Thread Tools
Jun 16, 2012, 03:28 PM
Registered User
chuenwe's Avatar
Before you turning off the Transmitter for rebinding, you have to make sure the setting is already at the failsafe range. After you've finish setting up the failsafe range, then you can change the setting back into the normal control modes.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 16, 2012, 03:32 PM
DJI Testing / US Support
blade strike's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuenwe View Post
Before you turning off the Transmitter for rebinding, you have to make sure the setting is already at the failsafe range. After you've finish setting up the failsafe range, then you can change the setting back into the normal control modes.
I dont understand what you are saying?

Should only have to throw the switch that enables FS, ie throttle hold. You will have to disable warnings if using a dx8 for the bind. You can always turn them back on after the bind
Latest blog entry: On Vacation 3/25 - 4/2
Jun 16, 2012, 03:38 PM
DJI Testing / US Support
blade strike's Avatar
Ok a little of topic but you guys notice that TC got suspended
Latest blog entry: On Vacation 3/25 - 4/2
Jun 16, 2012, 03:40 PM
Registered User
chuenwe's Avatar
ok. let's look at my settings. For my DX8, these are the settings for Att Hold, GPS, manual, and failsafe.

So, failsafe is -38.8. What I did was to set my POS 0 "Normal" to -38.8% (instead of 1.0%). Turn off the TX. Make sure my switch is at POS 0. Then do the binding process.

So, the next time you turn off the TX or RX lost signal, your TX will tell NAZA that the Gyro channel is at -38.8%. Hence, failsafe is triggered.

Jun 16, 2012, 03:44 PM
DJI Testing / US Support
blade strike's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuenwe View Post
ok. let's look at my settings. For my DX8, these are the settings for Att Hold, GPS, manual, and failsafe.

So, failsafe is -38.8. What I did was to set my POS 0 "Normal" to -38.8% (instead of 1.0%). Turn off the TX. Make sure my switch is at POS 0. Then do the binding process.

So, the next time you turn off the TX or RX lost signal, your TX will tell NAZA that the Gyro channel is at -38.8%. Hence, failsafe is triggered.

oh ok, a hard way to do it but the same...

You could always just bind with your throttle hold switch ON
Latest blog entry: On Vacation 3/25 - 4/2
Jun 16, 2012, 03:48 PM
Registered User
chuenwe's Avatar
I wasn't using Throttle Hold switch before.

This was my original setup using the Gyro switch. POS 0: -38% is the failsafe. Bind it, and then change POS 0 back to my normal control mode.

Jun 16, 2012, 03:49 PM
DJI Testing / US Support
blade strike's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuenwe View Post
I wasn't using Throttle Hold switch before.
sorry I am lost
Latest blog entry: On Vacation 3/25 - 4/2
Jun 16, 2012, 03:52 PM
Registered User
Am using a AR6210 which does say bind/data. its this one http://www.fast-lad.co.uk/store/spek...0-p-13635.html

Maybe it doesn't do preset failsafe? I thought it would of.
Jun 16, 2012, 03:53 PM
Registered User
chuenwe's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade strike View Post
sorry I am lost
LOL. wasn't. pass tense.
Jun 16, 2012, 03:53 PM
Registered User
chuenwe's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capello1986 View Post
Am using a AR6210 which does say bind/data. its this one http://www.fast-lad.co.uk/store/spek...0-p-13635.html

Maybe it doesn't do preset failsafe? I thought it would of.
No, only AR7XXX or higher would do failsafe.
Jun 16, 2012, 03:57 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adidas4275 View Post
Tools are tools, they all have there place. New fliers getting into RC via the Naza need to know(IMO) that flying manual is a viable option and not something to remove by not even setting it on a switch.

I am not trying to tell people how to fly, rather I want to let people know that saying "I am only flying in ATTI/GPS because I do AP" is not a statement that is true for many flying AP.

New fliers should be able to fly their rig in manual as well as ATTI

I am here to encourage others to learn how to fly in manual and I think it is lame when some of the more respected Naza owners to new fliers "just set it up with ATTI, GPS and FailSafe because most of us don't use manual anyways"

I don't think ATTI is crap, it is the strong point of the Naza....


(just wanted to be clear)
I am one of those new flyers that Adidas4275 speaks of. I was simply too intimidated to fly FPV in Manual Mode until I found out that people whose flying skills I respected like he, Juz, Al Austria, et al were doing it that way and actually preferred it.

I find that for me it's a bit of a challenge flying my F450 Line-Of-Sight without ATT stabilization, particularly while in a transitioning turn from tail-in to nose-in when the quad is far away. But it's a whole different deal when controlling the craft in MAN for FPV... much smoother / precise / responsive, and without the stabilization always fighting me back to a level attitude.

It was definitely stressful first making the leap, but the learning curve was surprisingly steep and luckily without incident. I'm finding that pretty much the only time I'm crashing is due to my video downlink having too much interference or failing, which is why I'm now adding the NAZA GPS extension. I'm hoping that the RTH feature will save my ass when the video craps out and I can't recover LOS.

A sample of my 5th FPV series of flights:

FPV 5 (1 min 59 sec)
Jun 16, 2012, 04:00 PM
STOP DUMBING DOWN MY SKY
docinfrance's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade strike View Post
Ok a little of topic but you guys notice that TC got suspended
Was this in the Heavy Lifter comp?

@shlomi4046 Hope you have floats on, or some of those keys savers.
Jun 16, 2012, 04:06 PM
Registered User
chuenwe's Avatar
A short video doing fail safe test by turning off the TX, and then using the throttle hold switch to get into fail safe mode.

NAZA GPS on Turnigy Talon Hexa - Fail Safe Landing (1 min 17 sec)
Jun 16, 2012, 04:21 PM
Registered User
Ahh ok got a spare AR7100R kicking about so will try and set this up tomorrow as preset. Does anyone know if i can run this off the ESCS or do I need to use the EC3 power cables as its got a built in 2A reg plus a section where it gives straight battery voltage.

Thanks guys for keeping your cool with my questions :-)

Martin
Jun 16, 2012, 04:23 PM
DJI Testing / US Support
blade strike's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capello1986 View Post
Ahh ok got a spare AR7100R kicking about so will try and set this up tomorrow as preset. Does anyone know if i can run this off the ESCS or do I need to use the EC3 power cables as its got a built in 2A reg plus a section where it gives straight battery voltage.

Thanks guys for keeping your cool with my questions :-)

Martin
You will need to supply another power source since the naza bec wont cut it.
Latest blog entry: On Vacation 3/25 - 4/2


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product GAUI 500x/ GU-INS GPS Owners Thread - Tips, Problems And Experiences sap_2000 Multirotor Drone Talk 231 Aug 05, 2014 04:32 AM
Discussion HoverFly Owners Thread: Pro, GPS, Sport, Gimbal and news Adidas4275 Multirotor Drone Talk 195 Sep 06, 2012 04:45 PM
Found DJI NAZA GPS Upgrade Module for the DJI Naza Flight Controller skyhulk Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 10 Jul 20, 2012 08:47 PM
Question Question for Spektrum DX8/HF GPS owners Wayno Complaino Aerial Photography 13 Jan 01, 2012 01:18 PM
Discussion Gps owner videos jginsandiego Aerial Photography 0 Oct 04, 2011 05:01 PM