titus, can you guys post your latest PIDs please?
Oct 05, 2012, 03:57 PM
NDw
NDw
Registered User
These are my latest although I havn't been playing with loiter ect recently

Oct 05, 2012, 04:06 PM
FPV it is!
Quote:
Originally Posted by npre
If it drifts slowly over a minute or so there is not a lot you can do other than enabling the onboard compass, gyros always drift a little like that. I term will help for drift that occurs within seconds.
which I term are you refering too? rate, stabilize or stabilize yaw or rate yaw?

My compass is enabled because I have a GPS onboard, but the GPS seems to have stopped working (it worked one time and since I can't get a GPS lock)...
Last edited by Titus Gordon; Oct 05, 2012 at 04:11 PM.
Oct 05, 2012, 04:09 PM
FPV it is!
Quote:
Originally Posted by compuatic
NDW and Titus, can you guys post your latest PIDs please?
I just put some new motors and gear on my quad last night and reflashed it, so I have to start tuning all over, so I have nothing useful to post atm. But I'll post them when I have something worthwhile.
Oct 05, 2012, 04:13 PM
Principal Member
compuatic's Avatar
NDW, what motor kv / props are you using?
Oct 05, 2012, 04:16 PM
NDw
NDw
Registered User
1200 kv and 8 x 4.5 props on 3 cell. And on a 450 frame.
Oct 05, 2012, 04:21 PM
Principal Member
compuatic's Avatar
Thanks! I'm using 980kvs, 8x4.5 on a 4S. Spider frame. should be close.

I spent an hour dialing in the parameters yesterday. No oscillations at this point but i feel that stabilization should be better. The quad isn't unstable by any means but i am constantly correcting to keep it from wandering around. I'm not sure what to play with to keep it more steady. Altitude is constantly changing as well, its either drifting up slowly or down slowly (not using altitude hold).


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Arduino and HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 or KKmulticontroller v5.5 pprioverde Multirotor Drone Talk 32 Today 02:20 AM
Discussion New updated Crius Multiwii SE flight controller SGsoar Multirotor Drone Electronics 72 May 15, 2013 08:36 PM
Discussion Jim, any plans for more multi rotor flight controller? chris24g Xtreme Power Systems 12 Jun 25, 2012 08:11 PM
Sold One New, one used ArduPilot 2560 APM1.0 Flight Controlls/autopilots wingspinner FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 May 28, 2012 12:55 AM
Question Quad Build Using HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 (Atmega328 PA) SJackson Multirotor Drone Talk 27 Apr 30, 2012 08:51 PM