Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Dec 02, 2012, 03:57 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by brontide
Look in the constants.asm

.equ GyroLowLimit = 500 ;limits for sensor testing
.equ GyroHighLimit = 630

I have built ( for someone else ) a custom hex with 450 and 680 and it's been working fine for them. I would be careful since if pressure fixes it it could be a flakey solder job and could fail outright at the worst moment.

You are not by any chance flying in very cold weather?
HMM
In AVR Studio I changed

.equ GyroLowLimit = 450 ;limits for sensor testing
.equ GyroHighLimit = 630

Saved then reflashed and I get the same Error
" Sensor calibration out of limits"


Anything else I need to do?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 02, 2012, 04:09 PM
Stop me before I build again!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverwood
HMM
In AVR Studio I changed

.equ GyroLowLimit = 450 ;limits for sensor testing
.equ GyroHighLimit = 630

Saved then reflashed and I get the same Error
" Sensor calibration out of limits"


Anything else I need to do?
If you look to the sanity check in flightinit.asm that error means your gyro or acc reading are out of limits.


.equ GyroLowLimit = 500 ;limits for sensor testing
.equ GyroHighLimit = 630

.equ AccLowLimit = 450
.equ AccHighLimit = 850

If you go to sensor test how are your gyro and acc numbers?
Dec 02, 2012, 05:43 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by brontide
If you look to the sanity check in flightinit.asm that error means your gyro or acc reading are out of limits.


.equ GyroLowLimit = 500 ;limits for sensor testing
.equ GyroHighLimit = 630

.equ AccLowLimit = 450
.equ AccHighLimit = 850

If you go to sensor test how are your gyro and acc numbers?
My y gyro is under limits it shows 480 I understand this ..it was this way from day 1. I don't want to trash the board or send it back. My goal is to change the limits in the firmware so that the board will not see the error. I changed the numbers in AVR studio and re flashed but still getting the error just wondering if something else i need to do ? thanks for any help in this
Dec 02, 2012, 05:48 PM
Stop me before I build again!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverwood
My y gyro is under limits it shows 480 I understand this ..it was this way from day 1. I don't want to trash the board or send it back. My goal is to change the limits in the firmware so that the board will not see the error. I changed the numbers in AVR studio and re flashed but still getting the error just wondering if something else i need to do ? thanks for any help in this
Either you did not flash it properly or sone of the other variables is out of it's limits, have you confirmed that the acc is reading properly? I try to change the version string in version.asm to make sure that my version is actually loaded.
Dec 02, 2012, 06:01 PM
Registered User
Ok guys, here I post my first video.
this was my 3rd day/session flying the quad or anything else for that matter.
I felt the quad very stable but since I lack any experience and can not compare to any other quad I will ask you for your help judging the performance.
I read a lot about PI settings and still don't understand them so I'm afraid to touch any settings
"don't fix it if it is not broken"
the videoi is edited from a 3minute flight (I made it shorter so is not that boring).but the ending is good:}
it's an Ifly4 frame
plush 12A
KK2.0 v1.2
10x4.5
autolevel is off

Pitch/roll
Pgain 60
Plim 100
Igain 60
Ilim 20

Yaw
Pg 70
Pl 20
Ig 55
Il 10

I would really appreciate any feedback
I don't know how to embed the videio
quad 3nd day (1 min 12 sec)


<object width="560" height="315"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/-i0V7YahjuQ?version=3&amp;hl=en_US&amp;rel=0"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-i0V7YahjuQ?version=3&amp;hl=en_US&amp;rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="560" height="315" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed></object>
Dec 02, 2012, 07:05 PM
Registered User
Oops wrong thread
Dec 02, 2012, 11:59 PM
Registered User
Hi Guy's,

FW 1.5...

How's it going for everyone?

Any Self level oscillation issue's?

I've just built my second Tri with the KK2.0 FW 1.5 Flashed...

Now.. My first Tri after upgrade to fw 1.5 flies Awesome just like it always has,
with noticeable Self level speed.

The new one on the other hand, is experiencing major oscillations in either a moment of descent or a breath of wind.... Strangely, when I re-boot/re-plug.. The situation seems corrected until it happens again and continues to worsen.

I will try Tri 1 Board on Tri 2 and visa versa to see what happens.
Both have exactly the same settings...

Any Ideas?

Cheers Fella's
Dec 03, 2012, 12:05 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlxFly
Hi Guy's,

FW 1.5...

How's it going for everyone?

Any Self level oscillation issue's?

I've just built my second Tri with the KK2.0 FW 1.5 Flashed...

Now.. My first Tri after upgrade to fw 1.5 flies Awesome just like it always has,
with noticeable Self level speed.

The new one on the other hand, is experiencing major oscillations in either a moment of descent or a breath of wind.... Strangely, when I re-boot/re-plug.. The situation seems corrected until it happens again and continues to worsen.

I will try Tri 1 Board on Tri 2 and visa versa to see what happens.
Both have exactly the same settings...

Any Ideas?

Cheers Fella's
Ps.. I noticed the Price has stayed @ 20 bucks since other week.

