Thread Tools
Old Jul 26, 2012, 06:53 AM
Tahoe Ed is offline
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by shdwkeeper View Post
For all of you preorder customers out there.

Are you having to disassemble the entire landing gear to get this thing back into the case.

Would love to hear opinions on taking this thing apart and putting it back into the case just to take it back out again to go flying.

Can you leave any part of the landing gear together? Photos would be great.
That is what I do. Takes me about 5 mins to put away and 7 to put back together. Not a big deal in my opinion. I have taken mine through TSA screening and traveled in the overhead bin. Works great. I take a rolling backpack with my Tx, lipos and charger. Who needs cloths?
Site Sponsor
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 26, 2012, 10:23 AM
UAVProducts is offline
Find More Posts by UAVProducts
Registered User
Yep, landing gear and Z15 stay together and in a Box. Hmmm.....I guess I will have to get some custom traveling boxes going as an option.
Old Jul 26, 2012, 12:00 PM
filmer is offline
Find More Posts by filmer
Registered User
Hi guys,
I am new owner of S800 and zenmuse.
This combo is simply amazing for many reasons: perfect video stabilizing, easy assemble and disassemble, easy piloting, easy traveling.
My only doubt is for high motor & esc temperature... untouchables!!!
I am from 2 years spent with MK and totally new with DJI, first of all I will fly a lot S800 without zenmuse :-) but with equal playload for emulating the final flight.

One question:
- I have 2,4 ghz data link and I need to attach Zenmuse's CAN-port... but no free port :-(
What can I do? Can I make Y by my self?

Thank you, RIKI.
Old Jul 26, 2012, 02:52 PM
Dolby is offline
Find More Posts by Dolby
Needs more bacon!
Dolby's Avatar
I've got the S800 and Z15 in a Pelican 1620, is there something more carry on friendly that it can squeeze into instead? Has any one been able to squeeze those two items into the TSA friendly Pelican 1510?
Old Jul 26, 2012, 03:42 PM
UAVProducts is offline
Find More Posts by UAVProducts
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
I've got the S800 and Z15 in a Pelican 1620, is there something more carry on friendly that it can squeeze into instead? Has any one been able to squeeze those two items into the TSA friendly Pelican 1510?
For the money, look into hardcase luggage.

When I find the right ones I will post. The landing gear with Z15 needs a 18x18 x16h no matter what. A cube basically. That is why a custom case might be needed. I'm going to look into a lightweight strong version on Monday and start carrying them if happy.
Old Jul 26, 2012, 04:47 PM
Dolby is offline
Find More Posts by Dolby
Needs more bacon!
Dolby's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by UAVProducts View Post
For the money, look into hardcase luggage.

When I find the right ones I will post. The landing gear with Z15 needs a 18x18 x16h no matter what. A cube basically. That is why a custom case might be needed. I'm going to look into a lightweight strong version on Monday and start carrying them if happy.
Oh so you don't want to take apart the landing gear at all?
Old Jul 26, 2012, 05:19 PM
helicoblast is offline
Find More Posts by helicoblast
Registered User
I was thinking on building a custom case for X8 heavy lifter and found this site.
Have a look, could be interesting:
http://megacase.de/en/
Old Jul 26, 2012, 05:30 PM
UAVProducts is offline
Find More Posts by UAVProducts
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
Oh so you don't want to take apart the landing gear at all?
Exactly, it defeats the whole purpose I feel. I want to mount the S800, plug in Z15 cables, Lipo and hit record and go fly.

I just wish someone would come up with Quick connects for the landing gear and Z15. Hmmm.....maybe I need to drop a Z15 off at the machine shop and have them work some magic.
Old Jul 26, 2012, 05:48 PM
Dolby is offline
Find More Posts by Dolby
Needs more bacon!
Dolby's Avatar
That would be cool having a quick disconnect for the Z15, thats the only thing making things slow (although not that slow but enough to make it a tad annoying). You'd only need the quick disconnects on the back half of the z15 because the front half can just slide off by un-tightening the screws a little and you can swap those out with some nice thumb screws. One hurdle is the quick disconnect can't stick up to high because there isnt a lot of room between the copter frame and the landing gear equipment rails. The landing gear come apart fast, and the new battery tray comes apart fast so the Z15 is the only thing really.

Something like this would be cool...
Last edited by Dolby; Jul 26, 2012 at 06:20 PM.
Old Jul 26, 2012, 10:13 PM
sidneyw is offline
Find More Posts by sidneyw
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by filmer View Post
Hi guys,
I am new owner of S800 and zenmuse.
This combo is simply amazing for many reasons: perfect video stabilizing, easy assemble and disassemble, easy piloting, easy traveling.
My only doubt is for high motor & esc temperature... untouchables!!!
I am from 2 years spent with MK and totally new with DJI, first of all I will fly a lot S800 without zenmuse :-) but with equal playload for emulating the final flight.

One question:
- I have 2,4 ghz data link and I need to attach Zenmuse's CAN-port... but no free port :-(
What can I do? Can I make Y by my self?

Thank you, RIKI.
There will be cable special made cable available in a few weeks.
Site Sponsor
Old Jul 26, 2012, 10:46 PM
piscaj is offline
Find More Posts by piscaj
Registered User
piscaj's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidneyw View Post
There will be cable special made cable available in a few weeks.
+1 - I have the same problem . Thanks sidneyw
Old Jul 27, 2012, 07:00 AM
filmer is offline
Find More Posts by filmer
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by piscaj View Post
+1 - I have the same problem . Thanks sidneyw
I hope it will be ready first part of september!

Another thing: With Zenmuse IR for sony Nex we can control only shutter... but for example I have CamRemote2pro that control Shutter and Video Recording just using 3 position switcher... very usefully!! I hope DJI upgrade can do the same.
Old Jul 27, 2012, 01:04 PM
a1ik is offline
Find More Posts by a1ik
Registered User
a1ik's Avatar
I've just got my own S800. It was manufactured in July '12 after all the fixes of the ESC overheat problem. It still suffers the problem with landing gears braces and rod ends.
Old Jul 27, 2012, 01:20 PM
jasper7821 is offline
Find More Posts by jasper7821
Registered User
mine too that I had then sold a while ago had the rods bowing when installed.
I would have thought for sure that would have been addressed.

Man, I really miss that S800
Old Jul 27, 2012, 02:19 PM
topgearuk is offline
Find More Posts by topgearuk
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
Does anyone know the gain settings for the S-800 and Z-15 running fw5.12a?

It's ready to fly apart from that


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion My DJI Spreading Wings S800 just came in the mail and I think I'm in trouble jasper7821 Multirotor Talk 219 Oct 16, 2012 06:11 PM
New Product DJI Spreading Wings S-800 Hexa multi-rotor sidneyw Multirotor Talk 930 Jun 22, 2012 11:14 AM
Discussion DJI Spread Wings S800 and Zenmuse Z15 prices are out! tpnitro Multirotor Talk 120 Jun 19, 2012 02:27 AM
Discussion DJI S800 Spreading Wings has landed at Quadcopters UK Headquarters QuadcoptersUk Multirotor Talk 8 May 14, 2012 02:27 PM
Discussion Dji Spreading Wings (S800) coming Huluhulu Multirotor Talk 7 Apr 27, 2012 04:11 AM