New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Sep 04, 2012, 09:47 AM
rcjose is offline
Find More Posts by rcjose
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by hefest View Post
I did that, but the collet style prop adapters i tried (3 different sets) were still out of balance enough to produce vibration which makes it impossible to record a video with CMOS camera.....Just frustrated with inability to reduce the amount of vibrations to acceptable level (no jello).
Once you have the props balanced (both blade and hub) place them on the motors and then re-check the balance on each motor. Balancing the prop and the motor is referred to as dynamic balancing and involves rotating the prop 15 - 45 degrees at a time to get the two balanced together. FliteTest.com did a video on it.

I am assuming by a CMOS camera you mean one of the small keychain cameras like the #16 808? The best way I have found to reduce the jello is to either mass mount (strap rigidliy) the camera to a solid object, such as the main lipo battery or to mount the camera on an anti-vibration mount of some type. I have a few videos on my youtube channel rcjoseb showing different tests. Mass mounting forces the camera to vibrate at the same rate as the LIPO pack and helps with the jello a bit,

I can say from exoerience that a camera mount that works on one quad will not work on another because each quad vibrates differently so it's best to make your own. I have used foam, rubber, silicone gel and even silicone ear plugs. Some have worked better than others.

On a DJI flamewheel I was able to completely remove the jello by mounting an additional DJI plate (the small one) above the existing plate using four screws and grommets. This isolated the new top plate from the lower plate and reduced the vibrations. I then mounted the keychain #16 camera to that using foam.

You're going to have to play with it. It's a try this, try that affair.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 04, 2012, 11:01 AM
sandman_br is offline
Find More Posts by sandman_br
Registered User
sandman_br's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcjose View Post
I like the SunnySky X2212. Got them from HiModel.com

http://www.himodel.com/electric/SUNN...r_Version.html
What prop and PI gain do you use with this motors?

Im using same motors and 9x4.7 prop but i cant find a good PI values. If i increase gain my quad dont mantain altitute, if i decrease it get unstable.
Old Sep 04, 2012, 11:01 AM
kenkamm is online now
Find More Posts by kenkamm
Registered User
Can the kk2 board be used for a simple aileron function with a single servo in an airplane? I am trying to set it up on the bench and I must not be connecting something right because when armed nothing happens. If I tilt the board back and forth the servo doesn't respond at all. Would someone be able to explain to me what connections are needed for just aileron control? I figured all I should need would be a single input (aileron from the Rx) and a single servo connected to one of the M outputs (which one?) and then the board itself is powered from my ESC (plugged into where?)

Thanks,
Ken
Old Sep 04, 2012, 11:04 AM
vikedal is offline
Find More Posts by vikedal
Registered User
Hi.
Is it possible to connect lights to the kk2? For example that they blink faater when the battery reatch the low voltage alarm?
Old Sep 04, 2012, 11:34 AM
e_lm_70 is offline
Find More Posts by e_lm_70
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenkamm View Post
Can the kk2 board be used for a simple aileron function with a single servo in an airplane? I am trying to set it up on the bench and I must not be connecting something right because when armed nothing happens. If I tilt the board back and forth the servo doesn't respond at all. Would someone be able to explain to me what connections are needed for just aileron control? I figured all I should need would be a single input (aileron from the Rx) and a single servo connected to one of the M outputs (which one?) and then the board itself is powered from my ESC (plugged into where?)

Thanks,
Ken
Yes ... use the HappySunday firmware for this: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1708175

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikedal View Post
Hi.
Is it possible to connect lights to the kk2? For example that they blink faater when the battery reatch the low voltage alarm?
Why ?

You have already a buzzer for it ... but ... yes ... it could be possible to implement it ... maybe just assign the buzzer pin to the led pin ... and recompile the firmware

Tchuss

e_lm_70
Old Sep 04, 2012, 11:48 AM
rcjose is offline
Find More Posts by rcjose
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandman_br View Post
What prop and PI gain do you use with this motors?

Im using same motors and 9x4.7 prop but i cant find a good PI values. If i increase gain my quad dont mantain altitute, if i decrease it get unstable.
Pgain of around 150 and iGain of around 75. I am using simon k esc's.
Old Sep 04, 2012, 11:57 AM
kenkamm is online now
Find More Posts by kenkamm
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by e_lm_70 View Post
Yes ... use the HappySunday firmware for this: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1708175

None of the included modes will work? Why not? I want to be able to use the auto level function too.

Thanks,
Ken
Old Sep 04, 2012, 12:13 PM
e_lm_70 is offline
Find More Posts by e_lm_70
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenkamm View Post
Can the kk2 board be used for a simple aileron function with a single servo in an airplane? I am trying to set it up on the bench and I must not be connecting something right because when armed nothing happens. If I tilt the board back and forth the servo doesn't respond at all. Would someone be able to explain to me what connections are needed for just aileron control? I figured all I should need would be a single input (aileron from the Rx) and a single servo connected to one of the M outputs (which one?) and then the board itself is powered from my ESC (plugged into where?)

