New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Dec 08, 2012, 09:31 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by theothercliff View Post
Silly answer, but the first things that comes to mind are:
- Try to scroll down
- What about all the other heli types? Are they gone too?
You nailed it. My bad - wasn't scrolling down the menu far enough to select quadcopter X
The world is back to normal now, thanks.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 08, 2012, 09:42 AM
User registered
TNboy's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by horchoha View Post
You nailed it. My bad - wasn't scrolling down the menu far enough to select quadcopter X
The world is back to normal now, thanks.
.
Dec 08, 2012, 10:00 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by theothercliff View Post
The first thing that comes to mind with glitches and FPV is that the FPV transmitter is hitting the RC system somehow. The RC receiver, or the KK2.

Fly it how you do to make it glitch, then try again with the FPV transmitter powered off to see if it goes away. When you have proved that is the issue, move the components to get the FPV transmitter and antenna far away from everything else. Try a separate power supply for the FPV and no connections back to the RC.
Thanks and my apologies - I did leave out that when it started glitching I turned off the FPV gear, and even subsequently even removed it but still had the glitching.
When the FPV gear was on, it was powered by a separate battery. Sorry for leaving that info out in my initial post
Dec 08, 2012, 10:34 AM
Registered User
Hi guys, need some urgent help. Having the problem with the sck not reading or what not, did a search and it came up several times but I didn't see any definetive solution. My brand new KK2.0 is effectively bricked now, when powered on, all that happens is that the lcd lights up with no words whatsoever.

I've tried a factory reset and whatnot as well, but to no avail.


/Applications/kkMulticopter Flash Tool.app/Contents/Resources/Java/lib/avrdude/mac/avrdude -C /Applications/kkMulticopter Flash Tool.app/Contents/Resources/Java/lib/avrdude/mac/avrdude.conf -p m324pa -P usb -c usbasp -B 8 -e -U flash:w:/Users/BingZhang/Library/Preferences/kkMulticopterFlashTool/kk2_1V2_modS2/KK2_1V2_modS2.hex:i

avrdude: set SCK frequency to 93750 Hz
avrdude: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude: error: programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1
avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.


avrdude done. Thank you.

Error during writing flash.


Get this problem on both a mac and a win7 pc, and yes the board is powered and the plugs are correctly placed.

Looking at this picture here http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...X571492X26.jpg , it seems to me there is an extra set of 'pins' on the board which is missing from mine, could this be the cause of the problem?
Dec 08, 2012, 11:09 AM
Stop me before I build again!
The extra pin is for the voltage monitor and it is not there by default.

As for the not answering board, the question to ask is does the board light up when you attach the programmer?

You need to try the fuse reset, get the latest KK flash tool.
Dec 08, 2012, 11:26 AM
Registered User
helizrnew2me's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by 23t23dS View Post
Hi guys, need some urgent help. Having the problem with the sck not reading or what not, did a search and it came up several times but I didn't see any definetive solution. My brand new KK2.0 is effectively bricked now, when powered on, all that happens is that the lcd lights up with no words whatsoever.

I've tried a factory reset and whatnot as well, but to no avail.


/Applications/kkMulticopter Flash Tool.app/Contents/Resources/Java/lib/avrdude/mac/avrdude -C /Applications/kkMulticopter Flash Tool.app/Contents/Resources/Java/lib/avrdude/mac/avrdude.conf -p m324pa -P usb -c usbasp -B 8 -e -U flash:w:/Users/BingZhang/Library/Preferences/kkMulticopterFlashTool/kk2_1V2_modS2/KK2_1V2_modS2.hex:i

avrdude: set SCK frequency to 93750 Hz
avrdude: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude: error: programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1
avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.


avrdude done. Thank you.

Error during writing flash.


Get this problem on both a mac and a win7 pc, and yes the board is powered and the plugs are correctly placed.

