Thread Tools
Nov 08, 2012, 08:46 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by i3dm
Guys,

for those with V1.5, what kind of gain values did you have to program under "cam stab settings" to get the cam to stay level ?
I've not tried it yet but I suspect it will be different for every type of gimbal and servos since linkages and movement will not be same for everyone.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 08, 2012, 08:58 AM
Stop me before I build again!
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitelab
I've not tried it yet but I suspect it will be different for every type of gimbal and servos since linkages and movement will not be same for everyone.
Have yet to see 1.5, but maybe KK can add a "test" screen off camera stab that activates the IMU loop and servo's only as if it were flying. I will poke at the code to see what numbers are driving the servo's. Yes, I expect the multiplier to be large since the angles will often be small.
Nov 08, 2012, 09:44 AM
Registered User
CO2X's Avatar

ztw esc


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotorhead0207
here's a better pix of the center with the KK2, rx and levels
By the way ,what esc programmer did you used to program your ZTW ESC'S ?
Please let me know where you got it.Thanks
Nov 08, 2012, 10:03 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by COCO2010
Cool ! Is that a home made hex frame ? What's the arm made of ? Thats a nice Hex !
no it's one of the cheap (25$) frame kits from HiModel, 600mm motor to motor aluminum arms. The tri and the quad are also HiModel frame kits along with motors and esc's.
Nov 08, 2012, 10:12 AM
Registered User
David Jenkins's Avatar
I upgraded to v1.4, set up all of the parameters that had been reset, and went off to fly. Worked very well, and auto-level was impressive... until it suddenly flew off at a tangent and collided with something!

THEN - I realised that I had set up all of the parameters EXCEPT the low-volts setting, and I had discharged the 2S battery until the KK2 board could no longer cope - it worked perfectly once I'd recharged the battery!

The moral of the story is - after installing new firmware that clears all the settings, don't forget the set up the low-volts alarm value...
Nov 08, 2012, 10:14 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by COCO2010
By the way ,what esc programmer did you used to program your ZTW ESC'S ?
Please let me know where you got it.Thanks
I used this one and it works really good

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...hing_Tool.html

I just took a hobby knife and cut a 3 sided opening around the Atmega chip and then put heat shrink tube over it to hold the cover down.

flashed with SimonK's BS N-FET V2012-09-03 in LazyZero repository under the Atmega 8 in the brushless esc listing.
Last edited by Rotorhead0207; Nov 08, 2012 at 11:51 AM. Reason: firmware
Nov 08, 2012, 10:40 AM
Registered User
srepfler's Avatar

Who sad that multi rotors does not like wind?


KK2 likes the wind, I am not sure how other board behave on wind but with KK2 wind made it even more fun.
Wind is fun with KK2.

SIX HEXcopter weekend high wind flight part 2 (4 min 50 sec)
Nov 08, 2012, 10:42 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by COCO2010
By the way ,what esc programmer did you used to program your ZTW ESC'S ?
Please let me know where you got it.Thanks
I use this card http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ontroller.html for my 20A ZTW ESC
Nov 08, 2012, 10:47 AM
Registered User
cyhyam's Avatar
BEWARE;

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyhyam
I am flying a tri with V1.2. Today I loaded V1.4 and the self-level is much improved but sometimes it “locks” the model at a non-level attitude.

Here is the scenario; power up fly around everything is fine. I put the model into a slow speed bank and switch auto-level on and the model returns to level. I can do this over and over and it works as advertised. Now I do a medium speed forward flight and switch into auto-level, 5 times out of 10 the model will try to hold the nose down attitude it is in, while in auto-level I can hold back on the elevator and get into a hover but when I release the stick it drops the nose hard. If I switch out of auto-level and fly around then at slow forward speed switch it back on it levels just fine. This also happens if I am in medium speed sideward flight.

Any ideas?
I did some more testing in the still early morning air. The results were the same, even worse. On the LAST flight I did a climbing 1/2 forward flip so the model was vertical with the nose down at 60 degrees, flipped into self level. The self level held that nose down position so strong I didn't have enough stick travel to override. I tried different throttle settings to see if it would have any effect, none other than more increased forward speed. I missed the switch to release auto level and it crashed very hard at that angle. I'm looking at a few days repair.
Nov 08, 2012, 10:53 AM
Stop me before I build again!
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyhyam
BEWARE;



I did some more testing in the still early morning air. The results were the same, even worse. On the LAST flight I did a climbing 1/2 forward flip so the model was vertical with the nose down at 60 degrees, flipped into self level. The self level held that nose down position so strong I didn't have enough stick travel to override. I tried different throttle settings to see if it would have any effect, none other than more increased forward speed. I missed the switch to release auto level and it crashed very hard at that angle. I'm looking at a few days repair.
Since this does not sound like SL I will ask the stupid question, did you remember to change the mode settings so that auto-level is activated on the AUX channel? ( default is SL at arming with stick ).
Nov 08, 2012, 10:58 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapteinkuk
Here is version 1.5 with roll/pitch camera stabilization.

Roll servo goes to output 7 and pitch servo to output 8.

Turn it on by going to "Cam Stab Settings" screen and set the gains to a non-zero value. Start with 500. A negative value reverses servo direction. Adjust value until camera is steady.

Use the offset values to trim servo position, but keep the values close to 50% by adjusting servo linkage first.

Now I have to say that I have not tested this with an actual camera, but it should work.

This version will reset all settings to default due to changes in EEPROM usage.
This is good news for those of us looking for a reasonably priced solution to stabilizing a gimbal. I have just started setting up a KK2 as a stand alone gimbal controller with OpenAero2 on the bench and the CamStab appears to work.

If you are moving forward with additional development of the CamStab feature I know there are KK2 users that would love to see independent rc control of the gimbal pitch channel while being stabilized. Also, if it is possible to have an adjustable output rate so that the use of analogue and hi-speed digital servos can be optimized.

Thank you for your hard work. Your efforts bring joy to many.

Clear Skies,
quinn33001
Nov 08, 2012, 11:08 AM
Registered User
cyhyam's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by brontide
Since this does not sound like SL I will ask the stupid question, did you remember to change the mode settings so that auto-level is activated on the AUX channel? ( default is SL at arming with stick ).
Yes it was on the aux switch, I did many test toggeling SL and watching the model return to level.

I wonder if the model is in a steady state fall where there is no angular change or acceleration if the sensors get confused.
Nov 08, 2012, 11:22 AM
Registered User

Finally


Quote:
Originally Posted by partzee
I uninstalled all java on my pc and then installed 32 bit under IE 9 32,then installed java 64 using IE9 64.On both, using 0.63 from Lazyzero I get "unable to find path" message.partzee
I finally got it to work.I don't understand why, but I had to install java 64 bit but go back to IE9 32 bit browser on a win 7 64 bit OS to get it to work.
Many thanks to all who helped me.I was just before throwing in the towel.
partzee
Nov 08, 2012, 11:57 AM
Registered User
CO2X's Avatar

...ztw


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotorhead0207
I used this one and it works really good

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...hing_Tool.html

I just took a hobby knife and cut a 3 sided opening around the Atmega chip and then put heat shrink tube over it to hold the cover down.

flashed with SimonK's BS N-FET V2012-09-03 in LazyZero repository under the Atmega 8 in the brushless esc listing.
Thanks for the info....i'll check it out.
Nov 08, 2012, 11:59 AM
Registered User
CO2X's Avatar

ztw


Quote:
Originally Posted by vivazapata
Thanks bro ! Did you flash your ztw esc's too with SimonK fw?