The new KK2 FC, info and Q&A in first post. Read it before asking a question. - Page 62 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Jul 18, 2012, 04:11 AM
Helper
drifter1949's Avatar
Hi, would someone please list all the default tricopter settings for the KK2 board as I have been adjusting all the settings and don't know what the default settings were anymore, or is there a way to reset the board to the default settings, the only reference I can find is how to set the LCD contrast and that is not what I am looking for.
Thanks
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jul 18, 2012, 04:52 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by eirikso
I increased the stick scaling to 80% and got quicker flips and rolls, and still a pretty controllable quad:


Maybe stick scaling to 100% and EXPO to -40% will do...

Or as mentioned elsewhere in this thread as well: two flight modes on the TX.
what is that clicking we hear during the vid? , you use switches?, if so why?
Jul 18, 2012, 05:59 AM
Registered User
Toumal's Avatar
I have a quick question for Rolf:

What model of LCD is used on the KK2 board?
Jul 18, 2012, 06:21 AM
Registered User
Hi there,
I am a newbie to quads and have got myself a KK2 FC board.
My question is:
When connecting all four ESCs to the board should I leave any 3 red wires off the plug and supply power just with one ESC wire (red) to the board? Or can I just plug them in as they are?

As you see I am a little confused here and hope you could help me out on this.
Thanx to all.
Jul 18, 2012, 06:35 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddyfox
Hi there,
I am a newbie to quads and have got myself a KK2 FC board.
My question is:
When connecting all four ESCs to the board should I leave any 3 red wires off the plug and supply power just with one ESC wire (red) to the board? Or can I just plug them in as they are?

As you see I am a little confused here and hope you could help me out on this.
Thanx to all.
No need to remove any pins, only M1 output actually supplies power to the board.
Jul 18, 2012, 07:05 AM
Registered User
Akcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by wazzer
It should be perfectly feasible to get your Tri flying well without the Simonk firmware update.

However using the updated ESC firmware should allow you to make it better.

You need to make sure you are able to flash your ESC as the Plush series changed the microchip from Atmega to Silab if you have Silab then it cannot be done right now.

The only way to check is to remove the heat shrink from your esc and take a look.

Take a look at the thread dedicated to this topic
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1513678
Be warned its a very technical and LONG thread!

I will be kind and point you to this video it explains everything.

http://youtu.be/NZsT0agRZMY
I read the whole thread and figured out how to get the simonk esc update but can you just point to a video showing the effects of the updated and non-updated esc's on any multirotor platform
Jul 18, 2012, 07:06 AM
Registered User
Thanx Mike for that greased lightning fast answer

I just asked so I would not fry my spick and span new KK2 board.

BTW: How much volts is the board able to take?

Cheers, Peter
Jul 18, 2012, 07:25 AM
Registered User
Akcopter's Avatar
Hey hallstudio do you use simonk flashed esc's or are they just the usual lot.....,
And also I am a lousy pilot especially for quad's,and tri's...so if i take it slow with the kk2 board what settings should I use for stick scaling(I know that you use 80 on elevator,rudder and ailerons ) and if I decrease the stick sensitivity is there a need for me to increase the Pi gains
Jul 18, 2012, 07:32 AM
Registered User
Akcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddyfox
Thanx Mike for that greased lightning fast answer

I just asked so I would not fry my spick and span new KK2 board.

BTW: How much volts is the board able to take?

Cheers, Peter
Hey muddyfox ,the board can take the 5v supplied by the esc's and only the M1 port is used to power the board,in case you want to use the board for applications which require servos to be connected on the other ports then you will need to provide power at any port from M2-M8.. also the bec's in the esc's provide 5v,no matter which battery you connect to those esc's (Obviously the esc must be compatible with your battery type) anyhow even if you connect the board with any number of esc'c having linear Bec's you wont fry the board
Jul 18, 2012, 08:16 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by fallingdown
Yeah you really need a high speed digital servo... At a minimum spend $20 for a good one. I have a $5 analog metal gear on my tri and had to really turn down the gains and tune it to get rid of the wobble... after that it flies just like the original kk. But after upgrading the servo I could bring the gains back up to stock settings and is nice. FYI, metal gear servos will induce more vibration than nylon gear.
Any suggestions on an appropriate servo to get? Working towards my first tri so I'm expecting to crash quite a bit, so cost effective and durable rate highly.

thanks, Andrew
Jul 18, 2012, 08:21 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapteinkuk
I will add a configurable low pass filter for the servo outputs, to avoid excessive shaking and premature servo failure when using low-end servos.
Do you have any rough idea on when this update would be available?

I'm not pestering, just wondering if it's days, weeks, months ... or I guess if shorter/longer than the time to get a new servo from China to Canada.

Thanks for all your efforts. Sure looking forward to trying a tri. I have just about all the parts now, so time to start building.

cheers,
Andrew
Jul 18, 2012, 08:50 AM
OpenAeroVTOL developer
HappySundays's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toumal
I have a quick question for Rolf:
What model of LCD is used on the KK2 board?
Already asked and answered a few pages back...

Quote:
Originally Posted by kapteinkuk
"JHD12864", 20 pin, 0.5mm pitch connector.
Jul 18, 2012, 12:33 PM
Registered User
Borneoben's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akcopter
I read the whole thread and figured out how to get the simonk esc update but can you just point to a video showing the effects of the updated and non-updated esc's on any multirotor platform
Do a search on youtube for simonk and there are a few videos there.
not many showing a before and after comparison but allot of people in the esc flashing thread say how great it is.

Even KK him self has all the defaults on the KK2 to suit SimonK Flashed esc he wouldnt do that if it wasnt good.
Jul 18, 2012, 12:44 PM
bobepine's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by eirikso
I increased the stick scaling to 80% and got quicker flips and rolls, and still a pretty controllable quad:

http://youtu.be/EdFEfOQof1U

Maybe stick scaling to 100% and EXPO to -40% will do...

Or as mentioned elsewhere in this thread as well: two flight modes on the TX.

Now that's much tighter. Better, I think. You can still flip slower if you want. Just use less cyclic. Been busy all day today but I will try this with my quad again, probably tomorrow. In this regard, your posts have been super helpful. I feel much more confident trying flips this time around. Thank you very much!

Best,
Chris
Jul 18, 2012, 12:53 PM
Registered User
Akcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by wazzer
Do a search on youtube for simonk and there are a few videos there.
not many showing a before and after comparison but allot of people in the esc flashing thread say how great it is.

Even KK him self has all the defaults on the KK2 to suit SimonK Flashed esc he wouldnt do that if it wasnt good.
I am not doubting the firmware I just want to know if it is worth it..I don't know if my turnigy plush is atmega or silab and to cut open the shrink tube will expose the electronics leaving me with nothing to cover them with....so just in a bit of a fix here...