What could this mean? Overstocked, Issue, super-seeded, GPS?
Omg, my poor little brain....
Dec 03, 2012, 12:39 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upup
There is power going through M1 as the LCD lights up but no writing

When I power from the usbasp as if to flash the card the lcd lights but with all the writing I can scoll through the menu as normal.
I suggest that you either have better power (cleaner, correct voltage, adequate current) coming from USB than from your other source (that is why I suggest that you try a different, clean source like linear BEC or nicad attached to M1) or that connecting clean power to the USB connection would make the whole thing work (that is why I suggest you connect USB power to M1 power).
Dec 03, 2012, 12:48 AM
Registered User
rcroadtrain's Avatar
Quote:
Any Self level oscillation issue's?
yep.. GLB hex spider... massive self oscillation... V1.4firmware.
almost unflyable with out-of-the-box settings.

$20? if it was a 'issue', then they'd stop sale of them until a fix was worked out.
they did say they were leaving a few products 'on sale' since their sale 'tother day broke their website..
Dec 03, 2012, 12:54 AM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlxFly
Hi Guy's,

FW 1.5...

How's it going for everyone?

Any Self level oscillation issue's?

I've just built my second Tri with the KK2.0 FW 1.5 Flashed...

Now.. My first Tri after upgrade to fw 1.5 flies Awesome just like it always has,
with noticeable Self level speed.

The new one on the other hand, is experiencing major oscillations in either a moment of descent or a breath of wind.... Strangely, when I re-boot/re-plug.. The situation seems corrected until it happens again and continues to worsen.

I will try Tri 1 Board on Tri 2 and visa versa to see what happens.
Both have exactly the same settings...

Any Ideas?

Cheers Fella's
I have been haveing the same problem with the self level I have moved the board to 3 different quads same thing using 1.5
Dec 03, 2012, 12:56 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlxFly
Hi Guy's,

FW 1.5...

How's it going for everyone?

Any Self level oscillation issue's?
Since you ask, I flashed mine to 1.5 yesterday. I tried it outside (-8C) and had some strange hunting on the throttle, like a combustion engine with rough idle. No movement around the three axis, just jumping up and down. Same problem both with and without self leveling on. Never had this problem earlier. I tried it in my basement later, and it worked OK, so it could be a temperature issue. I noticed some high fq oscillation, but that could be caused by the self leveling settings, which I haven't tuned yet.

Fred
Dec 03, 2012, 12:56 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlxFly
Ps.. I noticed the Price has stayed @ 20 bucks since other week.

What could this mean? Overstocked, Issue, super-seeded, GPS?
Omg, my poor little brain....
It worries me too. The "Issue" one especially. HK just doesn't give a rat's a** about our problems if they can ignore them without being taken to court.

I've been seeing more "broken when received" questions lately than I like...

HK is protected by an ocean and an international boundary and it their mind it gives them free rein to sell broken items and make you pay more to send it back than it cost in the first place.
Dec 03, 2012, 02:16 AM
knows the last digit of Pi...
Quote:
Originally Posted by alumina
Ok guys, here I post my first video.
this was my 3rd day/session flying the quad or anything else for that matter.
I felt the quad very stable but since I lack any experience and can not compare to any other quad I will ask you for your help judging the performance.
I read a lot about PI settings and still don't understand them so I'm afraid to touch any settings
"don't fix it if it is not broken"
the videoi is edited from a 3minute flight (I made it shorter so is not that boring).but the ending is good:}
it's an Ifly4 frame
plush 12A
KK2.0 v1.2
10x4.5
autolevel is off

Pitch/roll
Pgain 60
Plim 100
Igain 60
Ilim 20

Yaw
Pg 70
Pl 20
Ig 55
Il 10

I would really appreciate any feedback
I don't know how to embed the videio
http://youtu.be/-i0V7YahjuQ

<object width="560" height="315"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/-i0V7YahjuQ?version=3&amp;hl=en_US&amp;rel=0"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-i0V7YahjuQ?version=3&amp;hl=en_US&amp;rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="560" height="315" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed></object>
Nice video!

I personally try to lower the PI values as much as possible with the result that the quad is smooth to fly (but does not have a really fast snap-lock in autolevel mode). It is easier for me to fly in this "smooth mode" - but my quads are 550, 600 and 650 size (air photography). I usually set I value to around half P value and do not touch the limits.

I have my P values around 30-40, I values around 15-25. (checked on the 550 X8 copter) - FW 1.5


But again - that is my personal preference.

Like to see more vids ;-)
Last edited by nordwest; Dec 03, 2012 at 06:18 AM. Reason: fixed picture issue
Dec 03, 2012, 02:31 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by theothercliff
It worries me too. The "Issue" one especially. HK just doesn't give a rat's a** about our problems if they can ignore them without being taken to court.

I've been seeing more "broken when received" questions lately than I like...

HK is protected by an ocean and an international boundary and it their mind it gives them free rein to sell broken items and make you pay more to send it back than it cost in the first place.
Indeed!.. I can understand this scenario.
I have only been involved with this fc board over the last 6 months.
I've ordered 4 in that time, one by one, either with a larger order or alone by the cheapest post available. 2 still packed on the shelf, 1 perfectly amazing, and one in question awaiting some comparisons.

There is a record of all orders with HK.... I'm sure suitable communication would rectify DOA's over time. Snail mail, time, time, time.

Actually.. I'm new to this game, yet completely addicted.