Thread Tools
Sep 27, 2012, 12:49 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by subaru4wd
So today I had a fatal failure, while testing my tricopter at its highest altitude yet. Long story short, I came crashing down and my KK2 board broke free from the body mount. It was mounted using nylon nuts & bolts & the force was enough to break all 4 nylon nuts clean.

Of course the KK2 board no longer works. I get "NOT OK" on all the ACC. I know I'm not the first to have killed one of these boards. Is it hopelessly dead or has anybody been able to revive one of these things?
Get a magnifier and look for broken tracks or loose solder joins near the ACC chip. Using a foam FC mounting pad can help in crashes.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...0pcs_bag_.html
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 27, 2012, 12:51 AM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFernMan
You could always just fly gyros only
It's tech69x and yea that's the one
Sep 27, 2012, 01:18 AM
Registered User
I just flashed my ESCs with Simon K firmware and now have the problem that the quad climbs a lot in hover. My P gain is at 45.

Before the flash it was hovering at midstick, now I have to give slightly more throttle. When the board tries to adjust balance, it climbs immediately half a meter or more.

Is the P gain to high in this case? Thought with Simon K I can push it way up.
Sep 27, 2012, 01:19 AM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
Yes you will have to change your setting
Sep 27, 2012, 01:23 AM
Ikaruswannab
Looking for a budget self-leveling fc.
Any advice?

PS
I have a KK2 but can't wait any longer on the self-level issue.
Thank you.
Sep 27, 2012, 01:26 AM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by teopbako
Looking for a budget self-leveling fc.
Any advice?

PS
I have a KK2 but can't wait any longer on the self-level issue.
Thank you.
Flash it with this and see what you think
http://web.mit.edu/scolton/www/kk2_1V2_modS2.zip
Sep 27, 2012, 01:30 AM
Ikaruswannab
I've seen it but still have questions about it.
It will be confused if rudder is applied while banked right?
Will the same happen if rudder is applied while tilting forward or backward?
I mean can it be used to keep the quad leveled while moving back and forth or it is only for stationary leveling?
Hope i make sense...
Sep 27, 2012, 01:33 AM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by teopbako
I've seen it but still have questions about it.
It will be confused if rudder is applied while banked right?
Will the same happen if rudder is applied while tilting forward or backward?
I mean can it be used to keep the quad leveled while moving back and forth or it is only for stationary leveling?
Hope i make sense...
He fix that watch the video that hall studio made a few post back I have been useing it for 4 days now no problems at all
Sep 27, 2012, 01:44 AM
Registered User
schumixmd's Avatar
yesterday I've flashed scolton second mod and it seems to work much better. however made only few tests, not a full flight yet.
Sep 27, 2012, 01:51 AM
Ikaruswannab
Just saw the video on his blog and read his article.
Seems to be working better but the article closes like this:
"KK2_1V2_modS2.hex. As usual, try it at your own risk! It's not officially-supported firmware and it still has the yaw coupling problem."
Sep 27, 2012, 02:14 AM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by teopbako
Just saw the video on his blog and read his article.
Seems to be working better but the article closes like this:
"KK2_1V2_modS2.hex. As usual, try it at your own risk! It's not officially-supported firmware and it still has the yaw coupling problem."
Everything is at your own risk
Sep 27, 2012, 02:27 AM
Registered User
I am still on 1.0. Tried to flash last weekend but I was not able to get a connection to the KK2. Would love to flash the scolton mod.

Thought the cable I am using might be defective, but tried to flash an old KK1 with it. That worked immediately and the ISP connector has the identical pinout. I am clueless how to flash it.

Maybe my KK2 has an hardware issue? Or is there any known difficulty with the KK2 which makes it harder to flash?
Sep 27, 2012, 02:35 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by HolgiB
I am still on 1.0. Tried to flash last weekend but I was not able to get a connection to the KK2. Would love to flash the scolton mod.

Thought the cable I am using might be defective, but tried to flash an old KK1 with it. That worked immediately and the ISP connector has the identical pinout. I am clueless how to flash it.

Maybe my KK2 has an hardware issue? Or is there any known difficulty with the KK2 which makes it harder to flash?
Did the LCD light up when you connected the ISCP cable? If it didn't it was probably backwards.
Sep 27, 2012, 02:47 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Did the LCD light up when you connected the ISCP cable? If it didn't it was probably backwards.
Yes, it did light up. I also removed the ESCs and the wires to the RX. But no luck, avrdude (called from Lazy Zero's tool) always complained about a connection issue. The red light from the KK2 flashed briefly every time I attempted a flash, but thats it.

Same configuration (Lazy Zeros Tools, flashing cable and USB ASP) worked immediately after that with a KK1.
Sep 27, 2012, 02:49 AM
Ikaruswannab
Quote:
Originally Posted by tech69x
Everything is at your own risk
I know that.
That is not the reason why i quoted him.
The bold underlined part is that i am concerned about. (still has the yaw coupling problem)
I guess i have to try it and see-report back.
Thank you
Theo