Thread Tools
Sep 27, 2012, 02:58 AM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by hallstudio View Post
Loaded up Shane's update to KK's software and it works. If you try flipping it on at a weird angle it can lock at a strange angle. Nothing I was not able to work with. Flip it off and back on and it was fine. You CAN NOT loop with this turned on. I got to stress test my frame when I slammed into the driveway tail boom first. Broke 3 props and a bent motor mount. Took almost 3 minutes to fix.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=prttXocII4s
Did you see this
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 27, 2012, 03:34 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by HolgiB View Post
Yes, it did light up. I also removed the ESCs and the wires to the RX. But no luck, avrdude (called from Lazy Zero's tool) always complained about a connection issue. The red light from the KK2 flashed briefly every time I attempted a flash, but thats it.

Same configuration (Lazy Zeros Tools, flashing cable and USB ASP) worked immediately after that with a KK1.
I checked the avrdude command that is called by the flashtool and it should work. Can you check if the -e parameter is also in your avrdude command.

Christian
Sep 27, 2012, 03:44 AM
Plane and multirotor's - FPV
DrEvil's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by HolgiB View Post
Yes, it did light up. I also removed the ESCs and the wires to the RX. But no luck, avrdude (called from Lazy Zero's tool) always complained about a connection issue. The red light from the KK2 flashed briefly every time I attempted a flash, but thats it.

Same configuration (Lazy Zeros Tools, flashing cable and USB ASP) worked immediately after that with a KK1.
Have you tried with a seperat power sorce ?
I think the KK2 need's more power while flashing than many USB ports can supply.
Sep 27, 2012, 04:01 AM
Wannabe B-26 pilot!
Matt Halton's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveis View Post
Hi Matt, attached is a modified KK2 hex file for you. It swaps the aileron and aux input. I've just flown with it. Now connect your rx aileron to the aux input on the KK2 board and see if the receiver test works.

Steve.
Hey thanks Steve

I haven't looked on here again since my last posts, so only just found this I'll try it out as I have nothing here to lose, but as Del says my tail servo is activated before arming so maybe it is bin fodder, but no harm in trying. Thanks again!

Matt
Sep 27, 2012, 04:05 AM
AVR Dude
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Halton View Post
Hey thanks Steve

I haven't looked on here again since my last posts, so only just found this I'll try it out as I have nothing here to lose, but as Del says my tail servo is activated before arming so maybe it is bin fodder, but no harm in trying. Thanks again!

Matt
I hope it works. Load it on, plug aileron to aux input and go to receiver test. As I say, I have flown it (in fact, I couldn't be bothered to flash back to the stock code so I've left it on!). It is the standard V1.2 build but I just swapped the inputs in the code.

The servo problem will be solved by selecting a tricopter set up. I know as I've fallen foul of this too
Sep 27, 2012, 04:08 AM
AVR Dude
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrEvil View Post
Have you tried with a seperat power sorce ?
I think the KK2 need's more power while flashing than many USB ports can supply.
I had the same problem yesterday. Used another PC to flash the KK2 (one I used to use for the KK1 with no problems) and it kept bombing out half way through a flash. I disconnected the receiver from the KK2 and it just about had enough power!
Sep 27, 2012, 04:57 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrEvil View Post
Have you tried with a seperat power sorce ?
I think the KK2 need's more power while flashing than many USB ports can supply.
Nope, earlier in this thread I recall Rolf said the KK2 board uses about 34mA, any USB could supply that unless it's faulty.
Sep 27, 2012, 05:02 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by HolgiB View Post
I am still on 1.0. Tried to flash last weekend but I was not able to get a connection to the KK2. Would love to flash the scolton mod.

Thought the cable I am using might be defective, but tried to flash an old KK1 with it. That worked immediately and the ISP connector has the identical pinout. I am clueless how to flash it.

Maybe my KK2 has an hardware issue? Or is there any known difficulty with the KK2 which makes it harder to flash?
Hello
Try with a powered hub
Sep 27, 2012, 05:03 AM
AVR Dude
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erknie View Post
Nope, earlier in this thread I recall Rolf said the KK2 board uses about 34mA, any USB could supply that unless it's faulty.
Did you have any escs, servos or a receiver connected at the same time as you tried to flash? My motors beep when I connect up the programmer so it's powering the ESC and the orange light is on my receiver, so it's powering that too.
Sep 27, 2012, 05:08 AM
Registered User
Don't forget that the programmer needs power too. Even if just the programmer is connected, my laptop fails to detect it on one of the three USB ports.

Fred
Sep 27, 2012, 05:10 AM
Plane and multirotor's - FPV
DrEvil's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erknie View Post
Nope, earlier in this thread I recall Rolf said the KK2 board uses about 34mA, any USB could supply that unless it's faulty.
I dont have the skill's to argue regarding the teck-stuff, just my experiens.

The asbusb tool consumes some power aswell
Sep 27, 2012, 05:10 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by flarssen View Post
Don't forget that the programmer needs power too. Even if just the programmer is connected, my laptop fails to detect it on one of the three USB ports.

Fred
How much power is the programmer using?
Sep 27, 2012, 05:13 AM
Plane and multirotor's - FPV
DrEvil's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flarssen View Post
Don't forget that the programmer needs power too. Even if just the programmer is connected, my laptop fails to detect it on one of the three USB ports.

Fred
You type faster than me Fred
Sep 27, 2012, 05:43 AM
Registered User
schumixmd's Avatar
guys, esterday with AVR USBISP i have flashed my copter with all ESCs and receiver connected. I even did hear the motor beeps of unarmed esc's, and all was working fine.
Sep 27, 2012, 05:55 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrEvil View Post
Have you tried with a seperat power sorce ?
I think the KK2 need's more power while flashing than many USB ports can supply.
Will it cause any harm, when I plug in one ESC and give it power as well from there?