Thanks,
Ken
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenkamm View Post
None of the included modes will work? Why not? I want to be able to use the auto level function too.

Thanks,
Ken
I still think HappySunday firmware is better ... at least he has more experience on the Aeroplane mode ...

Anyhow .... yes, there are 3 modes for aeroplanes ...

I will suggest to use Firmware 1.2 since it has some fixing on the jittering servo (Mr. KK added some filtering) ....

Anyhow , your main problem is that once you plug the ESC on the Motor 1 position, you will just power the KK board and the RX ... the servo on the other M2 to M8 will not get any power ... servo are noisy ... so these have been isolated by design, so you need a bec for power your servos.

In the mixer page you will see all the plug involved ... and you can also fix them ...

I did never try it ... so ... I don't know much ...

What it is looking like that compared to Aero2 from HappySunday ... it is not possible to select the flyght mode: normal (no assistance), stabilized/acro (gyro only) autolevel/fpv grampa mode (gyro+acc) ...

Tchuss

e_lm_70
Old Sep 04, 2012, 12:36 PM
kenkamm is online now
Find More Posts by kenkamm
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by e_lm_70 View Post
I still think HappySunday firmware is better ... at least he has more experience on the Aeroplane mode ...

Anyhow .... yes, there are 3 modes for aeroplanes ...

I will suggest to use Firmware 1.2 since it has some fixing on the jittering servo (Mr. KK added some filtering) ....

Anyhow , your main problem is that once you plug the ESC on the Motor 1 position, you will just power the KK board and the RX ... the servo on the other M2 to M8 will not get any power ... servo are noisy ... so these have been isolated by design, so you need a bec for power your servos.

In the mixer page you will see all the plug involved ... and you can also fix them ...

I did never try it ... so ... I don't know much ...

What it is looking like that compared to Aero2 from HappySunday ... it is not possible to select the flyght mode: normal (no assistance), stabilized/acro (gyro only) autolevel/fpv grampa mode (gyro+acc) ...

Tchuss

e_lm_70
Thanks for your help. Since I only want to use this with one input (aileron) and one output (aileron servo) and I don't really want to have to learn about flashing software and everything (!), can I simply connect the power from the bec to both M1 and M2? Then the servo can be plugged in to, say, M3? Or will connecting M1 and M2 together (just pos and neg for power) damage the board?

Thanks again!
Ke
Old Sep 04, 2012, 01:31 PM
JNJO is online now
Find More Posts by JNJO
Done Posting, Gone Flying
JNJO's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenkamm View Post
...Or will connecting M1 and M2 together (just pos and neg for power) damage the board?

Thanks again!
Ke
It will not damage the board, but there is a good chance that the servo noise might cause the board the freeze. Not very pleasant in flight, I gather.
It is strongly recommended by guys that know, to connect a separate BEC or ESC to power the servos on which ever M2 - M8 that suits your needs.

I havent tried myself with KK FW, so I don't know where which servo should be connected.
Also, the board will probably need another input channel to

Having flown with OpenAero2, I can only praise it as being a better choice for an airplane.

Have a look at https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1708175

Safe landings,
/J

Edit: Just tried it out. It looks like you will need to connect the throttle input as, in my case, the outputs stop when the throttle is at min.
Could be fun landings with that "feature". You might also need a rudder input, but I did not test that.
Last edited by JNJO; Sep 04, 2012 at 02:10 PM. Reason: Thought about arming...
Old Sep 04, 2012, 02:09 PM
flarssen is online now
Find More Posts by flarssen
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by JNJO View Post
It is strongly recommended by guys that know, to connect a separate BEC or ESC to power the servos on which ever M2 - M8 that suits your needs.
Yes, having separate power for controller/receiver and servos is a good idea to avoid brown-outs as we know them from 2.4GHz receivers. I assume the controller has an even higher reboot voltage than most RC systems, so it becomes even more important here.

Fred
Old Sep 04, 2012, 02:34 PM
microdave is offline
Find More Posts by microdave
Registered User
A question about the motor layout. I'm having trouble getting my t-copter to work. Is board location critical? Do I treat it as a Y config and mount the board in the theoretical center of the Y? Now I have the board in the center of the two front motors.
Old Sep 04, 2012, 03:15 PM
barfy is offline
Find More Posts by barfy
Registered User
MicroDave: I do not have a "t copter" but I would think FC placement would not be critical to getting it to work. I guess in an ideal world having the controllers gyros/accelerometers at the CofG would be best but certainly it would not prevent it from working. I think you have some other problem.
Last edited by barfy; Sep 04, 2012 at 03:21 PM.
Old Sep 04, 2012, 03:58 PM
huskerwr38 is offline
Find More Posts by huskerwr38
Registered User
Can you power LEDs from the extra motor output pins? If not, what are other strategies for powering LEDs?
Old Sep 04, 2012, 04:03 PM
microdave is offline
Find More Posts by microdave
Registered User
Thanks Barfy. At least I can eliminate the location as a problem. I will look at something else.