DIY Headtracker (Easy build, No drift, OpenSource) - Page 56 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Nov 28, 2012, 06:06 AM
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
hfest,

Did you try loading the simple LED flasher demo into the Adduino to check it that way.

I bought both boards from Goodluckbuy because there were problems between DX and Paypal, no problems with the ones from GLB apart from the 3 week delivery time.

A.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 28, 2012, 07:03 AM
Registered User
Isn't it time to remove the links to DX.com from the first page? The hardware from DX is cheap, but it seems only 50% of the units work as they should.

I spent several days trying to get my DX Arduino and GY85 to work, but never succeeded. The hardware from Goodluckbuy worked right away. Of course I might have been lucky...but I think the price difference really gets you better hardware.
Nov 28, 2012, 08:12 AM
Registered User
Gabek's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by XDreamer
Isn't it time to remove the links to DX.com from the first page? The hardware from DX is cheap, but it seems only 50% of the units work as they should.

I spent several days trying to get my DX Arduino and GY85 to work, but never succeeded. The hardware from Goodluckbuy worked right away. Of course I might have been lucky...but I think the price difference really gets you better hardware.
Hi,

I bought it from DX also, but my did work well, and still does.

Keep in mind that this board comes without boot loader for sure:
Link

I had to borrow a Usbasp to burn bootloader.

And i bought this sensor: Link

Gábor
Nov 28, 2012, 08:17 AM
KISS
hefest's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyOne
hfest,

Did you try loading the simple LED flasher demo into the Adduino to check it that way.

I bought both boards from Goodluckbuy because there were problems between DX and Paypal, no problems with the ones from GLB apart from the 3 week delivery time.

A.
Well, no bootloader==no possibility to upload anything.
Flashing new bootloader via ICSP also failed.
Nov 28, 2012, 08:19 AM
Registered User
Gabek's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by hefest
Well, no bootloader==no possibility to upload anything.
Flashing new bootloader via ICSP also failed.
Did you use arduino, to upload boot loader, and selected right board?
Nov 28, 2012, 08:20 AM
KISS
hefest's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabek
Did you use arduino, to upload boot loader, and selected right board?
Tried using arduino, but the thing is OS is reporting broken USB device, both Linux and Windows.
Nov 28, 2012, 08:25 AM
Registered User
Gabek's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by hefest
Tried using arduino, but the thing is OS is reporting broken USB device, both Linux and Windows.
Ok.

Just to make sure. Did you try to upload bootloader trough the boards own port?

I am asking, because that is not possible.
By FTDI you simply can't.

You need an external 6 pin (or a 10 pin if you know how to connect it) AVR programmer.

I think the cheapest way is this: Link

Gábor
Nov 28, 2012, 08:27 AM
KISS
hefest's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabek
Ok.

Just to make sure. Did you try to upload bootloader trough the boards own port?

I am asking, because that is not possible.
By FTDI you simply can't.

You need an external 6 pin (or a 10 pin if you know how to connect it) AVR programmer.

I think the cheapest way is this: Link

Gábor
Yes, i have exactly that AVR programer and tried flashing bootloader with it with no luck, OS is reporting broken USB device.
Poweron led turns on, the rx led flashed red few times and that's it.
I didnt check pin-by-pin 6pin cable and connections on Arduino Nano DX clone if those are aligned correctly.
Nov 28, 2012, 08:36 AM
Registered User
Gabek's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by hefest
Yes, i have exactly that AVR programer and tried flashing bootloader with it with no luck, OS is reporting broken USB device.
Poweron led turns on, the rx led flashed red few times and that's it.
I didnt check pin-by-pin 6pin cable and connections on Arduino Nano DX clone if those are aligned correctly.
Well if you power it trough AVR programer than usb connection does not matters as it is not even connected.

Than if boot loader burning goes well than you can try. If still the same error, try this:

connect the USB cable to the board, than hang it on the wire, so the board will not touch a thing. Than connect it to the computer.

Also try more than one cable if you have.

This board is very sensitive.
Nov 28, 2012, 08:38 AM
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
Hello,
just seeing if anyone has one for sale or will make me one for a Futaba 9c.
you can send me a PM.
Thanks G
Nov 28, 2012, 08:38 AM
KISS
hefest's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabek
Well if you power it trough AVR programer than usb connection does not matters as it is not even connected.

Than if boot loader burning goes well than you can try. If still the same error, try this:

connect the USB cable to the board, than hang it on the wire, so the board will not touch a thing. Than connect it to the computer.

Also try more than one cable if you have.

This board is very sensitive.
I did try several different USB cables and holding it away from everything to avoid shorting out and similar with same results.
Nov 28, 2012, 08:46 AM
Registered User
Gabek's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by hefest
I did try several different USB cables and holding it away from everything to avoid shorting out and similar with same results.
But did boot loader take?

Also my is interfering with 72 Mhz. when my transmitter was on i had the same error.
I had to use shielded cables.
Now it works as it should.

Just ordered an LRS modul Will see what happens
Last edited by Gabek; Nov 28, 2012 at 09:01 AM.
Nov 28, 2012, 11:20 AM
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-unit
Hello,
just seeing if anyone has one for sale or will make me one for a Futaba 9c.
you can send me a PM.
Thanks G
Even if you bought the NDHT ready-made you would still have to calibrate it in place on your video-goggles because of their magnetic field.

A.
Nov 28, 2012, 12:08 PM
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyOne
Even if you bought the NDHT ready-made you would still have to calibrate it in place on your video-goggles because of their magnetic field.

A.
Yes i understand that,
but thanks for the info.
Nov 28, 2012, 10:49 PM
Registered User
FYI:

I was just able to build a third, perfectly functioning headtracker. The key is to keep the gy-85 separate from the arduino with a length of wire and to calibrate the magnetometer by holding the sensorboard with the components up in the first step instead of down as they are shown in the GUI.

I tried using the exact same components in another headtracker earlier without success. I was having a constant twitching of the servos along with pan returning to zero. I decided to try again using the techniques that I described above and it worked beautifully.

I used components that were purchased from three different vendors to build each of the three headtrackers, though none were from DX.

capn


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Diy osd (Arduino and opensource) Dennis Frie FPV Equipment 2507 Oct 11, 2017 04:41 PM
Discussion PPM to PWM circuit for headtracker 38cjc38 DIY Electronics 18 Mar 04, 2011 07:43 AM
Question Adding additional PPM inputs to a headtracker/module setup. SebastianJ FPV Talk 0 Aug 19, 2009 08:38 AM
Question Adding additional PPM inputs to a headtracker. SebastianJ DIY Electronics 0 Aug 18, 2009 04:37 PM