Looking at this picture here http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...X571492X26.jpg , it seems to me there is an extra set of 'pins' on the board which is missing from mine, could this be the cause of the problem?
same thing happened to mine

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...postcount=7669

i got a new board coming but afraid to try again .
Dec 08, 2012, 11:32 AM
HeliHarry
harrym's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by 23t23dS View Post
.....I've tried a factory reset and whatnot as well, but to no avail.=
Known KK2 V1.2 bugs

From KapteinKuK (https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...13&postcount=1)

1: Arming LED stays on when entering the menu in "arming always on" mode.
2: LCD is sometimes blank on power up. Press menu to get the text to appear.
Dec 08, 2012, 11:43 AM
iMultirotors
Senator315's Avatar
Anyone know how to reverse a servo for the gimbal?

My roll works fine, but the pitch moves up when I pitch up, need it to go the other way.

I can move the servo around to solve it but I figure reversing the servo is much easier if possible.
Dec 08, 2012, 11:51 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcroadtrain View Post
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=paRB-jy3aO4

doesnt fully self-level.. it seems to want to keep going in the last direction it was controlled in.. and it gains height when yawing...
but gee, its quick!
You have to have self-leveling turned on. Then you need to adjust the I gains. Search youtube for KK2 tuning

Gaining height when yawing is fixed by setting the "high refresh speed" option in the KK2 or by flashing your ESC's with SimonK. I presume it gains height when yawing in either direction.
Dec 08, 2012, 12:05 PM
Stop me before I build again!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Senator315 View Post
Anyone know how to reverse a servo for the gimbal?

My roll works fine, but the pitch moves up when I pitch up, need it to go the other way.

I can move the servo around to solve it but I figure reversing the servo is much easier if possible.
Set the pitch gain to negative?
Dec 08, 2012, 12:05 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzzydog View Post
Thanks and my apologies - I did leave out that when it started glitching I turned off the FPV gear, and even subsequently even removed it but still had the glitching.
When the FPV gear was on, it was powered by a separate battery. Sorry for leaving that info out in my initial post
The other easy thing is RC receiver antenna placement. If you are running 2.4g, with one Rx antenna, then both Tx and Rx antennas should be vertical. If you are running 2.4g with two Rx antennas, then the Rx antennas should be horizontal and at 90 degrees to each other and the Tx antenna should be horizontal (twisted sideways). For other frequencies, the Rx antenna should be full length and straight, not cut off or coiled up.

Oh, and for 2.4g, you can't have the Rx antenna hiding behind anything metal or carbon.

Other causes can be bad electrical power caused by high current servos or vibration and a bad switch or crash damage. Rx crystals are fragile. Tx power pack getting low. Rx antenna wire with an unseen break in it.
Last edited by theothercliff; Dec 08, 2012 at 12:17 PM.
Dec 08, 2012, 12:07 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySundays View Post
If you mean that the gyro values are zero and don't change when you move the board?
Then yes, the gyros are faulty and will not be able to stabilise a multicopter.
The gyro values are not visible after calibration, only ACC values are shown. On video you can se 6 number but on my board are only 3 number for ACC x,y and z.
Dec 08, 2012, 12:12 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Senator315 View Post
Anyone know how to reverse a servo for the gimbal?

My roll works fine, but the pitch moves up when I pitch up, need it to go the other way.

I can move the servo around to solve it but I figure reversing the servo is much easier if possible.
Very simple if you are very good at soldering...

1- Swap the two wires on the motor
2- Swap the two outer wires (leave the middle one alone) on the pot

Centering will change. You have to adjust the arm for that.
Dec 08, 2012, 12:17 PM
iMultirotors
Senator315's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by brontide View Post
Set the pitch gain to negative?
4am here, brains not working

Thanks brontide
Dec 08, 2012, 12:19 PM
HeliHarry
harrym's Avatar
Moved to OpenAero2 Forum
Last edited by harrym; Dec 08, 2012 at 03:24 PM.