Thread Tools
Old Dec 04, 2012, 10:20 PM
georgez is offline
Find More Posts by georgez
C'mon Man!
georgez's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by alumina View Post
is it mandatory to cal the ESCs when upgrading FM?
I see many people having problems with that
I didn't re-calibrate my ESC's after I reflashed with FW1.4 on my previous build and flew great.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 05, 2012, 12:21 AM
rcroadtrain is offline
Find More Posts by rcroadtrain
Registered User
rcroadtrain's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acit View Post
Hi

I encountered this too when calibrating the ESC on my KK2.0 (fw 1.4). So meaning to say that I'm on the right track on calibrating my ESC?
I just want to confirm this.

Thank you.
Yes, its the message that you want to see.

make sure throttle is on full, Tx turned on, pull M1, power the escs, hold the buttons, plug M1 back in (while holding the buttons down). You should see the message, and hear your escs/motors 'beep'.. reduce throttle to min, should hear another beep.
Done.
Old Dec 05, 2012, 12:23 AM
rcroadtrain is offline
Find More Posts by rcroadtrain
Registered User
rcroadtrain's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgez View Post
I didn't re-calibrate my ESC's after I reflashed with FW1.4 on my previous build and flew great.
If you've calibrated your escs once, they shouldnt need calibrating again.
I upset the cal in mine by powering on and off too many times, too quickily.
Old Dec 05, 2012, 01:03 AM
theothercliff is offline
Find More Posts by theothercliff
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by alumina View Post
is it mandatory to cal the ESCs when upgrading FM?
I see many people having problems with that
I thought I heard that the pulse width range had been modified in the latest code. I would recalibrate because of this unless it was a big pain. Others claim that it is not needed.
Old Dec 05, 2012, 01:17 AM
Zuluhawk is offline
Find More Posts by Zuluhawk
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by theothercliff View Post
The link is broken. Here is the correct link.
Many thanks for your support!
Have a nice day
Old Dec 05, 2012, 01:23 AM
Zuluhawk is offline
Find More Posts by Zuluhawk
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrym View Post
Very nice and stable.
You are a better pilot than I am.


Also very pretty scenery with the mountains in the background

Thanks!
. Have a nice day
Old Dec 05, 2012, 01:57 AM
HappySundays is offline
Find More Posts by HappySundays
OpenAeroVTOL developer
HappySundays's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgez View Post
I saw the same thing on my board FW 1.4 and I just stopped the calibration process when the motors started spinning. I have a bad ESC so I'm waiting for a new one to arrive so I can try it again.
Any suggestions?
If the motors started to spin during "calibration" then you did it wrong.
If you do calibration correctly the motors will not spin until you finish the process, then repower the board and ESCs.
Old Dec 05, 2012, 02:32 AM
kcleong18 is offline
Find More Posts by kcleong18
Registered User

My first Quad - Maiden video


Done this video last Sunday . My first Quadrotor... Never flown a quad before although I can hover a 6ch heli. KK2.0 settings as recommended in post #1. Frame is a HK SK450 with Turnigy D2822/17 motors , 8040 props and 12A HK BlueSeries Escs standard. AUW with a 2200mAH lipo is about 910g. Flew like a Belt CP so will be doing tuning in the coming weeks.

SK450 KK2 maiden flight (HD) (3 min 59 sec)


Nope , havn't finished reading this forum yet

Kc
Old Dec 05, 2012, 02:46 AM
srepfler is offline
Find More Posts by srepfler
Registered User
srepfler's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by COCO2010 View Post
....very nice flying my friend...as always. Thanks for sharing.
Thanks.
I see that you upgraded more rotors to 1.5, did you need to change parameters or last was good ( or default)?
Old Dec 05, 2012, 02:56 AM
rcjose is offline
Find More Posts by rcjose
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrym View Post
Rise of the Machines

http://youtu.be/20JCGDwBt7A
Great video. Don't worry America. The AMA will protect you from the thousands of drones that will supposedly be flying around....not!
Old Dec 05, 2012, 04:29 AM
GSD is offline
GSD
Find More Posts by GSD
GSD
Productions
GSD's Avatar

Motor warning!!!!


Hi everybody, this is a warning concerning the known NTM motors (and HK support)

Have my quad with 4 NTM 2826 (1200kv) brand new with Turnigy plush 30A flying for about 6-7 flights...

Before some days i was testing my adjustments on KK2.0 and suddenly my second motor STOPPED just like this!!!!!!!!!

Of course the quad flipped like a flash!!!!!!... After this everything was working perfect!!.. I was looking at it, surprised and wondering what the h3ll was happened!

Finally after playing with throttle up-down i noticed that the STATOR of this motor was moving INSIDE the motor!!!!! (in the opposite direction everytime that throttle was up.. (thrust))

This movement was changing the Timing and of course if it was too much the speed control was confused and stopped!!! I disassembled the motor and for my surprise again the stator was removed freely by hands.. no glue.. no nothing!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I know... i know what people will say.. ok HK quality products... etc...

Just sharing this to remind that on a multicopter ANYTHING can go wrong!!! And the most ridiculous part of course was the response from support!!!... Finally they wanted to send it back.. ok.. this motor costs 14$... i don't care at all... but at least they could respect the customers and the product results!!!... And just say... that they will take care of better quality control...

thank you
Old Dec 05, 2012, 04:30 AM
CO2X is offline
Find More Posts by CO2X
Registered User
CO2X's Avatar

1.5v


Quote:
Originally Posted by srepfler View Post
Thanks.
I see that you upgraded more rotors to 1.5, did you need to change parameters or last was good ( or default)?
I did flash my TALON V2, HEX, TRICOPTER,VTAIL ,Y6 , MINI TRI and the DUALCOPTER and not the 4X4 QUAD yet. I just calibrated the acc and the rest are at default and I can't really complain the way they are all flying. Only the Dualcopter that I have to enter the settings again,the 1.5 v default did not work well on it and it's flying good now.
Old Dec 05, 2012, 04:56 AM
srepfler is offline
Find More Posts by srepfler
Registered User
srepfler's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by COCO2010 View Post
I did flash my TALON V2, HEX, TRICOPTER,VTAIL ,Y6 , MINI TRI and the DUALCOPTER and not the 4X4 QUAD yet. I just calibrated the acc and the rest are at default and I can't really complain the way they are all flying. Only the Dualcopter that I have to enter the settings again,the 1.5 v default did not work well on it and it's flying good now.
Good result,
previous default 1.0-1.2 for self level ( 40 20) was better for me, 100 is to high.
new default for P and I are lower and suite most flyers, but if you can bum them up you get much more stable flight, they are good start point.
Yaw P 150 from 1.0 is good for me, new 50 makes tail drift.
But for start definitely better values (except self level).
Old Dec 05, 2012, 06:34 AM
Del-Dredd is offline
Find More Posts by Del-Dredd
Registered User
Del-Dredd's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by WalneyCol View Post
Does anyone know if it's safe to flash new firmware while my esc's and reciever inputs are still plugged into my kk2 board.

Not turned on or powered of course - just left connected - I haven't much finger room inside my box built h-frame and it's a sod to get at the plugs.

Cheers.

Col.
I have flashed the two i have in use up to 1.4 with everything connected, no issues.
Old Dec 05, 2012, 06:34 AM
theothercliff is offline
Find More Posts by theothercliff
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuluhawk View Post
Many thanks for your support!
Have a nice day
Thank you for the kind words.
I hope to flying like that with a KK2 soon if my HobbyKing order ever gets here!